We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“father/daughter vacation to London”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Oaks Guest House
Ranked #33 of 575 London B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Santorini, Greece
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“father/daughter vacation to London”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

We stayed in this little gem of a bed and breakfast for 2 nights this May. Anytime booking accommodation online can be a little unsettling, but rest assured this one will not disappoint!!
Our beds were very comfortable and the bathroom was clean and bright. We always left exploring London on a full stomach because of the fantastic breakfast that was served every morning. The "tube" was within 5-10 minutes of the B&B which took us to center London within the hour. The owners were always accommodating and very friendly.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    3
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
45
39
8
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
DFW, TEXAS
Level Contributor
76 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Oaks. Breda and Tony were able to accomodate us for the one night as we decided to fly into London a day early and our other B&B was not available for the first night. The Oaks is at the end of a Cul De Sac which made it very quiet. The room was very clean and roomy enough with its own bathroom, the breakfast was very good, a lot to choose from and I wish I had been able to eat the other crumpet Breda made for us but I was so full from breakfast. They were very helpful and friendly hosts. The trip from the airport to me was quite long but once you started your day into the City riding the tube did not take too long depending where you were getting off and it was a short walk from their house to the tube station.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbugdfw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
143 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

We will remember hosts for their generosity in giving us a ride to the train station with all of our baggage so early in the morning to make flight at Heathrow. A very comfortable and clean room with a great view from the third floor. Also, appreciated a delicious, early breakfast in order to get on the road.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LabsRock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

We have visited London a number of times and found our recent stay at The Oaks to be among the very best. As others have reported, Breda and Tony are excellent hosts and their rooms are bright, modern, comfortable and spotless. The house is at the end of a quiet street, an easy walk from the Southgate tube station.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 2, a double room which overlooks the front of the house. It was much roomier than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewiston, Idaho, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

My sister and I stayed in this lovely home for four days while sightseeing in London. My travel agent thought it was a bit far from the city, but we loved being in a quiet neighborhood where we could sleep with the windows open and awaken to birds singing. It took us just minutes to walk from the Southgate Underground Station to the Oaks. We appreciated the help from Breta and her family printing off maps, making arrangements for shows, and generally guiding us to various other sights. Our room was comfortable and the bathroom spacious, with morning light streaming in. We loved the fruit and various cereals for breakfast and especially the french press coffee. We had excellent accommodations but more than that we enjoyed our visit with the family.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Theresa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

I grew up a few minutes walk from The Oaks and found out about it on the Internet. Wow - what a find. Not only are Breda and Tony the nicest people, but their property is spotless, bright and airy, and one of the most comfortable beds I have slept in.

On my many trips back to London, I have stayed in some expensive hotels and none compare with the warmth and comfort of The Oaks. Plus, they make the best pot of tea!

The property is a convenient walk to train and buses and could not have been any better for me. I can't wait to go back with my family.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hmsusauk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

We first stayed at The Oaks guest house in August 2012 and having booked a course in April/May in London we knew that we could not stay anywhere else apart from the best guest house in London which we feel is The Oaks in Southgate. The course was in Hammersmith which is 50 minutes tube from Southgate but we did not mind this as we knew the service we would get at The Oaks was worth the traveling. Once again Tony and Breda were very accommodating as we had to have breakfast at 6.30am instead of the normal breakfast times which they informated us was not a problem. Having stayed in a number of their rooms now they are all of a high standard, clean with lots of room to move about. The whole guest house is very clean, lovely throughout and has a very very welcoming and warm feeling as soon as Tony and Breda answer the front door.

We have already booked to stay at this lovely guest house again in a couple of weeks and are planning another trip to London in November where we hoping that Tony and Breda can accommodate us again as we do not want to go anywhere else.

Once again a big thank you for a lovely stay and look forward to more visits to The Oaks in the future.

Thank you

Clair & Richard

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClairCrowther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Kandara Guest House
#27 of 575 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Hammersmith / Fulham
The Captain Cook
The Captain Cook
#31 of 575 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Drayton Court Hotel
#7 of 575 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
Croft Court Hotel
#78 of 575 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
East End / East London
The Lion & Key Hotel
The Lion & Key Hotel
#18 of 575 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oaks Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oaks Guest House

Property: The Oaks Guest House
Address: 76 Blagdens Lane | Southgate, London N14 6DD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 575 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oaks Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oaks is a family-run guest house located in Southgate, a quiet and tranquil suburb of north London and we are proud to offer our guests a peaceful, comfortable and luxurious stay for the time they are with us.Our eight guest rooms are beautifully decorated and each has an en-suite bathroom. All room prices include a continental breakfast, consisting of a wide selection of cereals, fruit juices, breads, teas and coffee, yoghurts, croissants and fresh fruit.We are ideally located for tourists and business travellers who want quick and hassle-free access to central London, local amenities and local and national road links as well as catering for longer-term contractors working in London for a specified period of time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your The Oaks Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oaks Guest House London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing