We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“0 Luxury - 10 Functionality”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Cedar Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in London
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cedar Guest House
Ranked #428 of 575 London B&B and Inns
Pescara, Italy
Level Contributor
140 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“0 Luxury - 10 Functionality”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2007

I am just back from 3 days spent in London at Cedar Guest House. I started to look for a budget hotel from 21st of October and even if I contacted more than 50 facilities, I did not mamage to find the suitable one. Then I received the answer from Cedar; rooms were available and I could book online. I tried to, but it seemed there was no availability. By mail, I received confirmnation the rooms were booked. I was very suspicious both because of the online missed booking and because of the negative reviews I read here and on venere.com.

Arrived at Cedar, there was the risk the rooms were in Cedar as well as in Ivy, Alexander, Annexe and Holly (all on the same street and owned by the same person) because I did not manage to obtain this info before. We checked in at Holly (payment has to be done at arrival) and then moved to Cedar where rooms were. Rooms were very very small and very poor at first sight. We were a little bit shocked at first but, as soon as the first night passed, we started to appreciate the place.

The room was old and with some dust on the floor but the rest was fine (clean linen, functional ensuite toilet, hot water functioning as well as the heat system and the TV and fridge). It is not true the fact I read here, that trains announcements and noise could be heard clearly. My room was on Hugh street and I can assure nothing was udible altought railway was near.

Another great aspect was the location; Terravision bus from Stansted leaves you 3 minutes walk from the hotel and the room is 5 minutes walk from Victoria station.

In conclusion, if need only a place where to sleep and have a shower, Cedar is the place for you.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Rooms size
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank swooshman77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    1
    8
    8
    11
See reviews for
7
11
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dorset
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2007

Don't be fooled by the homely pictures on the website as the room you're likely to get wont be any of these. My advice? Ask to see your room before you punch in that all important pin number! The double 'en-suite' my wife and I had was noisy, the tv could not be tuned satisfactorily, no bedside lights, no hairdryer, the shower was some makeshift affair in a tiny room with a toilet and basin (couldn't even open the door all the way) and the breakfast although described as continental consisted of cornflakes (no other choice) toast (white bread only) and tea or coffee with orange juice (again no other choices)
The only good thing I can say about this place? it's clean, relatively cheap, and convenient for Victoria station. If you want anything more, look elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RamblingRune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, MI
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2007

This hotel was quite small and old. There is no elevator, only narrow stairs. I paid 45 pounds per night to stay in an en suite room. In the states I’m accustomed to much higher quality hotels for this price, but that is very cheap for London. The room was small and the bathroom was about the size of a closet. The walls were thin and any time someone shut a door practically anywhere in the building it could be clearly heard from the room. The window pane rattled with any vibration IE opening and closing the door or if it was windy. The room included a small refrigerator and a TV which picked up a handful of channels.

Aside from London, I also stayed in Paris, Oxford, Chester, Dublin, Glasgow, and Newcastle on this trip. Of all those hotels, I’d say this hotel was the worst value for the money, but that was probably because of fact that it was in London, one of the most expensive cities in the world.

  • Liked — Reasonable price, good location, easy access to/from Gatwick airport
  • Disliked — Very small and old, kind of noisy
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank bleach003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2005

I originally had a reservation for the Annexe House Hotel, but I was given a room at the Cedar Guest House and was told it was the same. Both hotels as well as several others on that street are owned by the same people and share a lobby.

The hotel is better than staying at a hostel for about the same price. The hotel is in a good neighborhood and in a convenient location, it so close to Victoria Train Station that the sound of the trains vibrated the window. However, if you get a room that is not facing the station, it would not be loud.

Overall, the room and bathroom were very small and old and worn but functional. The curtains had tears, the wallpaper was peeling, and bedding was very old. However, there was plenty of hot water. The heat was often not turned on (it was very cold), but the thermostat was in the hallway for the entire hotel, so we turned it on as needed. The rooms have no phones, but that was okay because I have a cell phone. The room had a small refrigerator which was very convenient for saving money on food; there is a grocery store in Victoria Station with good selection and good prices.

The continental breakfast was cornflakes, toast, marmalade, milk, juice, coffee, and tea. It was basic but sufficient and good.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank WorldTraveler000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Pimlico
Comfort Inn Buckingham Palace Road
Pimlico
Comfort Inn London - Victoria
Comfort Inn London - Victoria
#651 of 1,090 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 911 reviews
Belgravia
The Z Hotel Victoria
The Z Hotel Victoria
#313 of 1,090 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pimlico
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - Victoria
Pimlico
Premier Inn London Victoria Hotel
Pimlico
BEST WESTERN Victoria Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Guest House

Property: Cedar Guest House
Address: 30 Hugh Street, London SW1V 1RP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Pimlico , Victoria
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #428 of 575 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Cedar Guest House Hotel London
Cedar Guest House London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing