We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location - nothing more”
Review of Arlington House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Arlington House
Ranked #41 of 923 Specialty Lodging in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 17, 2012

This is a prime location within a distance walk from many attractions and most significant from Green Park tube station. However, the 2 bedrooms apartment we have stayed in was very poorly maintained. The heat didn't work in the leaving room (in the winter!!) and worked partly in one of the bedrooms. Tne audio system didnt work and some of the water taps were out of order as well. One of the bathrooms was not cleaned and the housekeeping did not take care of that on our 4 days stay. There was a strong smell of fish stew in the corridor leading to the flat.
Bottom line - not a good value for money deal. Take only if location is of most importance to you.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank shmulikreu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington H, General Manager at Arlington House, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Dear Shmulikreu

Thank you for your comments relating to your stay at Arlington House in December last year. Firstly I would like to extend my apologies to you and your family as it would appear that the accommodations provided did not meet with your expectations.

I know some time has elapsed since your stay but nevertheless I am dissappointed to read about your experience and I am sure it did,nt enhance your stay here or your enjoyment in London.

We strive to provide clean and functional apartments and to ensure all our guests comfort and well being. On this occassin we failed and I am extremely sorry for this. I will share your comments with my Housekeeping team so they may be aware of these shortcomings and we can work together to make sure it does,nt happen again.

It would be nice to think that you may want to give us another opportunity if you return to London again in the future.

Kind regards

Liam Ryan
GENERAL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (170)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

135 - 141 of 170 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed in a studio apartment for three nights. The property is ideally located for theatres, galleries, shops, and restaurants. Trafalgar Square, Buckingham Palace, Knightsbridge, Oxford Street, and all central London points of interest are within easy walking distance.

The studio was well furnished, very clean, and the kitchen was surprisingly well equipped. An apartment with a separate bedroom is recommended for a longer stay but the studio was perfectly satisfactory for a long weekend. Kitchen cleaning and washing up materials are provided but you'll need to bring your own shampoo etc as only soap tablets are supplied in the bathroom. The apartment was serviced every day.

Don't expect hotel facilities; for example, there isn't a restaurant or a gym, but with Piccadilly and Green Park on the doorstep there's plenty of scope for eating and exercise. Reception staff were helpful and welcoming; check in and check out took only a couple of minutes.

Some contributors have commented on the level of street noise - what a surprise in the centre of London! It's no worse than many city hotels and better than a lot. If you are particularly sensitive you should bring ear plugs - but I would make that recommendation for a stay in any hotel.

Overall, a pleasing experience and excellent value for money in such a central location.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank B P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

I stayed in a studio apartment for three nights earlier this month by myself. The location was excellent for what I needed (meetings in Burlington House). The apartment was clean and tidy and looked like it had been refurbished recently. I found some facilities cumbersome (e.g. one tap worked clockwise, one anticlockwise, one by pulling, another by pushing) or poorly explained (e.g. no TV guide, too many scrambled or redundant channels). The apartment felt a bit lifeless, with plain white walls and no pictures or features, but my biggest gripe was with the street noise. Although fitted with dg windows, I could not believe the noise in the small hours from rich boy racers tearing down Picadilly, shouting, sirens, car horns... Needless to say, I didn't get much sleep and ended up exhausted on my return home.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cooneycooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Excellelent location, 3min from the Palace, next to Ritz. Many restaurants, shops and big brends such as Dolce & Gabbana are located around the house. A flat was clean jt was cleaned everyday except weekend, it had everything to cook, except microwave. The flat didnt have shampoo and some basic stuff such as hair dryer.
Extra bed costs 45 pounds per day that doesnt include extra towels.
A Supermarket is about 4 min walk.
It is very quiet in the flat, noise from the streets cannot be heard.
Generally, it is not 5 star, it is a good 4 star house.

Room Tip: If you are 3 people you can just book 1 bed apartment and take extra bed. You can save 155 pounds pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eleke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

My family and I stayed in Arlington House, Mayfair (SW1A 1RL) in London for 1 week.
It was really disapointing as it was an old building without any well-maintained facilities. The room was not clean enough and most importantly, the noise and smell of cooked food from other rooms were not blocked at all. The staffs were not able to speak fluent English to communicate and they were not kind. Only advantage about this accomodation is that it is in a good location for tourists and has a well-functioning shower.

The most terrible thing was that the safety box was not working on the day of check-in, and my jewellery (3 sets of earings) were lost in the apartment.
Be careful with your possession, and beware especially when your safety box does not work!!
It was a waste of lots of money.

Room Tip: Just don't choose this accommodation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank WHSeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Stayed here 4 days. The place is close to the famous Oxford Street and New Bond Street, its within walking distance. It is also within walking distance to the Buckingham Palace, St James Park and the Trafalgar Square. Its the best location in London and I dont have any regrets whatsoever stayed at this apartment. The guy at the reception was very helpful and friendly. The room was small but enough for me. Kitchen was small but functional with all the necessary appliances and utensils. I cooked most of the time. I got my groceries from a store within one block from the apartment.

I will definitely stay at this apartment again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yusoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2012

We stayed 4 days at this hotel. The location of the hotel was excellent and exactly where we wished to be in London. We were able to walk to the West End, and there were lots of coffee shops, restaurants and pubs close by. It was also very handy to an M&S grocery store.

The only problem we encountered was that there was no one present to check us in when we arrived at about 7pm. There was no sign or notice at the reception desk which told us how the hotel staff could be contacted if the desk was unattended. This should be remedied ASAP - there should be a sign or notice advising how to contact hotel staff if the desk is unattended. We waited about 15mins and eventually used the telephone at the desk to dial a button marked "office". We talked to someone who then came down and attended to us. There were a family ahead of us who had been waiting 10 to 15mins before we arrived.

Overall, however, we had a pleasant stay. The room was small but comfortable and the price was excellent given the location.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CSD65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
St. James's
St. James's Hotel and Club
St. James's Hotel and Club
#83 of 1,077 in London
852 reviews
Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
#123 of 1,077 in London
1,858 reviews
Knightsbridge
Cheval Knightsbridge
Cheval Knightsbridge
#33 of 923 in London
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
9 Hertford Street
9 Hertford Street
#40 of 923 in London
129 reviews
City of London
SACO - The Cannon
SACO - The Cannon
#3 of 923 in London
166 reviews
City of London
Cheval Three Quays
Cheval Three Quays
#1 of 923 in London
2,255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arlington House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arlington House

Address: Flat 20 Arlington House Arlington Street, London SW1A 1RL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 923 Specialty Lodging in London
Price Range: $239 - $447 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Arlington House 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arlington House Apartments St James's offers a range of Luxury Serviced Apartments in central London. The apartments are designed to provide you with a "home from Home" experience with fully equipped kitchens with Miele appliances, a comfortable spacious lounge to relax and unwind, surround sound music system, wide range of Television channels and individually controlled air condition.Most are designed in a contemporary modern style but also a selection of apartments have a more traditional feel. Many of our apartments overlook our beautiful tranquil garden with a fountain and some also have a direct view into Green Park.Located in Arlington Street just off Piccadilly Arlington House offers an ideal base whether you are here for business or leisure. Green Park Tube station is only 5 minutes' walk away with the Piccadilly, Jubilee and Victoria line services most major destinations. Car Parking is available underneath the property but is chargeable and there is a taxi rank located just outside the property on Arlington Street.Whether you are travelling on business or leisure Arlington House Apartments can offer you an exclusive and convenient base for your stay. A few reasons to make this your first choice is our location in Arlington Street St James's next door to the legendary Ritz Hotel , wide variety of Apartments from Studios to Three Bedrooms make it an ideal choice when travelling with family or friends. Space, comfort, and some wonderful views Arlington House is the ideal location whether it's just for a weekend, a week or even a year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Arlington House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arlington House London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing