We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, helpful staff, family friendly hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel London City South
Ranked #269 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Leicestershire, UK
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good value, helpful staff, family friendly hotel”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Well located comfortable hotel with helpful staff. Real plus of this hotel is that most of the rooms will sleep 4 if travelling with small children. Located 500m from london bridge tube station. Restaurant menu good. Rooms comfortable, modern and clean. Good value for money. Would recommend. Top tip when arriving by tube: exit london bridge tube station at borough high st (borough market side) as the various entrances/exits are 500m apart.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank archibald75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CitySouth, Manager at Novotel London City South, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor following your recent stay at the Novotel London City South hotel.

I was delighted to hear that you overall enjoyed your stay with us and I will be sure to share your comments with the team as I am sure they will appreciate knowing that their efforts have been recognised and remembered.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,
Victoria Parry
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,089 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    628
    1,049
    298
    77
    37
See reviews for
1,096
342
80
338
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Clive, IA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Family of four (one adult, teen, and 2 kids) stayed here in March 2013. Hotel was convenient to London Bridge tube station (approx 5-10 min walk) and in good area. We walked to nearby Globe Theatre location and many good eating options in Borough Market area. Hotel room was small, but that is expected in London, especially when looking to sleep 4 people in one room and not break the bank. Breakfast buffet option was pretty decent and filling, standard eggs, beans, mushrooms, meats, cheeses, breads, cereals. Hot chocolate was great. Free wi-fi in lobby area worked very well and was speedy. Hotel staff were friendly and willing to provide tourist advise. Would definitely stay here again and recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Back2Iowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CitySouth, Manager at Novotel London City South, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your kind comments and compliments – I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Victoria Parry
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Was out in London for the evening and wanted a hotel to crash and recover in when we had finished our evening and the location of this hotel was good from being out in the City.

Arrived at the hotel very late (1am) and was very surprised at the whole check in experience. Appreciate it was late, but there was no one there on entering and checked in using the computers in the lobby, this went through smoothly and it printed out the door card for a room on the 5th floor. Clearly a cost saving feature, and worked ok, was just a surprise to not see anyone at all, made it feel very student or low cost from the off.

The Room

The room was small but functional. The room layout clearly is done to maximise real estate, and didn't really like the fact the sink / shower area opened right next to the bed with open outwards doors (although should point out the toilet was not in the same location so no problem with that). Bathroom again functional but nothing special, only 1 towel, basic soaps (clearly to keep costs down).

Tea & Coffee provided, mini bar basic drinks but no prices so didn't eat the mars bar in case it was stupid money.

There is a bed, and a sofabed, TV and a chair, again very basic but functional.

Room was very warm, and the window looked out on some offices, but didn't really care about this. Opened the window but was too noisy, so used the A/C which didn't seem to do anything.

The Bed

Probably the most important part of a stay, and have to say very hard and uncomfortable. Only 2 pillows provided which were useless for support, so slept very badly. The hotel fails in this respect for me.

Value for money

The room cost £107, breakfast was optional at 15.95. For London I guess this is a good to average price. The hotel was sold as a 4 star, but I wouldn't give it any more than a 3 and would actually rate a Travelodge or Premier Inn as more comfortable (and cheaper). I could have stayed at a Hilton for £140 which would have included breakfast. So for the additional £25 I think that would have been a much better stay.

Summary

Its an OK hotel, and if you manage to get a room for under £100 then its probably fair, but if its over, I would suggest looking at other options.

Looking at some of the pictures of rooms clearly I had a basic room and there are others that look from the pictures to be more comfortable, so this might not be a fair review of all of the rooms, but overall this didn't really feel like a welcoming hotel, more like a student dig or a hostel trying to keep everything cheap, sadly at the price of making it feel like a hotel.

Probably wouldn't elect to stay here again unless it was under £100.

Room Tip: Unless very cheap, avoid the family rooms (double bed and sofabed) really really not comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Muckypaws666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CitySouth, Manager at Novotel London City South, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to comment, we appreciate your feedback and am sorry that on this occasion you were disappointed with your stay. I will personally look into some of the points you raised and I hope you will visit us again to have a true reflection on the service we offer.

Kind regards,
Victoria Parry
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Iwas styed in executive room but the wifi was charged and the room not prepared for 3person . And we parked our car for less than 2days and they charged us 50£ pound full rate wethout notice . They should tell us about these things befor che in .I'm always stay in novotel hotel but ididnt face that things .but still Novotel is a good hotel .thanks

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank hbushehri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CitySouth, Manager at Novotel London City South, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

We at the Novotel London City South hotel very much appreciate all your thoughts. We are pleased that you overall enjoyed your stay, and have noted all your comments. Whilst broadband is available in our executive rooms free of charge, we do offer wifi complimentary in our public areas. Thank you for taking the time to offer your feedback, we hope you will visit again soon.

Kind regards,
Victoria Parry
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 26, 2013

The hotel is clean the rooms are fine and the breakfast buffet was excellent. Placement is also good Borough market and tube station nearby.
Only downside is not particularly much atmosphere in hotel bar and general, slightly dull business hotel, but otherwise fine

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mopedersen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CitySouth, Manager at Novotel London City South, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Many thanks for posting your comments. We appreciate all feedback very much and the team and I look forward to welcoming you back at Novotel London City South.

Kind regards,
Victoria Parry
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

A last minute night here to spoil my other half on a night out in London. Wasnt told about the building works on the 4th floor but they stopped after 4pm. Room was Lovely, would have prefered more of a pillow choice and breakfast was average compared to other places I have stayed but it was a lovely night away so would stay again as a quick walk over the bridge to buses up to the attractions.

Room Tip: Room at back of hotel high up to look onto the shard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cat-turtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CitySouth, Manager at Novotel London City South, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

I’m very grateful that you could take time to leave us your thoughts and write a review. I’m so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to see you again in the very near future.

Kind regards,
Victoria Parry
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Hotel is in a great location for exploring all the sights of London and walking along the river. The room we had was a Superior and although small was adequate for our one night stay.
We were unable to check in at 13:00 and was asked to return maybe in 2 to 3 hours time. Not brilliant but as we had things to do didn't really present a problem. We were able to leave our bag in storage until we could check in.
Breakfast was more than adequate with the usual bacon, sausage, beans, eggs and continental. The area where the buffet is set up is quite small and with a large amount of people can get quite chaotic.
All in all though a pleasant stay and would return if visiting London again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkMFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CitySouth, Manager at Novotel London City South, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review following your stay at Novotel London City South hotel. I'm pleased to read that you enjoyed your overall experience and found our location to be ideal for visiting London.

Thank you for all your feedback and I hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Victoria Parry
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Southwark
Mercure London Bridge
Mercure London Bridge
#302 of 1,067 in London
1,957 reviews
London Bridge
Novotel London Blackfriars
Novotel London Blackfriars
#178 of 1,067 in London
2,140 reviews
City of London
Novotel London Tower Bridge
Novotel London Tower Bridge
#242 of 1,067 in London
2,783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
Ibis Styles London Southwark Rose
Novotel London Waterloo
#325 of 1,067 in London
2,850 reviews
Southwark
Premier Inn London Southwark (Bankside) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel London City South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel London City South

Property: Novotel London City South
Address: 53-61 Southwark Bridge Road, London SE1 9HH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark , London Bridge
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Green Hotel in London
#200 Luxury Hotel in London
#244 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel London City South 4*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel London City South is an AA 4 star hotel ideal for a weekend or holiday in London. The Shard, Borough Market, London Eye, Tate Modern, Millennium Bridge, Shakespeares Globe Theatre, Vinopolis and St Pauls Cathedral are just minutes away, while a short tube ride will get you to the shopping, nightlife and theatres of the West End. Guests can enjoy our Elements Restaurant, Clinks Bar and rooftop leisure and fitness suite with gym, sauna and steam room. Free WiFi & internet, chargeable parking available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel London City South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel London City South Hotel London
Accor London City South
London Novotel
Novotel London City South England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing