We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden Thai jewel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Strand Cafe

Strand Cafe
Ranked #2,513 of 22,376 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: This place was previously a workmen's cafe but was taken over earlier this year. It now does a range of food during the day but, from 5pm, offers exclusively Thai cuisine. And very good it is. Pleasant room. No licence - BYO wine with corkage @ £3 per bottle.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Hidden Thai jewel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

We followed the advice from friends and visited the Strand cafe last Friday.
The place is just great. The four of us shared 4 main courses and 2 deserts.
For main course we had the beef salad; the soft shell crab salad; the pork and cashew nuts; and the shrimp dish. For desert we had the Thai pancake with vanilla ice cream.
The food was delicious; service was very friendly and efficient; and the whole atmosphere was great! I am so happy that we have a nice Thai restaurant in the neighbourhood.
The décor is not the strong point, as it is totally unrelated to what one would expect in a Thai place. But the whole experience was very good.
Price was ok, some £50 excluding wine (we brought our own wine). By the way, they kindly let you bring your own wine in the evenings.
I shall return!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dahoui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    21
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, tasty food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

This a great neighbourhood cafe. I have tried both the sandwiches and the Thai food. Both are delicious and the Thai food is served piping hot. The staff are always friendly and welcoming. They have a small outside seating area great for when we get some sun. It is worth visiting if you are in the area perhaps on a river walk or on the way to kew Gardens and is much better value than eating in the gardens.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellingborough, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Lovely food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

Pop into the Srand Cafe and enjoy a jacket potato and some of their delicious soup. I found this cafe delightful.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mark Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
222 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Great Thai in the evenings, and a Great English Breakfast in the Morning”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

Such a small and friendly independent cafe. The Thai food in the evenings is delicious, with generous portions served by friendly and welcoming staff. Morning fare is a good selection of breakfasts, from a full english to a healtly option. They also offer a light lunchtime menu. Prices are extremely reasonable and they serve fantastic strong coffee. The cafe is situated a stones throw from Kew Bridge mainline station, so if you are visiting Kew Gardens and walking over the bridge, this is a good place to stop for something to eat.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CareySJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Strand Cafe aka 'Hello Darlings'”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

We, as locals are very lucky to have such a great little BYO cafe on our doorstep. Thai is great in the evenings and a huge choice of Middle Eastern, good old English fry ups for brekkie or just coffee and cake in the day. Staff are extremely friendly esp Jose the owner. I def recommend making an effort to try even if you don't live in the W4 area.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LOpie_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Strand Cafe also viewed

Brentford, Greater London
Brentford, Greater London
 
Brentford, Greater London
 

Been to Strand Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing