We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh,gash gash gash gash!”
Review of The Ventures Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Ventures Hotel
Ranked #991 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Oh my god! This hotel is sooo disgusting!! I have never been in a so bad hotel before, BUT! The breakfast was, yeah not so bad... And the hotel dont have a lift, it was just stairs, gad why did i come to this hotel!D: In the room the was a dirty smell, and they dont have a wardrobe! The hanger was so high up, you can not even take the closet on the hanger! WHAT IS THIS! They dont not even deliver tissue paper, when we ask that we need tissue paper we just get 1! Theservice was very VERY BAD!!!!!!!! And the room cleaning was also very bad i dont like that when it is very dirty!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank TAHMINAAKTHERKHAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (232)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 231 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2012

1 towel for 2 persons, i ask it 2 times but i not recieved a second towel.
In the badroom was mold en in the room there are ants.
The bed was before the window and it is not possible to open the window.
The only thing that was good was the breakfast;
Lucky that is was only for 3 nights.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Ettore S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2012

Should have wrote this review straight away but never got round to it. This B & B was the most disgusting place we had ever booked.

On arrival we were told that our room was not ready as the cleaners were still in there. When we got our keys for the room we found that the room had not been touched from the previous people, the bed still had the previous peoples bedding on.The room was awfull.

We complained and said that we were not happy and demanded our money back. To cut a long story short, the owner came ( after demanding that he met us for a refund ) and he took us, as what he described his best room. I was shocked at what I saw as when I started to check the bed ( as the previous mattress in the rooms before were stained as what had to be urine ) The owner / manager said that I did not need to check the mattress as it was clean, no it was not as at least half the bed was stained not only with urine it had blood staines, the manager did not think this was a problem. I walked out and demanded my money back. After complaining to the people we booked through and the manager we did after a struggle get all our money back. And yes it was us that reported you to Environmental Health. Disgusting place, hence we never stayed there and booked elswhere.

Room Tip: If you have booked this place, PLEASE check the room first before any payment is made.
See more room tips
Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
3  Thank sharon n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Liselott N
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

We chose this hotel because my parents wanted to drive into London, and we were coming to London by train, getting into Paddington, this ticked the 'Paddington' and 'parking' boxes. We stayed 4 and 3 nights respectively
OK so it's not luxury, but at the price we paid we weren't expecting luxury. The rooms were clean, and serviced daily, with fresh towels. They were a little on the snug side perhaps but we didn't go to London to stay in our hotel all day, so it was adequate for our needs.
The breakfast was amazing, freshly cooked full English, with as much cereal, toast and tea as we wanted.
I would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2012

Me and 5 friends had booked 3 twin rooms here, with 3 of us booking the 3 rooms individually through lastminute.com. On the morning of travelling down I couldn't find my confirmation e-mail so I decided to phone the hotel. They told me I wasn't registered on the system and to phone up lastminute. I was told by lastminute that my booking was confirmed and they'd phone the hotel for me. When they got back to me they said the hotel booking system was down but they'd get back in touch with them within the hour. To cut a long story short, all 3 rooms had been "double booked" and the hotel was to try and find us another hotel. They didn't. We spent a lot of time trying to book another one. An absolute nightmare. Ironicaly, I found my booking confirmation while I was on the phone to the hotel first time around!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kevin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2012

How can I get started...!!!
Once you enter this hotel you would smell a terrible sausages smell that would make you feel like throwing up.

I stayed there for 13 nights with friends, 2 double rooms and 1 triple.

My room was average, had a large double bed, a couch, a TV, an extremely small closet, a kettle that doesn't work, a heater that was too hot to the extent that we used it as a drier so that things would dry in no time, the bathroom was tinny as well without shampoo or soap, only toilet papers.

Another double room was sooo small, my friends couldn't move around, the bathroom wall wasn't totally connected to the ceiling so there was an area that had a void, there was no bathtub just a shower and the water would flow inside the room.

the triple room was small as well, it had 2 or 3 desks inside, no idea why??? the 3rd person was sleeping on a mat put on the floor, and it was next to the storage room, so they could hear the staff moving around them all the way.

Every time somebody walks around or climb the stairs you would hear him/her. The walls are too thin so you always hear noise.

For breakfast, we had the same food the whole trip, eggs, cereals, jam, butter and bread. They wouldn't serve enough bread for the seven of us, they would throw the plates in our faces, and yell at us if we ask for more bread or ask if our food will arrive soon.

The only good thing about this hotel is the location, and personally my room was good, but i have been in 3 stars hotels in other European countries and they were way more better

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Po87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Knightsbridge
Roof Garden Rooms
Roof Garden Rooms
#670 of 1,076 in London
146 reviews
Aspen Suites Hyde Park
#737 of 1,076 in London
51 reviews
Bloomsbury
Garth Hotel
Garth Hotel
#869 of 1,076 in London
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitre House Hotel
#554 of 1,076 in London
636 reviews
Pimlico
Best Western Corona
Best Western Corona
#547 of 1,076 in London
776 reviews
Caring Hotel
#546 of 1,076 in London
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ventures Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ventures Hotel

Address: 12-20 Sussex Gardens | Marble Arch, London W2 1UL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #991 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Price Range: $69 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Ventures Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotwire so you can book your The Ventures Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ventures Hotel London
The Ventures Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing