We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrendous!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of The New Dome Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The New Dome Hotel
Ranked #846 of 1,089 Hotels in London
2 reviews
“Horrendous!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2012

Have been working in London for the past few weeks and office put us in this hotel. 1st bad experience was we were told the office had paid the bill but when we arrived told the manager behind the desk what we had been told and he said no you haven't so we explained that we've been told it has. After about 2mins of back and forth with that he told us to get out he does not want our custom and to get out now this was about 8/9 on a Monday night after a long day. 2nd when we got to our room there was rubbish under the bed empty coke cans, packet of crisps. Extremely dirty sheets. And the bathroom was FILTHY! And mouse traps under the bed. I wouldnt even wash my dog in there. The 2nd week we got back 1 night to find a mouse running around in our room went to the desk and complained and the bloke behind the desk give us a key for another room which we walked in to find out it was being decorated tools and paint everywhere. With this I booked us Into a premier inn! Seemed like the Marriott compared to this dump!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackgibson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    24
    55
    9
    35
See reviews for
24
42
5
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2012

used it for staying in whilst doing contractor work in and around london,staff were pleasant and helpfull and my room was always clean and presentable, new bathroom suite just fitted recently.
room 17... (twin room) for 65 pounds per night it was ideal,i was here for 3 weeks and had no problems,plenty of banks and shops local and a nice little park, very good selection of pubs although a bit pricey..
basically if you want the ritz then pay the prices,
if you want basic accomodation thats clean then it fine..

Room Tip: room 17 overlooks the side street on the first floor, no noticeable noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steven l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

Oh my God !!!! The worst hotel experience we've ever had. The hotel is located on a busy road in Camberwell.There is no parking and we (myself and my wife) had to go to nearby residential streets to find a parking space.The walls and the decor are very dated and are in desperate need of a refurb.I didn't get the chance to visit all floors but our floor (1st Floor) was engulfed in cigarrette smell even though this is supposed to be a non-smoking hotel. The smell of cigarrettes was also intense in our room. Whenever we returned back to the hotel and opened our door, the cig smell just hits us. Sleep was ok but the sheets smelt of cigs and it was unbearable. The shower curtain....was just a disgrace and revolting. Breakfast was awful...no real breakfast just a bunch of cheap cerals,some fruits and bread.
In short, i will NEVER come to this hotel again.Not even if it's the last place on earth.I would rather sleep in the open. Yuk !!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jacob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2011

Prior to our trip I read reviews on this site and was genuinely apprehensive upon arrival as to what I was about to discover. We are a young couple who stayed for 4 nights, choosing this hotel as it's in central London, cheap, included breakfast and has en-suite rooms. Although the room was tiny, it was adequate, and we weren't planning on spending long there. The bathroom, towels, bed linen and room in general were undeniably clean. The whole hotel is shabby and in need of attention but we felt safe and clean which was the main thing, especially after reading so many negative reviews. The tube station is quite a long walk away but the buses are regular. Breakfast was toast, cereal and fruit (hardly expected a slap-up full english from a budget hotel). Customer service is lacking but again we weren't there for luxury treatment. Keys must be left at reception when you go out which isn't ideal. Perhaps other reviewers were unfortunate, or we were just lucky but I am a believer that people only write a review if they've had a bad experience and believe this place deserved a more balanced review, and that is that it is a very basic budget hotel in the centre of London, avoid if you're expecting luxury, probably fine for a safe, clean base. Plus I personally am a fan of brushing my teeth whilst sat on the toilet ;-)

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Polly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2011

This dated hotel is located on a busy a road.
The bedrooms and bathrooms were all in desperate need of refurbishment.
Rooms were dirty and the bed linen smelt of B.O

Room Tip: Look for another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 186356lou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2011

If you like a basic & clean hotel, then AVOID this one. The 'delux' single room was very small, smelt of stale cigarettes & the tiny bathroom smelt of stale urine, it was at the front of the buliding, which was very noisy, earplugs required. Basically, it was so bad I couldn't sleep in it & had to share with a colleague, whose room was larger, but unfortunately the bed sheets had complimentry stains of dribble on. When requested the sheets to be changed, they just went in the room & re-made the dirty ones. Had to request clean sheets at 11.30pm & was told they had to make a phonecall to get a key for the linen cupboard, was finally presented with clean sheets, but had to make our own beds at midnight! It was honestly the worst hotel I have ever stayed in, I am all for basic & clean, but this hotel was just disgusting & dated. The corridors outside our room also smelt of cannabis. DO NOT STAY HERE!!! There are cheaper & cleaner travel lodges in the city. I'm sure The Bates Motel would have been a nicer place to stay....

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NicNic1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2011

This hotel was abysmal...smelly and unclean rooms, bed sheets unclean and when asked to be changed they pretended they'd changed them! Sticky furniture and carpets...no springback fire doors on upper rooms! Traffic noise most of the night in rooms at the front of the building...I could go on and on.
It was cheap but had unacceptable levels of hygiene and noise so sleep was very difficult!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NorthernMonkey47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Pasha Hotel
#914 of 1,089 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Church Street Hotel
#455 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kensington and Hyde Park
Kensington West Hotel
Kensington West Hotel
#729 of 1,089 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
Viking Hotel
#864 of 1,089 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
London Bridge
Eurotraveller Hotel
Eurotraveller Hotel
#751 of 1,089 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Dome Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Dome Hotel

Property: The New Dome Hotel
Address: 51-53 Camberwell Church Street, London SE5 8TR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > London Bridge
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #846 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The New Dome Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The New Dome Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Dome Hotel
The New Dome Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing