We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No help from Staff”
Review of The Ventures Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Ventures Hotel
Ranked #1,001 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“No help from Staff”
Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

We've been in that so called hotel for four nights.
Our room was on the third floor and it was freezing cold. Windows couldn't be closed properly, just thin blankets and a cold heating.
Staff said, maybe they turn the heating on for a few hours after 10pm. but nothing happend.
We demanded more blankets but got only one (for three beds!!) which was dirty.
The sliding door to the bathroom made terrible noises everytime it was moved. So no silent go to the toilet possible.
The firealarm went off, but we couldn't hear it because of no bell on our floor. And since there's no telephone in the room, we had no information. Our luck, it was a false alert.
Go to McDonalds 'round the corner, if you want proper breakfast.
Or stay away from that "hotel" at all.

Helpful?
2 Thank Glenn S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    15
    39
    30
    126
See reviews for
47
68
14
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Very good for a couple nights stay. Good staff and service. Access to tube nearby and placez to eat. Was a good prioce range, paid around £70 which is reasonabe in a city like london However, there was no toilet shower divide.





  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Mofasser S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

stayed at this hotel for one night and it was the most horrible place ever!! the room was dirty, the furniture was old and broken down, the bathroom was a disgrace, and the door to the bathroom could not even be closed shut without waking the whole hotel up.
staff were unfriendly. the breakfast was included but given the state of the room we decided to not have it, we valued our health too much!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vicky1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Staff, unfriendly, unhelpful and at times rude. The room, stained and with walls so thin we could hear our neighbours complain 3 doors down. You have to pay up front and there is no cooked breakfast on a Sunday. On the plus side it's in a decent location.

Room Tip: Go to another Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MontCd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed December 25, 2012

Pleasant hotel, close to the main street. The breakfast was very good, the staff was very friendly and helpful. However. the beds were hard like rocks, and the traffic sounds. The room was porly isolated.


  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

I arrived here at 1330hrs and stood in a dingy lobby waiting for the staff to come in from outside the door where they were having a smoke. I took the key and walked the five flights of stairs to the room. On the way up there were doors open to bathrooms on several levels, given the condition of them all I was hoping they were old out of use ones waiting for refurbishment.
I opened the door to the room and was horrified, it was truly disgusting. The curtains were hanging off the wall, the bed was unmade and filthy and the shower room off to one side was as bad as the ones I had seen on the way up the stairs. This looked like something out of 'trainspotting'. Had I not been in such a hurry to leave I would have taken some photographs as words simply cannot describe this place.

Room Tip: Book a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RUTH D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 16, 2012

i stayed with my family
i found the hotel to be in the good location and the service also met the hotel
i would recommend it to any friends or family to go in the room number 206 on the ground floor near the reception.

Room Tip: i found the family room number 206 to be very specious and had found sofa, led screen brand new tv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Asif A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Belmont & Astoria Hotels
#747 of 1,068 in London
390 reviews
Fairways Hotel
#828 of 1,068 in London
88 reviews
ABC Hyde Park Hotel
#699 of 1,068 in London
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Olympic House Hotel
#814 of 1,068 in London
338 reviews
Earls Court
Lord Kensington Hotel
Lord Kensington Hotel
#735 of 1,068 in London
421 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Point A Hotel, London Paddington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ventures Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ventures Hotel

Property: The Ventures Hotel
Address: 12-20 Sussex Gardens | Marble Arch, London W2 1UL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,001 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Ventures Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ventures Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ventures Hotel London
The Ventures Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing