We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good beers , very busy pub” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Marquis of Granby

The Marquis of Granby
Ranked #3,300 of 22,204 Restaurants in London
Price range: $5 - $19
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Westminster
Description: You will find The Marquis of Granby in Westminster London within a short stroll of Millbank, Horseferry Road and Marsham Street - however you won't find another like it.Step in to discover a traditional pub of unique character, revered for its eclectic range of real ales and its quality pub food, which are served, as they should be, with a generous measure of famous British hospitality.The Marquis of Granby is one of many rare gems in the Nicholson's collection of great British pubs, reputed for their distinctive buildings, intriguing history and vibrant atmosphere.
Banstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,141 reviews
854 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 462 helpful votes
“Very good beers , very busy pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

Even on a Thursday, this area was very busy with a lively atmosphere. There are lots of restaurants in Charlotte Street around the corner and the whole area, Fitzrovia has lots of pubs, there are 5 with a few hundred yards of this one and more on Goodge Street just to the north, Oxford Street is just south. The beers are well kept and there is room to stand outside which is just as well as once the office crowd get in there after work its packed.

Helpful?
Thank LargelyMonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    66
    16
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hillsborough, NJ, USA
Level Contributor
56 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Enjoyed two evening meals here!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

I had read about this pub on the Internet and we happily ate here two evenings in a row. The waitress, Sandy, was so kind and friendly and we had a nice time talking with her. Unfortunately, both evenings they were out of the Beef Pie, but we enjoyed fish and chips one evening and Chicken Pies a second.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RealtorAtSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
130 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Warm atmosphere on a rainy night”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

Looking for a pub to eat in during a cool, rainy night recently, we happened upon The Marquis of Granby Pub in the Fitzrovia section. We were drawn to the pub because of its warm lighting and opening at the bar. We enjoyed our ale and cider, then had delicious food. The creamy tomato soup was thick with great spices- a great way to warm up. We then had typical pub food- sausage and mash. It is mashed potatoes with sausages and covered with a carmelized onion gravy. Too good. The bartender was friendly and we had good service.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jenniferwilliams7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhinebeck, New York
Level Contributor
113 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Quintessential London Pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

Located in an historic building, I believe the pub has operated for over 200 years. Full table service restaurant upstairs, and more bar/pub stand up downstairs. We were there on a Friday night so downstairs was jumping with after work crowd, spilling out into the street (partly because of smoking ban inside I think). The waitress Sandra was a doll and very engaging, told us a little history of the place: there is a tunnel from the basement direct to/from the houses of parliament, so the elite could sneak over for a round or two during the day.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dougiefresh_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Level Contributor
211 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Good pub in central london”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

Some friends and I were looking for a meeting place in central London and after some searching on the internet, we picked this pub. It has a good website. The pub is close to Tottenham Court Road tube station and in an area with many pubs and restaurants.

It is a typical London pub, with a good variety of draught beers and other drinks. It has a lot of windows that provide to the open atmosphere. We spent about and hour there before moving on to a restaurant. Although the pub does serve food, we were looking for more than pub fare.

I would recommend this place if you in the area, or looking for a centrally located place.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Noo12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Marquis of Granby also viewed

 

Been to The Marquis of Granby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing