We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”
Review of Meat People

Meat People
Ranked #503 of 22,511 Restaurants in London
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Neighborhood restaurant specializing in quality meats next to Islington Green. Offering a new lunch menu between 12-4pm Monday to Friday and Brunch from 10am to 4pm to Saturday & Sunday. We also serve a wide selection of teas & coffees and hand-made cakes, cocktails and organic wines. On Fridays and Saturdays we stop serving food at 12am but continue to serve drinks until 12:30.
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Came here with family because we had a living social voucher. Was so impressed with the friendly, helpful staff, the excellent steak (I had the onglet steak and dauphinoise potatoes, with zebra for starters, both absolutely perfect - so flavourful) and great wine. I wasn't sure how the former S&M cafe would translate to a restaurant but they really have made this place look great. Will definitely be returning.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    224
    102
    27
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
106 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Tasty good value meal”
Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

Recomnended by a friend we had a really nice meal here some people had steaks which all looked good- I had the beef stroganoff which was great homely comfort food- service was good it was busy so felt a little packed in but would definitely go back. Reasonable prices for London good quality steaks for £16

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank missmorven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Lovely food, disappointing service”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Short, well thought out menu, delicious steak, perfect chips, shame about the insipid and inept waitress

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Will be back!”
Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

Had a lovely early evening meal here on Monday evening. Didn't try the starters although they looked interesting and will definitely do so next time. Rib Eye steak was cooked to perfection, as were the fries. Really fancied cheese afterwards and enjoyed three well chosen cheeses - maybe a little bit pricey at £8.50? Delicious red wine which they sell by the 50cl carafe. Overall a good meal and will return again.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacquiey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Tasty steak”
Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Went there on the back of a Groupon deal, and neither my wife or I were disappointed.

We had the octopus starter to share and I can't say I was disappointed, meaty and succulent. This was followed up with our steaks, fries, mushrooms and green beans, all of which were cooked to perfection. I opted for the red wine (didn't ask it's provenance) but it went ideal with the food.

The service was ok, there was only one waiter who was attentive but had a large party to deal with. Cost wise was fine, the extras all add up though.

Will we return? A resounding yes.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank UK_AndyL_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Meat People also viewed

 

Been to Meat People? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing