We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oh dear moment!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of London Carlton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
London Carlton Hotel
Ranked #917 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Oh dear moment!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

We booked this hotel on the basis that we needed a family room for 2 adults 1 child on a last minute 2 day visit to London the cost was in the ball park what we wanted to pay as it was including breakfast and the pictures seemed ok, as the location goes it was good, virtually opposite Kings Cross Station and as we approached the entrance all seemed good. But once entering the hotel we started to have the "oh dear moment" as the bookings all seemed to be on scraps of paper and actually checking in was a pretty long and painful process, undeterred we carried on, the one lift can only carry 1 person at a time to the 3rd floor where we found our room. no lampshades on the 2 lights, a 3/4 bed for a double and a single bed in a "L" shaped room and as for the en-suite I could touch both walls standing in the middle physically you have to manoeuvre yourself under the sink to actually sit on the toilet! saying that though the room and bedding was all clean but it was a very basic room. the sleep was disturbed all night as you are right outside the busy Kings Cross junction with fast food outlets and sirens coming past seemingly every hour on the hour! we ventured downstairs to a small dining area which filled up quite quickly where we had a surprisingly decent breakfast served buffet style which seemed to be freshly cooked and replenished very quickly, I did notice the staff seemed a little short with some of the customers when asked direct questions regarding the food or drink options however not with me. A good plus point is that we were allowed to leave our luggage at reception all day at no charge. overall a poor hotel in need of an facelift and redecorating which a little more customer care wouldn't go amiss as well.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Villa1874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    69
    100
    57
    79
See reviews for
86
77
47
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

Hi and hi to those who write so many complaints about this hotel, I gather you never spoke to the staff reference the issues, because I have always found them very friendly and approachable and ready to assist if they can. I once again had a single room, very clean over looking the main roads in Kings Cross and I do not have any complaints. The hotel was good value for money with as much breakfast as one wishes for or requested in the morning. I sure will paying another visit in the New year.
Cheers to all the staff for their hard work.

Room Tip: Its a hotel that listens to its customers and is value for money. Its not a 5 star so if you wish fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank djw1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
416 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

This hotel is located directly over the road from London Kings' Cross main entrance, making it an ideal place for accessing the Tube. It is a small hotel, but we were allocated a room in the Annex building, futher down the street at No. 6. As a result, we were further away from the main road and had a very quiet night (we had to sleep with our window open as we were there during the recent heatwave and there was no a/c in the room and we slept soundly without any outside noise). Room was basic, but recently decorated with new furniture and wooden flooring. Shower-room small but fully functional (without toiletries though). The breakfast room in the main hotel is down stairs, with limited seating so don't leave it too late for breakfast. Limited range of cereal and cooked breakfast, but filling. Receptionist(s) very helpful and ability to leave luggage helpful.
Overall at £95 a night for this hotel, it was value for money rather than a bargain. If you want luxury fittings or facilities, then go for a chain hotel.

Room Tip: First floor room in the Annex away from busy main road and quieter. No lift in Annex, which goes fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandra and Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tralee, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

We have been in this hotel from 28/06/2013 to 02/07/2013. We arrived at the hotel and the first rooms we were offered were in a nearby building. They pretended to put my 72 years old mother and my two daughters in a dungeon, two flights down a very narrow and dangerous stairs. I doubt very much if they comply with Health and Safety regulations in this nearby building! They offered then two very basic rooms in the hotel building. Very basic as in hostel basic, I have been in better hostels than this hotel. The rooms are very noisy, it is like sleeping on the street. The breakfast is terrible, burned disecated sausages, salty bacon, greasy eggs, and a very slow service. If you arrive 15 minutes before the breakfast ends you are told that you are late and that they won't provide any more items than the ones left on the breakfast table! The last day we opted for a breakfast in the nearby Starbucks as we have had enough. The price for all this disconfort? 840 pounds sterling. You are better off finding another hotel! Never ever again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TamaraSU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

I paid 150 pounds for a single room with an ensuite on saturday night. The room was tiny and the bathroom smelt. Rates for the room on websites said 75 pounds for what I got, so I was really disappointed to have paid so much for such simple accomodation. London is expensive, but this was just a bit too ridiculous. When I enquired about the payment and thought maybe I'd been charged two nights, I was simply told it was a busy weekend. I wont be staying here again nor will I recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Choose elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fiona b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

Don't know where to really start, this is a very poor place, shouldn't be called a hotel at first place.
List of problems follows:
- Very poor rooms, looks like a boarding school for the needy, not a hotel
- Tiny Beds with wheels - you end up moving around when changing sides
- Shabby, very cheap furniture that is full of cracks and dents
- The section I stayed had no elevator, only a tiny staircase, that you reach through a maize of dark corridors with steps so be extra cautious if you are senior or carry a luggage
- Noisy, rooms are over a betting house, with people drinking and shouting till late at night
- Doors are made of cheap plywood without any lacquer, enforcing the sense of cheap
- No toiletries - I even had to ask the reception for some soap, as there was none in the lavatory

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vangelis T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

Clean, value for money. Clean, value for money. Clean, value for money. Clean, value for money. Clean, value for money. Clean, value for money. Clean, value for money. Clean, value for money. Clean, value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Crestfield Hotel
Crestfield Hotel
#536 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
Bloomsbury
Kings Cross Inn Hotel
Kings Cross Inn Hotel
#871 of 1,089 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
Bloomsbury
Howard Winchester Hotel
Howard Winchester Hotel
#736 of 1,089 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Albion House Hotel
Albion House Hotel
#955 of 1,089 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Bloomsbury
Wardonia Hotel
Wardonia Hotel
#515 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 928 reviews
Bloomsbury
Hotel Melville
Hotel Melville
#742 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to London Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about London Carlton Hotel

Property: London Carlton Hotel
Address: 1A Birkenhead Street, London WC1H 8BA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #917 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — London Carlton Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your London Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
London Carlton Hotel England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing