We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thoroughly enjoyed each time I have been!”
Review of Tziganos

Tziganos
Ranked #3,497 of 22,516 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $33
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The name Tziganos translates to "wandering gypsy", which reflects the theme of our restaurant. Like the wandering Tzigano, our menu consists of a wide range of dishes from all corners of the Mediterranean including, tapas, homemade pizzas and a selection of fresh fish and meat from our handmade charcoal grill. We pride ourselves on the quality of our dishes and the highest quality of service around. You can book a table with us and be safe in the knowledge that your meal will meet and exceed your expectations. Come and try any of our chefs specialities or beautifully prepared traditional, Mediterranean favourites and you will not be disappointed. Kick back and unwind with one of our hand-crafted cocktails or carefully chosen wines and let us guide you through the sensational flavors of the Mediterranean.
London
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Thoroughly enjoyed each time I have been!”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

I have lived in Blackheath for about 7 years now and have to say that although there are a lot of restaurants it has become a bit samey and Tziganos has brought a welcome breath of fresh air.

Service was friendly and personal without being too in your face and the food was great.

Last time I went, a week or so ago, I ordered a few little tapas dishes to start, which were fantastic, and then treated myself to a big steak which again was right on the money.

Great atmosphere inside and certainly helps you to forget the rain outside and makes you feel like you are in a bar on the continent!!!

Couldn't recommend highly enough...

Also worth mentioning that the girl behind the bar makes a mean cocktail - especially the Caiprinha!!!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    55
    11
    5
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Small and cozy”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We had early dinner at tziganos on a Saturday and though it was quiet when we arrived, it got lively by the time we departed. Food was fresh and tasty and I really enjoyed the seabass on the bone! (yes, on the bone because it retains the moisture and taste). We will definetely return for more.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank Mletkay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“superb birthday treat”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

last saturday we booked a table for 6 to celebrate a friends birthday . we had a table full of tapas a couple of bottles of very nice red wine the girls had cocktails made to order and bottled beer from mexico and estonia for the boys . service very good .food excellent .lovely ambiance and a few tunes from the local band that tours blackheaths restaurants made for a brilliant evening . we will be returning for more of the same .

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dave g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Best restaurant in the village!!”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

my husband and I live in blackheath village and this new restaurant is absolutely fantastic. I never can be bothered writing reviews but feel this place is very deserving of it. The selection of tapas is amazing and they taste absolutely delicious! We also had the fillet steak one time and it was perfect. The service is fantastic and they go out of their way to explain things and they are generally just really friendly staff. I would honestly reccommend this place to anyone, enjoy!! :)

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mrs L L D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great little place with excellent food and friendly owner.”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We've just come back from a lovely lunch at Tziganos. The vegetariana pizza was awesome and the crunchy cougettes and bruschetta were very good. The beer was cold and the wine was nice. We had nice desserts and very good coffee. Salvo was very friendly and nice to our eight month old daughter. The abience is also very good. Previously we've had dinner here excellent steak and risotto. A very nice little restaurant for mediterranian food ranging from tapas and steak to pasta, risotto and pizza.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JimiChan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tziganos also viewed

 

Been to Tziganos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing