We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous Indian Food !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Anjanaas

Anjanaas
Ranked #1,038 of 22,204 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fabulous Indian Food !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

I have eaten at Anjanaas many times. It is an unsung gem in the backstreets of Kilburn. The best Indian food I have eaten outside India ! Freshly made and delicious, both meat and vegetarian dishes. Not expensive and well worth a visit. Unlimited free parking outside after 6.30 !

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank barbarasusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    20
    2
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Our favourite Indian restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

Anjanaas is a pearl of a restaurant.

There's a South Indian bias to the menu but many of the curry house favourites are there too. We've been coming here for years, both under the current chef/owner and under its former guise as Geeta.

A recent introduction of daily specials has been introduced (tonight we enjoyed chilli bhaji and clam fry) but we also love the lamb ularthiyathu and various veg dishes. Everything tastes so fresh and delicately spiced setting this restaurant apart from much of the local competition.

The service is very friendly without being intrusive and the decor no-nonsense. It's great for visiting with friends and is excellent value. We consider having this place within easy reach as being one of the rare advantages of living in this area.

Excellent!


Helpful?
2 Thank domino_thumper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Consistently excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

We've been going here for years - from when it was called Geeta. It's now as good as it ever was.
Particular favourites include the masala dosa, all the dahls, the malabar prawn and the aloo paratha - freshly made whole wheat bread stuffed with potato and spices. Sometimes they have chili bhaji as a starter - a large (quite mild) green chili stuffed with spiced potato and fried in a thin batter - divine. There's plenty for both meat-eaters and vegetarians, and lots of dishes are dairy-free. The service is always good, the staff friendly. It's also very reasonably priced.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank teddy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mr.b”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

Wow!!! Excellent food in Uk. We had an trip to kerala(south india). It was amazing trip. Very lovely and food as well. The same taste remains in the Anjanaas. Excellent food preparations.Thank you Anjanaas..

Helpful?
1 Thank bijoseph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great curry and the best Dosas outside India!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

I've been going here for years - it used to be called Geetas and was fabulous then. Now it's become Anjanaas and if anything it's even better. The presentation of the food has improved and its just as tasty and cheap as ever.

Highlight is the masala dosa - a perfect thin crispy savoury pancake filled with slightly spicy potato filling. Delicious and at just £4 with accompaniments it could make a cheap light meal in itself. Or have one to share as a starter and try the delicious main courses. I'm vegetarian - lots of choice for me. But it also serves meat and fish.

The decor may be plain - but the food is the tastiest and its amazing value - you'll struggle to eat more than £10 of food.

Highly recommended.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nathan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anjanaas also viewed

London, England
 

Been to Anjanaas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing