We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class Accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Oaks Guest House
Ranked #18 of 572 London B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We just returned from a 4 night stay at the Oaks Guest House and we would highly recommend it to anyone visiting London. It is located in a quiet neighbourhood and just a 5 minute walk from Southgate Station on the Piccadilly Line which will take you to the centre of London. The Picadilly Line is also a direct route to Heathrow. There are numerous restaurants in the area and also several supermarkets. It is a lovely B & B, the rooms are quite spacious and tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean. Excellent breakfasts consisting of an ample selection of cereals, fruit juices, breads, teas and coffee, yoghurts, croissants and fresh fruit. Breda and Esra were so friendly and pleasant we quite enjoyed our morning chats with them, we felt like part of the family. Thank you to Tony, Breda and Esra for making our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Spence2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (132)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 132 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2012

I take time out to write a review on this wonderful Guest House we've discovered in north London on the picadilly line into central London, which will from now on be our home away from home when in London. I am careful not to use the term B&B when I describe the place because it is so much more than a bed & breakfast! Lovely location, short walk &felt safe walking back from tube at night!
Arriving early in London we were able to drop off our luggage and shown our room, keys were handed over & useful information given, also able to leave bags on day of departure to be picked up in pm as we had an evening flight, these extra touches make travel so much easier The bottled water was very much appreciated when we returned at night along with selection of goodies! There was also a fridge , sink, mini kitchen really, outside our room ideal i'm sure for families with young kids.
Beds so comfortable, tv & free wifi brilliant! Breakfasts in the mornings were so enjoyable with Esra her friendliness , kindness & eagerness to please we so much appreciated ! Tony & Breda deserve top class ratings based on our experience!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rosie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We started looking on the web for somewhere to stay in London but because of the Olympic games we wanted to stay out of central London but on a main tube line so it would not take us that long to get into the centre. This is when we found this lovely Guest House, right from when we booked with them they were very helpful because on the day we arrived we could park our car at the oaks early in the morning, someone was there to meet us and we could take the keys stright away. The rooms were nice, clean, had every thing that you needed to make your stay homely and to a very high standard. We also liked the fact that they had put bottled water in the rooms as one of us was not a tea or coffee drinker.

Tony, Breda and Esra were incredibly helpful and nothing was too much of a problem. Loved the chats in the morning at breakfast which again made you feel very welcome.

we would have no problems in recommeding the Oaks Guest House as we have already told a number of friends and family about the place and look forward to using the guest house everytime we are in London.

Thank you once again Tony, Breda and Esra for making our three weekends lovely and comfortable.

From

Clair and Richard (Taunton, Somerset)

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ClairCrowther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

I chose this B&B because of the reviews here on tripadvisor.com and on its site. It's beautiful!
I went there with my son (who's a 3 year and a half old boy) and my husband, for 8 nights (from August 11 to August 19), and we had a great stay.
The owners are warm and welcoming, and we found in Esra - a lady who works there to help them - a very nice surprise. She made our breakfast times so lovely, and we really felt like she cared for us.
The rooms are really nice, they look lovely and are spacious and comfortable, all was clean and functional. We slept just fine, there were also books you could borrow, a nice tv with a dvd player, and free wifi, which was very important for us to work with at night. Its location was also great, so near to the Southgate Underground station on the Piccadilly line which leads you straight to the city centre. And the neighbourhood was lovely, there were many shops, restaurants, and supermarkets (also a big Asda one, which was open 24 hrs a day), and nice parks nearby.
I would no doubt recommend this B&B to anyone choosing to visit the beautiful London, I miss it already.
Thank you, Tony, Breda and Esra, we had a really great time with you, and we'll definitely book a room of yours when we happen to come to London again.

Elena, Luigi & Nemo

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RedEllieJean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Friends and I have stayed a weekend in The Oaks. We were in London for the Olympic Games and the Holland Heineken House. We had beautiful rooms and bathrooms (looks like a five star hotel room). The guest house is a few yards from the Southgate tube station on the Piccadilly line. Perfect located in a quiet blind alley. The people of the guest house were very warm and welcoming. We had a very wonderful time in The Oaks. I would recommend The Oaks to everyone who wants to stay in London. Thanks for everything.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marc V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

My daughter recommended I book the guest house for friends of mine coming over from Italy. Booking was easy, the accommodation was spotless and the stay was faultless.
Great value for money a stone's throw away from Southgate tube station on the Piccadilly line straight into the heart of London. The guest house is located in a quiet residential road and I would have absolutely no hesitation in recommending the guest house over and over again.
Well done and truly deserving of an award.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elena D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

I am delighted to have found this very comfortable guest house located in the beautiful leavy suburb of Southgate in North London. My room was spotless and beautifully decorated, and the patrons, Tony & Breda were very warm and welcoming. The guest house is only minutes from Southgate tube station on the piccadilly line, which takes you into central london in under half an hour. I would not hesitate to reccomend this accomodation for it's location, comfort and excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tinks186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Tulse Hill Hotel
#15 of 572 in London
283 reviews
Hammersmith / Fulham
The Captain Cook
The Captain Cook
#25 of 572 in London
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlotte Guest House
#17 of 572 in London
792 reviews
The Cleveland
#21 of 572 in London
625 reviews
Bloomsbury
Princess Hotel
Princess Hotel
#32 of 572 in London
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oaks Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oaks Guest House

Address: 76 Blagdens Lane | Southgate, London N14 6DD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 572 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range: $136 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oaks Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oaks is a family-run guest house located in Southgate, a quiet and tranquil suburb of north London and we are proud to offer our guests a peaceful, comfortable and luxurious stay for the time they are with us.Our eight guest rooms are beautifully decorated and each has an en-suite bathroom. All room prices include a continental breakfast, consisting of a wide selection of cereals, fruit juices, breads, teas and coffee, yoghurts, croissants and fresh fruit.We are ideally located for tourists and business travellers who want quick and hassle-free access to central London, local amenities and local and national road links as well as catering for longer-term contractors working in London for a specified period of time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Oaks Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oaks Guest House London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing