We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden secret of clapham” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mongolian Grill & Hot Pot - CLOSED

Mongolian Grill & Hot Pot
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Barbecue, Asian, Mongolian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Hidden secret of clapham”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

I absolutely enjoyed Mongolian Grill and Hotpot - the concept is great, big choice of food and a very good service. It is not that easy to get to the place from Clapham Junction - you definetely need to take a bus, but it is really worth it.
And it is really necessary to book a place in advance - the changes to have a table without the booking are close to zero.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Irina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    22
    4
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cheap and Delicious”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

Your typical asian style hot pot and grill. We have been back twice now, and have never been dissapointed! Food is well presented, fresh and replenished immediately, so you never really run low on anything. If it is your first time, I definitely recommend asking one of the waiters for a demonstration, as they also showed us the best combinations of sauces etc to accompany the meal.

It is an absolute bargain for only 12 quid all you can eat, and for only 2 quid more, I really recommend getting the all you can eat hot pot and grill. Utterly delicious! I have seen some reviews on this place in time out saying that the food is bad, and service is terrible, this is absolutely not true, the food is fresh, plentiful, and the best part is that service is immediate and you cook to your liking! (if you dont like tripe - dont eat the tripe!! there is so much variety, the lean beef is my favourite). In terms of the service, it gets extremely busy in there, so it can take a little bit more time to get a beer/water etc. but it is in no way notably poor.

Time limit wise, there is a max of 2 hours, but we have never managed to still be eating around this time as you simply get too full! I would absolutely recommend for a cheap night out :) make sure you book early to avoid dissapointment as this place is ALWAYS busy.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ryles1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great stuff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

I cant believe only 4 people have reviewed this place. IT IS AMAZING!!!!!

Having looked for something different, this place appealed to me, as you have the chance to cook up your own food. With a choice of a hotpot (broth) or bbq hot plate, you can cook up your own creations. We went for the bbq plate and was not disappointed. With a decent selection of meats, seafood and veg, you are guaranteed to leave with a satisfied tummy :-D

I would have given 5 stars, but have given 4 as your clothes will smell like bbq when you leave. Just a little heads up if you are off out after your meal. ENJOY

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank alexstrums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A great down to earth place to experience Chinese Hot Pot without breaking your bank!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

I found this restaurant when walking pass the neighbourhood one evening in Oct 2012 and thought giving it a try!

I went back at least once a month since then. This restaurant is good and definitely good value!
The choices are plenty and enough, of course in China, everyone has their own favourite items to cook in the hotpot, but come on, they offer fish, prawns, squids, beef, chicken, lamb and pork plus many of other veg and tofu ingredients etc in their selections and charging less than £13pp.... what do people expect?????

Food quality is also good and my friends and myself all very happy with it... Service is good (far better than most of other Chinese restaurants in China town anyway).

As a person who dine out 4-5 nights a week in different budget restaurants, I think this is a real bargain and we should all support a non-chain restaurant like this. I will definitely go back again in this long boring winter and if you never try hotpot before, prepare to have an open-mind and give them a chance!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gadgetvillage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

Visited the mongolian bbq last night and really enjoyed it!
Have been to two mongolian bbq's before in manchester and glasgow, which are different style as you take your fresh food to a chef who cooks it infront of you with sticks.
The mongolian bbq at clapham has the grill on your table! You collect all your fresh meat,fish and veg and cook it yourself on your table DIY style, fantastic experience an qould highly recommend it!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Thomasp1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mongolian Grill & Hot Pot also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing