We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look no further for steak”

The Bull Steak Expert
Reserve with OpenTable
The Bull Steak Expert is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #152 of 22,675 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $51
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Holborn
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
236 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Look no further for steak”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Another business meal back in London. Group of 4 of us, pre-reserved table (it was getting quite busy later on) through Top Table and had one of the best meals in recent time.
Waitress was very knowledgeable about not just the menu but Argentina and we went with her recommendations on wine, sides and volumes.

Without the poncy frills of Hawksmoor (and you can get into this restaurant) it has only been open 18 months and to be honest, my customer and I walked past the restaurant before finding it. It is so unimposing from the outside.

The Salmon starter was unique and of course the main was cooked perfectly with wine to compliment.

Anything I write will not do it justice. But it is well worth the trip for every reason.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WatfordPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    372
    140
    37
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
46 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Would highly recommend”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

This is a really great little Argentine steak restaurant. The pre-dinner provoleta and chorizos were great. The wine was great. The steak (and we all had different cuts) was perfectly cooked and seasoned. For dessert, the panqueques with dulce de leche was fantastic. Very straightforward, but extremely well done. Definitely worth visiting, and I plan on going back next time I get the chance.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dtaylor197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“If you love steak and Malbec - don't go anywhere else!!!”
Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

Well What can I say - I spent way too much money at the Bull but boy do they deserve it! What a find. Definately 2 of the best steaks I have had and the bottle of Malbec I got recommended too was wonderful. Our Brazilian waitress was lovely, very knowledgable, helpful and had a great sense of humour which made for a wonderful evening.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marc G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
80 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“They truly are experts”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Nice little restaurant on a quiet street in the centre. The meat is simply fantastic and superbly cooked - they also have a choice of raw meat with a great tartare. Starters were a bit average compared to the rest but you certainly don't walk out dissatisfied and you would want to get back when you are in the area.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Molosso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Good steak at reasonable prices”
Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

I came here with 4 friends and we had a selection of the 4 best cuts to share plus starters and desserts. Service was attentive and very knowledgeable. Recommendations were great. The steaks tasted good and were cooked just right. I particularly enjoyed the ones that had been marinated.

The only slight let downs were the starters and desserts which were a bit simple and average. However this is a steak restaurants and the steaks will not let you down.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MarioPizza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bull Steak Expert also viewed

 

Been to The Bull Steak Expert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing