We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, simple, clean and excellent value for London.”
Review of Mentone Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mentone Hotel
Ranked #568 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Clean and in a good location for central London.
I booked only 24 hours before and ended up with a triple room for just myself, so had no issues over room size. Room was clean and shower was good (seemed newly refurbished).
Was on top floor - pretty tight and I understand what people have said. You'd get the cases up the stairs, but it would not be easy.
Breakfast was included and was remarkably good - I expected it to be very basic....
I'd go back.

Room Tip: I was in room 11. it's top floor so avoid if you're not happy with tight stairways.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SKIcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (576)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

213 - 219 of 576 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2013

i booked a twin and a single. have just returned from our one night stay. both our rooms were not ready on arrival at 1pm. so left our bags in one of our rooms in the wardrobe so they could still clean the rooms. not a big problem. check in quick but not very welcoming. pregnant lady on reception, i dont think she is a people person, shame. we had one single on first floor i couldnt believe how small it was. the bed squeezed into a small gap, god knows how the cleaners manage to make the bed. bathroom not good, very old dirty/scum looking tiles on the floor of the shower, really didnt make you feel like using it, so didnt, generally needs ripping out and re-doing. second room twin, right at the top, you need oxygen when you get up there. room had a double bed and a single. this room looked like it had been recently decorated and bathroom looked quite new. breakfast was very good hot full english, lovely bacon, staff very pleasant and accommadating. i think the issue here is which room you are allocated, if we had just booked the twin, i might say we would return, but having seen the single room i would definalty not return.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jane630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

I stayed in the Mentone for a couple of nights and wasn't very impressed. My single room was right at the top of the building and up some very narrow, steep stairs. The radiator didn't work and despite my asking that someone fix it, it was never done - in mid-November the heating should be working, and you shouldn't freeze in your room. My friend's room was a tiny box and, again, freezing cold. The breakfast is adequate but served luke-warm. The location is central enough but I won't be booking there again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PlanetLondoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Third time staying in Cartwright Gardens and our second stay at the Mentone. This is an excellent location for anyone visiting London. The hotel is a five minute walk from Euston and St Pancras railway stations and the same to Russell Square tube station. It is in an area called Bloomsbury which is full of wonderful shops,pubs,bars and restaurants. The British museum, Soho and other London landmarks are all within walking distance.Hotel is clean with good facilities and serves a very good full English breakfast. They are very accommodating by allowing you to leave luggage if you have a late train. We will definitely stay here again on our next visit to London.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank janebmott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

The location is usually quiet. Russell Square and Euston stations are a walking distance of approx. 5 mins. Our room was fitted with a modern bathroom, bed was comfortable and had a nice view of the outside. Breakfast itself (full English breakfast) and the service was very good. The staff was friendly and attained to our needs immediately. We were very satisfied with our stay at this hotel and totally recommend it to other couples.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Reznor1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

This was our first visit, having stayed at the nearby Crescent Hotel on previous trips. The location is excellent -- near Russell Square and King's Cross and bus lines. The neighborhood is quiet and there are many good restaurants within walking distance.
The rooms are very small and the bathrooms are typically tiny. On the first leg of our trip we were greeted (I can't say welcomed) by a rather surly young woman who pointed us downstairs to our room. Tiny, overlooking an airshaft and not made-up yet. And quite noisy as it was just below the reception area. On our return from a few days in Amsterdam, we got a room on the top floor that was more commodious but quite a haul up the stairs.
On the plus side, the breakfasts were very good and the rest of the staff was friendly and helpful. I would recommend avoiding the lowest and highest level rooms and the surly young woman if possible.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jamie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

This place is nice, central and good value for money. Rooms are in a good size and nicely decorated, but most of all clean!
Breakfast is good and there is a lot of choice, from the classic Full english to croissants, yoghurt and so on.
I totally recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tokyonome85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
The Euro Hotel
The Euro Hotel
#464 of 1,076 in London
731 reviews
Bloomsbury
Harlingford Hotel
Harlingford Hotel
#558 of 1,076 in London
453 reviews
Bloomsbury
Crescent Hotel
Crescent Hotel
#534 of 1,076 in London
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Avonmore Hotel
Avonmore Hotel
#906 of 1,076 in London
152 reviews
Bloomsbury
Crestfield Hotel
Crestfield Hotel
#565 of 1,076 in London
932 reviews
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#277 of 1,076 in London
2,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mentone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mentone Hotel

Address: 54-56 Cartwright Gardens, London WC1H 9EL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #568 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Price Range: $115 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mentone Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mentone Hotel is a bed and breakfast situated on beautiful Cartwright Gardens in the Bloomsbury area of Central London. The hotel has been owned and managed by the same family since 1972 and has long been a popular choice with tourists and business travelers due to its pleasant surroundings and convenient location. We are just a stone's throw away from The British Museum, University of London, The British Library, Oxford Street, Eurostar, the West End Theatre District, and the neighbouring areas of Soho, Holborn and Covent Garden.The hotel occupies three townhouses on a Georgian crescent and consists of five levels (lower ground floor, ground floor, first floor, second floor and third floor). The townhouses are Grade II listed and the hotel has no lifts (elevators). We are a non-smoking establishment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mentone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mentone Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing