We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the Effort”

Baileys Fish and Chips
Ranked #55 of 22,511 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $11
Cuisines: Seafood, Fast Food, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Hammersmith / Fulham
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worth the Effort”
Reviewed June 19, 2014

I took my 18 year old grandson to London, not realizing that the greatest expense of the trip would be keeping him fed in a city with astronomical food prices. Luckily, I had done my homework onTrip Advisor and stumbled onto Bailey's Fish & Chips while looking for London eateries. We took the tube to Fulham Broadway one night and walked about ten minutes into a residential area before finding our destination. Everything everyone else has said about Bailey's...ditto. Lovely people, delicious fish. It's really a hole in the wall but very clean. My picky teenager was blown away, very satisfied with the enormous portions and loved it so much we had to go back again before we flew home. And the price was right in my budget.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Judie Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,409 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,045
    291
    51
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Worth the trip”
Reviewed June 18, 2014

I wasn't all that keen to travel all the way out to Bailey's from Victoria Station. It was my last full day in London and I was pretty beat up from 10 days of walking around London and through many of its museums and stores. I made myself go as eating there had been on my itinerary for almost 10 months after reading the raves about it in TA.

Yes, it's a ways out, Victoria Line to the District Line that goes to Wimbledon (saves a transfer at Earl's Court), off at Fulham Broadway (which looks to be a nice shopping complex), then a 10-15 minute slightly tricky walk westward to the shop (it helped that I had made the walk virtually several times using Google Maps street view).

I got there around 2 PM and was greeted warmly by the couple that own the very small place. I was very quickly seated with a bottle of Rose Lemonade while I waited for my Cod and chips.

When the dish arrived (it took longer than expected but perfection is not to be rushed) I was surprised at how large the fish was and by the amount of surrounding chips. A bottle of Heinz catsup sat nearby, too! The food was excellent, fresh and crispy (even the chips).

I didn't think I could finish it all but I took my time while watching the goings-on at the bus stop situated right in front of the shop (school had let out and students streamed into the shop for an order of chips before catching the bus home). It made for a satisfying time along with the 50-60's old tyme rock & roll that played on the sound system.

I waddled back to the tube station (along the way visiting a Whole Foods store near the Fulham Broadway center that's larger than the Whole Foods near Piccadilly Circus) and rode back to my vacation apartment with a silly grin on my face - a sign of an excellen meal.

In writing this review TA asks if this is one of the best meals you've ever had in a restaurant. I checked yes but it needs to be qualified. Of F&C (chippy) restaurants, a definite yes. Of all restaurants in the world that I've eaten, no, of course not. But, any restaurant that I will return to if possible, and recommend wholeheartedly to friends and strangers alike, qualifies for a 'yes' to the TA question.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank DDinAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Good!”
Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

Went with a friend. We reserved a table as my friend booked being from Italy. On arrival we where nicely greeted and found that very welcome.
Food was very good and well priced.

Helpful?
1 Thank DJ-it-nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good food, GREAT people”
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Bailey's had a wonderful family atmosphere with a genuinely caring staff, huge portions, and great value!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emily F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Nice Food and Staff”
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Although it is a bit far from the underground, the food and staff are really good. Chips is about £1.6 and cod is about £5.6. The cod is really big which makes me and my gf very full

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EricNgai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baileys Fish and Chips also viewed

 

Been to Baileys Fish and Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing