We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great steak, a little pricey”

The Bull Steak Expert
Reserve with OpenTable
The Bull Steak Expert is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #206 of 22,827 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $52
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Holborn
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great steak, a little pricey”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We visited here for my boyfriend's birthday on reading previous reviews.

The restaurant is on a little side street in Holborn. The restaurant was a little smaller than expected, and when we arrived on a Saturday night was fairly empty. It got busier later on.

The waiters and waitresses were extremely friendly and attentive. Perfect service.

We went for the chroizo platter to start. This was good but I felt didn't offer either the quantity or the quality expected for the price paid. It was a mixture of a good quality sausage, some chorizo sausage and black pudding type sausage. It came with a chimi churri sauce.

To follow we both had steak - fabulous quality, well seasoned. A little over cooked for what I asked for but extremely tender and full of flavour. The pepper sauce was a little too liquidy but had a good solid taste. The roasted vegetables were to die for and the chips were delicious.

However you pay for the steak, sides and sauce separately, this meant the steaks themselves cost between £30-40 each which was much more pricey than I am used to paying.

As I had told the staff it was my boyfriend's birthday they gave us a lovely window seat and a little desert for my boyfriend with a handwritten message and a candle - AMAZING and what a surprise!

The restaurant was great, but I'm just not used to paying these prices. If you have the money - go for it!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicola123Somerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    376
    142
    38
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“An excellent dining experience”
Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

Visited the restaurant on business with three colleagues, and what a find it was. Mid week the restaurant was quiet, but the quality of the steaks and the attentiveness of the staff was superb. Will definitely be back.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alistair M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent Food & Service”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We visited this restaurant on 13th July to celebrate a friend’s birthday, there were eight in our party (four couples) which can be a problem to some restaurants, not for The Bull Steak Expert. The service was excellent nothing was too much trouble and all of the staff were very friendly and helpful. Unusual for a mixed party but we all had steaks for our main courses, all different, all came at the same time and every steak was cooked to perfection and as ordered, mine certainly was as good as I have ever had and far better than most.
I have only one negative point and that is that this restaurant was not easy to find as Google maps positions it incorrectly and we built up an appetite walking around a few block before reverting to the address.
Thanks to the Bull Steak Expert we had a great evening and birthday celebration.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nbpetmeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Maybe the best steaks in London”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Not a fancy place but the meat and the wine are perfect. We tried many different steak houses in London including all the famous restaurants ,but here we became regulars because of he high quality of the meat and the wine

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AndyZRH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
Level 6 Contributor
244 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Look no further for steak”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Another business meal back in London. Group of 4 of us, pre-reserved table (it was getting quite busy later on) through Top Table and had one of the best meals in recent time.
Waitress was very knowledgeable about not just the menu but Argentina and we went with her recommendations on wine, sides and volumes.

Without the poncy frills of Hawksmoor (and you can get into this restaurant) it has only been open 18 months and to be honest, my customer and I walked past the restaurant before finding it. It is so unimposing from the outside.

The Salmon starter was unique and of course the main was cooked perfectly with wine to compliment.

Anything I write will not do it justice. But it is well worth the trip for every reason.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WatfordPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bull Steak Expert also viewed

 

Been to The Bull Steak Expert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing