We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First class” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novotel London City South

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Novotel London City South
Ranked #281 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“First class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

Spent 4 days on a family trip to london,no problems , fantastic service,great food and location and generally a great hotel...will book again shortly. Amenities and room first class although the free wifi was a bit flakey but there was an option to upgrade which we didn't take up................................................... won't be long before we visit again

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mabdad1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria P, Manager at Novotel London City South, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review. It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards,
Victoria Parry
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,013 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    590
    1,017
    293
    77
    36
See reviews for
1,054
330
80
321
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

I'm not sure what the word Novotel conjures up, but I did find this particular hotel to be cool in design; spacious and well lit and excellently located. The best thing about this hotel is the bedrooms, well-lit and warm colours. The breakfast/dining room is ok. Has a feeling of canteen about it and the breakfast is very expensive £16 (buffet) unless you have a good B&B rate. That said though, 1 child can go free with every paying adult. The gym was good. Location is fantastic from a South London point of view. Close to the South Bank, Southwark, Tate. Nearest tube station is London Bridge. If you have heavy luggage, though and you are coming from Paddington, a taxi will cost you around £25. Wifi worked for me.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ducking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria P, Manager at Novotel London City South, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments and compliments – I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Victoria Parry
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

Nice weekend away place in the Southwark neighborhood. Good location for attractions in that area. It's a great, off the beaten path place. You're a little bit away from the traditional London attractions, but are in a great place for real culture and non-traditional sights. We enjoyed the Golden Hind for the kids. Great place to stay to get away from traditional tourism. Rooms are to Novotel standard, modern and comfortable. Never any complaints with this hotel brand so far. Tube stops are within a 5-10 min walk, so no worries there. Cabs, of course, are plentiful.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mom_II_Boys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria P, Manager at Novotel London City South, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Thank you very much for your review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the Novotel London City South. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Victoria Parry
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

Love the location - walking distance to St Paul’s Cathedral, London Bridge, the monument and the Tate Modern. Three tube stations all close by (London Bridge, Borough & Southwark). Nice walk around south bank with a few good restaurants available; there is also a Mark & Spencer if you need any daily stuff such as toothpaste. Nearby Borough Market is a bonus.

The staff at the reception were very helpful and friendly. We booked a day tour of Stonehenge/Windsor Castle/Bath through them, which turned out to be very fruitful.

Two of my kids stayed in the same room with us, sharing a queen size bed and a sofa bed. The room was very clean however wasn’t big – all Novotels around the world are similar. Overall, I feel the price we paid for the room matched the standard for it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lala0511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria P, Manager at Novotel London City South, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Thank you for your review, I'm pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you on your next trip to London.
Kind regards,
Victoria Parry
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

I stayed here for three nights after four nights at the Apex City of London. Not exactly a fair comparison, as Apex is a bit more expensive, but that's what colored my lenses. Let's start with the good and move down...

Five stars: natural lighting. Huge windows to the London city sky (grey as it is). In-room lighting at night was very good as well, compared to the Apex.

Four stars: check-in experience. Very nice agents at the desk.

Three stars: location. It's next to Burough Market and right next to the Thames, which is great for weekend afternoon walks and evening runs along the river. It's a bit of a hike to Paddington Station, however, which is a necessary trek if you've got morning meetings in Reading. The distance to Paddington station, to give a tangible illustration, is far enough that you need to wake up at 5am to be ready to leave by 5:45 to get to the station by 6:45 for a meeting at 8...

Two stars: fitness center equipment and hours. The treadmill is supposedly only supposed to be used between 9am and 9pm. What on earth are you supposed to do if you need to work out before work? What if you need to go for a run when it's no longer safe to run outside after dark? Additionally, there is crap for equipment selection. Typical hotel gym I suppose, but it looked nicer in the pictures (and that was part of the reason I chose this hotel).

Two stars: wireless speed. So slow it's unusable unless you purchase the premium. That's roughly $18/day down the drain.

One star: room service hours and options. Read here:

The breakfast card instructs you to call if you need something before 6. I called to ask for breakfast at 5 (read above) and was told that muesli, yogurt, fruit salad and coffee would likely be available, as none require cooking. This seemed like a reasonable request (the Apex, as many other hotels I've visited, offers some sort of room service 24/7).

5am rolled around and a woman showed up at my door with a paper lunch bag containing three industrial pieces of fruit (i.e. cheap oranges and apples), yogurt, and a bunch of cheap mini-croissants. I guess this is their early "breakfast to-go" option. No muesli, no coffee, just cheap fruit and mini-croissants. Good luck if you don't eat gluten (or simply don't want cheap / unhealthy pastries as a stand-in for actual breakfast).

This would all be fine if there was a single coffee shop that opened by 6 within walking distance, but there isn't, as this is a non-business-oriented area and as such has limited early coffee options on weekdays.

To make a long story short, it'd be okay if you're on a budget, but don't stay here if you're in town for business.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elizabethjanem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria P, Manager at Novotel London City South, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Thank you for your review and feedback, we appreciate your comments.
Kind regards,
Victoria Parry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

I stayed here for one night making use of the fitness room and steam room. The room was clean with modern fittings. There was free Wi-Fi, a nice chaise longue and a comfy bed. There were some attractive features like the espresso coffee machine and electric privacy glass between the bathroom and bedroom. All in all a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DolphinGrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria P, Manager at Novotel London City South, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments and compliments – I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Victoria Parry
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Southwark
Mercure London Bridge
Mercure London Bridge
#309 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,901 reviews
London Bridge
Novotel London Blackfriars
Novotel London Blackfriars
#194 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,015 reviews
Southwark
Ibis Styles London Southwark Rose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
Novotel London Tower Bridge
Novotel London Tower Bridge
#244 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,681 reviews
Novotel London Waterloo
#313 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,698 reviews
Southwark
Premier Inn London Southwark (Borough Market) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel London City South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel London City South

Property: Novotel London City South
Address: 53-61 Southwark Bridge Road, London SE1 9HH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark , London Bridge
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Green Hotel in London
#207 Luxury Hotel in London
#244 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel London City South 4*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel London City South is an AA 4 star hotel ideal for a weekend or holiday in London. The Shard, Borough Market, London Eye, Tate Modern, Millennium Bridge, Shakespeares Globe Theatre, Vinopolis and St Pauls Cathedral are just minutes away, while a short tube ride will get you to the shopping, nightlife and theatres of the West End. Guests can enjoy our Elements Restaurant, Clinks Bar and rooftop leisure and fitness suite with gym, sauna and steam room. Free WiFi & internet, chargeable parking available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Novotel London City South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel London City South Hotel London
Accor London City South
London Novotel
Novotel London City South England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing