We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Hotel for travellers on a budget!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The New Dome Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The New Dome Hotel
Ranked #843 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel for travellers on a budget!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

Not sure why this little gem gets so many bad reviews! The whole place was very clean (no bad smell anywhere), the staff were polite and friendly, and the rooms comfortable! You cannot expect 5 star luxury when staying in a budget hotel. I have stayed in many different places from a local Travelodge to Burj Al Arab in Dubai and would most definitely stay here again

The receptionist was welcoming, check-in was done efficiently. The room (17) was spacious enough for myself and my friend. Nice, although slightly old, decor. The beds were VERY comfortable! The room was very warm throughout our stay - nice of the hotel staff to keep the heating on :) We were not disturbed by any noise coming from the outside and slept well. The bathroom is slightly too small but very clean! Overall the room was nice and had a homely feel to it. The only thing the hotel could improve, is to add small reading lamps by the beds!

The hotel was clean and secure. Clearly states that no visitors are allowed and there is always someone sat at the front desk which is nice :)

The area is ok - many good restaurants nearby and a few nice pubs! The train station is a 10 minute walk which is convenient. Both, myself and my friend, felt safe walking around in the evening. As long as you have common sense you will be safe.

I enjoyed my stay and will be staying here again next time I am in London.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PenquinJewls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    24
    55
    9
    35
See reviews for
24
42
5
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

We stayed for one night booking it before reading the reviews as we needed a cheap place to crash whilst we went out at night which is not easy in London.

We were set for the worst after reading the reviews but once we were in the room we were wondering what all the fuss was about.

Whilst the reception area is dated, smelt a bit strange and there is no lift (not a problem if you are ok getting up stairs although I would not recommend it if you have mobility problems), once we were in the room, I could not agree with some of the previous comments.

The bedding and the towels were clean as was the bathroom, which had the smallest bath I have ever seen but was big enough to wash etc. There had been some updating work carried out in there as well.

Whilst it was not as up to date as a premier inn with lots of space and matching furniture, if you are planning on living in your room over night whilst working, I would not recommend it. As a place to get some sleep for a reasonable cost? I had no problems and I would certainly book again if I needed to with less trepidation.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 81Spanners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

Having booked this hotel for a couple of nights because I was on a budget, and because it was close to where I needed to be (King's College, which is pretty far outside the centre of town), I knew I'd made a terrible mistake the moment I walked in the door.

The hotel is dirty and cheap-looking, filled with rickety furniture and tattered curtains. A general feeling of unease pervades the place, probably caused by the surly staff who messed up the fees and ended up giving confusing 'refunds' and the shifty clientele. The flimsiest of locks on the room doors (a good kick, or even a shove, would probably burst them open easily) did not help alleviate this feeling.

An enormously loud Evangelical nighttime church service next door (with hymns and clapping!) kept me awake until 2.15AM(!), as the rooms allow any and all noise from the surroundings to pour in (this includes the noise from the corridor, where the other guests wandered up and down in the wee hours, occasionally shouting, and opening and slamming the amazingly creaky doors). A smell of general damp and mustiness fills the entire place. The old and stained bathroom had a shower that sprayed water horizontally from the wall, which was useless and frustrating.

Don't make the same mistake I did. Don't tell yourself 'it's OK since it's cheap'. It's not. Avoid, avoid, avoid.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SJRScot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COLCHESTER
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

We were due to go to a nearby event and this proved to be a convenient place to stay. Our first choice had no vacancies. We had read the reviews and thought we knew what to expect. The receptionist was welcoming on arrival, however as soon as we moved into the rather pokey stair area there was a strong smell of burnt gas. On arrival at our room we found a so called double room meant a double bed pushed up against the wall, to me that is not a double room. The bathroom was tiny but clean. We didn't bother to go down to breakfast but other people attending the event who also stayed there called it basic. Very much a case of getting what you pay for.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nomadicnome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

I stayed here because I had an early morning hospital appointment and wanted to avoid rush hour commute. What a mistake! The place is an absolute dump, should not be called a hotel. They first gave me room no.13, which was like a dungeon, so I changed to no.14, which was a bit bigger but overlooking the main road. Soundproofing is non-existent, and it feels like you're sleeping right on the road. The supposed 'double bed' was actually a really old sofa bed opened up with springs poking out. The place is a nightmare, avoid at all cost.

Room Tip: Just avoid no matter what :/
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yodachili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timisoara, Romania
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

We booked a triple room for 4 days in June 2012.

PROS:
The room was spacios, bathroom was big enough to feel comfortable, looked like in the pictures.
Bus stops 1 min walk from the hotel.
Breakfast was buffet, you don't have much choice tough (milk, bread/toast, butter, tea, coffee, jam, cereals, cheese).
They were cleaning the room and bathroom daily. The sheets were clean as well.

CONS:
The curtain in the bathroom was dirty, and they were not cleaning the drawers nor under the beds. Nevertheless, I still got the feeling that the room was acceptably clean.
No elevator, and steep stairs, was dificcult to carry our heavy luggage.
It's not exactly in the city centre, you have to take bus, than underground (closest is Oval station).

When we arrived we payed more than it was stated in the booking.
We realised that only next day, and told the receptionist when we checked out.
He realised it was a mistake on their side and was nice enough to promise to ask the manager.
In a few days they refunded the difference on our credit card, so I have the feeling they are honest people.

After staying here we moved to Easy Hostel Victoria for 2 days, and we regreted leaving The New Dome for Easy Hotel.
At Easy Hostel, though better located, we could barely move in the room and in the bathroom (1sq m each + bed), there was no room cleaning, no breakfast, and we also had to carry our luggage to the 4th floor, no elevator there either.

All in all, The New Dome Hotel would use some renovation, but is ok for a few days in London.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexandra_pad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
196 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

It was me and two friends, all around 18 years old, and we went to London for a heavy metal concert. So our expectations were not exactly high, considering that we paid 20 pounds each per night.
But they were about to be crushed.
The hotel stinks. Of what, I do not know. It just stinks, everywhere. The rooms look like jail cells, the bathroom is minuscule, the beds uncomfortable and - I can't street this enough - everything stinks.
The people who work there are very rude, the breakfast is a joke, the neighborhood looks dangerous.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carlo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near London
Pasha Hotel
#909 of 1,089 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Britannia Inn
#7 of 15 in Ilford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kensington and Hyde Park
Kensington West Hotel
Kensington West Hotel
#733 of 1,089 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
Viking Hotel
#859 of 1,089 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
Church Street Hotel
#457 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Dome Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Dome Hotel

Property: The New Dome Hotel
Address: 51-53 Camberwell Church Street, London SE5 8TR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > London Bridge
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #843 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The New Dome Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, SpeedyBooker.com, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your The New Dome Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Dome Hotel
The New Dome Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing