We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Mentone Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mentone Hotel
Ranked #573 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed July 18, 2014

Stopped here for 1 night. It is in a great location, and an easy 30 minute walk to Covent Garden and close to Euston and St Pancras. It is also very good value for money for London and includes breakfast which is very good, although a little rushed and in quite a small room in the basement. The rooms are OK, ours was at the back on the 2nd floor, with a very comfortable bed, the only problem being the floors don't half creek when people are moving about on the 3rd floor. It is in a quiet location and in a lovely crescent of houses opposite a park. If you are on a budget then this is an OK place to stop.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank forrestd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (588)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

176 - 182 of 588 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

Hotel is in perfect location for our needs close to StPancras trainstation and to British library. We stayed at two rooms, first 3 nights at the top floor - about 50 steps, nice view, a bit small room for 3, but was OK. The other room was on ground floor and rather nice and OK as well.
Full English breakfast was nice surprise the first day and we enjosed it during our whole stay.
Staff was helpfull and friendly.
Will consider it for our next stay in London as well.

Stayed: February 2014
Thank Tabinka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

Booked a twin room and got one double bed and a camp bed! Bathroom tiny and shower was like standing under a dripping tap it was that useless. Room on top floor with very steep stairs which were difficult with a suitcase. Good location though

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juliaf77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Fortunately I am not claustrophobic and fortunately I staid only one night. The junior single room was extremely small, as well as the toilet/shower area; I could hear noise from other rooms, including tap's dripping (all night long); also, the carpet has been there too long. I can't tell about the other rooms. The location of the hotel is very good though, the staff is friendly enough and I can't complain about the breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank loteoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

Located in a silent oasis near Kings cross underground, this small compact hotel gave great value for money. Be prepared to climb steep and narrow stairs to upper floors. Nice room. Good breakfast. And friendly staff.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank hoh58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2014

Friendly helpful staff make all the difference. Check in was swift and accurate and as easy as it should be, the room was up only one flight of stairs as requested and was clean tidy well appointed and very close to Euston Station. The room was a family room with two double beds, albeit a bit on the small side, they were fairly comfortable and the bathroom had decent water pressure, a bit of a rarity in these parts due to old constructions and matching water pipes.

A short walk around the corner found a laundry, grocery store and numerous eat spots, we chose Italian which was a great meal, but Indian, Chinese and the like are also available within a short distance.

Breakfast was the best of our 3 weeks so far, served by two ladies who really know their table service. A full English breakfast delivered to your table along with your choice of juice, coffee and the usual assortment of cereals and fruit.

Would I stay here again? Most certainly and I recommend the clean tidy surrounds opposite a parkland although the street gets a little noisy after dark

Room Tip: Choose a low floor as there's no elevator as with most of London's older motels
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2014

Was looking for a hotel close to Euston Station for work, saw this online and was reasonably priced so booked.
Really easy to get too and near good shops and restaurants, friendly staff and good breakfast.

Needed a room to sleep one person but requested a double, actually would have slept 3 people.

Not the fanciest of rooms and no food other than breakfast available but beds were comfortable and nice bathroom.

My colleagues TV didnt work though.

Would stay again for work

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
The Euro Hotel
The Euro Hotel
#458 of 1,077 in London
739 reviews
Bloomsbury
Crestfield Hotel
Crestfield Hotel
#550 of 1,077 in London
942 reviews
Bloomsbury
Avonmore Hotel
Avonmore Hotel
#909 of 1,077 in London
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Crescent Hotel
Crescent Hotel
#539 of 1,077 in London
265 reviews
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#297 of 1,077 in London
1,778 reviews
Bloomsbury
Harlingford Hotel
Harlingford Hotel
#557 of 1,077 in London
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mentone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mentone Hotel

Address: 54-56 Cartwright Gardens, London WC1H 9EL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #573 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Price Range: $96 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mentone Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mentone Hotel is a bed and breakfast situated on beautiful Cartwright Gardens in the Bloomsbury area of Central London. The hotel has been owned and managed by the same family since 1972 and has long been a popular choice with tourists and business travelers due to its pleasant surroundings and convenient location. We are just a stone's throw away from The British Museum, University of London, The British Library, Oxford Street, Eurostar, the West End Theatre District, and the neighbouring areas of Soho, Holborn and Covent Garden.The hotel occupies three townhouses on a Georgian crescent and consists of five levels (lower ground floor, ground floor, first floor, second floor and third floor). The townhouses are Grade II listed and the hotel has no lifts (elevators). We are a non-smoking establishment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mentone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mentone Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing