We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel London City South

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Novotel London City South
Ranked #280 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I stayed for three nights at the Novotel London City South for a conference trip in September. Overall I was very pleased. The hotel is nice and clean with good rooms and polite staff. Excellent location, and the internet connection worked very well. I did not have the opportunity to visit the spa, but staying on the sixth floor I saw the spa and it looked nice.

I would stay again, and can recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Magnus N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria P, Manager at Novotel London City South, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
"Thank you for your kind comments and compliments – I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Victoria Parry Rooms Division Manager
"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,800 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    511
    911
    270
    75
    33
See reviews for
940
294
76
277
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
c
Level Contributor
208 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

A very good central London hotel.
Centrally located, excellent for the business traveller.
Quality rooms and design, polite staff.
You may need to break the bank though.
As you'd expect from its central location, this hotel is not cheap.
Quality always costs, but then you are literally a stone's throw away from the Thames, St Paul's cathedral, passing FT on your way...you do feel you are in the heart of London!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Seasonedd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria P, Manager at Novotel London City South, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
"Thank you very much for your kind review. It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. Kind regards, Victoria Parry
"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

The negative: Small room size. I know by European rooms tend to be on the small side but this room was very small. The bathroom is also a bit awkward in that it has a big windowed wall that separates the bathroom from the rest of the room.

The positive: Nice, helpful friendly staff. Clean rooms.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kendall R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria P, Manager at Novotel London City South, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
"Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and found our service to your liking, we have noted your comments regarding the room configeration, Kind regards, Victoria Parry"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

I passed one night in the hotel

The breakfast is nice

Good internet at the room

the view from the window is so nice

the staff are friendly

the lobby is cute but noisy

clean sheets and towels

the room was warm in winter

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sHajjar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria P, General Manager at Novotel London City South, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
"Thank you for your kind comments and compliments – I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, General Manager
Shane Parker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Protaras, Cyprus
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights with family, helpful staff nice size rooms. This has been our 3rd stay and would go back again. Greatly situated for Borough Market, Embankment, and the Shard. Quiet hotel even though very busy.

Room Tip: Great view of the Shard at the back of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank janet_warrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria P, Manager at Novotel London City South, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you taking the time to write a review following your stay at Novotel London City South. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Victoria Parry
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here one night on business, location is excellent, room was OK (carpet in room was very tired and needs replacing ASAP) breakfast was delicious so much choice! Would stay again in business or with my family.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Radford1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria P, Manager at Novotel London City South, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for your review, I'm pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back on your next visit.

Kind regards,
Victoria Parry
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was booked for a work stay by my company. I have had a number of very pleasurable stays with novotel in other parts of the country but this hotel could really do with a bit of tlc in the rooms. The public spaces suggest something modern and contemporary but this is not matched in the rooms. Firstly no wardrobe just some sort of thing sticking out from the wall and a very tatty ironing board standing next to it above which a fantastically uninspiring piece of artwork. The carpets in the room were beyond help and need to be replaced asap. I had clearly been put in a room which was semi accessible to those with disability as the sink etc were all very low to the ground and there were emergency call buttons in the bathroom and the bedroom. The shower seal leaked so I ended up flooding the bathroom floor. Overall the room was tired. It was really close to my meeting venue but I sure wouldnt book it for a holiday.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simon5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria P, Manager at Novotel London City South, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review, we appreciate all feedback and I will investigate your comment with my housekeeping manager.

Kind regards,
Victoria Parry
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
London Bridge
Novotel London Blackfriars
Novotel London Blackfriars
#166 of 1,066 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 1,681 reviews
Southwark
Ibis Styles London Southwark Rose
City of London
Novotel London Tower Bridge
Novotel London Tower Bridge
#230 of 1,066 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 2,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
Mercure London Bridge
Mercure London Bridge
#341 of 1,066 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 1,669 reviews
Novotel London Waterloo
#274 of 1,066 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 2,347 reviews
Southwark
Premier Inn London Southwark (Borough Market) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel London City South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel London City South

Property: Novotel London City South
Address: 53-61 Southwark Bridge Road, London SE1 9HH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark , London Bridge
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Green Hotel in London
#207 Luxury Hotel in London
#245 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel London City South 4*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel London City South is an AA 4 star hotel ideal for a weekend or holiday in London. The Shard, Borough Market, London Eye, Tate Modern, Millennium Bridge, Shakespeares Globe Theatre, Vinopolis and St Pauls Cathedral are just minutes away, while a short tube ride will get you to the shopping, nightlife and theatres of the West End. Guests can enjoy our Elements Restaurant, Clinks Bar and rooftop leisure and fitness suite with gym, sauna and steam room. Free WiFi & internet, chargeable parking available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Novotel London City South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel London City South Hotel London
Accor London City South
London Novotel
Novotel London City South England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing