We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ketchup”
Review of San Marino

San Marino
Order Online
Ranked #192 of 1,668 Quick Bites in London
Price range: $5 - $12
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Real Italian coffee, freshly cooked pastas, filling panini sandwiches, sweet desserts... All served in the heart of Brixton. Gluten-free options available!
Reviewed July 9, 2019 via mobile

I like this place but there are a couple of things that I feel are unjust as the prices do reflect west end prices. The ketchup and condiments are of very low quality with very bad ingredients, you would expect to find this type of ketchup and condiments at a fairground attraction or on the side of a motorway, and the next thing is the amount of stamps that you have to collect before you receive your free coffee, a whooping 10 coffies mounting to £20 before your shown gratitude for you loyalty this place is busy and popular just ashame the gratitude wasn’t reflected more in the quality of its ingredients, served to its loyal customers and any passing trade

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank rubensX6228ZL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burak A, Guest Relations Manager at San Marino, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2019

Dear rubensX6228ZL,

Thank you for taking the time to write to us - we really appreciate your feedback and use it to keep improving in every way we can. We take your comments regarding condiments on board. We have always used Heinz bur recently switched to another brand which was recommended. We will be going back to Heinz in a week's time. Regarding our loyalty card, it is a little surprising to hear that the 10 stamps required are too many. As far as stamp cards go, 10 stamps is common practice in small businesses and big chains alike (Benugo, Nero, Coffee Republic) and we believe it doesn't show a place cares less for its loyal customers. Still we understand opinions and feelings may differ, but we hope you feel welcome and taken care of at San Marino when you do visit. Welcome back always,


Warm wishes,
San Marino Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (116)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 116 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2019

Had the best breakfast & coffee this morning

Excellent service the staff are very friendly and helpful, will definitely call again

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank leoneill2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burak A, Guest Relations Manager at San Marino, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2019

Dear leoneill2016,

Our staff is looking forward to serving you again! Thank you for sharing your kind words with us and putting a smile on our faces!

Best wishes,
San Marino Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2019

Whilst visiting Brixton, where we grew up, we stopped at this cafe for a light lunch. It was really, really good. The service was quick and efficient, the staff were all very friendly and the food was excellent with a superb choice. Very busy but we found a table outside and sat and watched the hustle and bustle of Brixton Road, reminiscing about times past. Highly recommended.

Date of visit: June 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Phil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burak A, Guest Relations Manager at San Marino, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2019

Dear Phil,

It is our great pleasure to host Brixtonites such as yourselves everyday! Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review! It’s wonderful to hear you enjoyed your experience!

Best wishes,
San Marino Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2019 via mobile

Phenomenal food and super friendly staff. 100% recommend for breakfast. I had the full English and feel very full and English

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank 107bobbyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burak Can A, Guest Relations Manager at San Marino, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2019

Dear Bobby,

The Full English is indeed a satisfying plate! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us! Our team is happy to hear you enjoyed your breakfast!

Best wishes,
San Marino Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2019 via mobile

The prices for the coffee gone up by 50 pence , this is ridiculous, they are learning the TFL way !!!

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank gunnerzeealda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burak Can A, Guest Relations Manager at San Marino, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2019

Dear gunnerzeealda,

Thank you for writing to us. We always appreciate feedback, however, on this occasion we certainly feel your criticism is unjust. We have not changed our pricing for over 4 years - which makes our prices not only friendly, but below market value currently. As ever, there is a 40p difference between eating/drinking in and taking away, as common to the majority of coffee shops. When people pay for a takeaway and remain to enjoy their order in the cafe, there isn't much we can do to stop them although they are not contributing with their custom to our serving staff. Perhaps the confusion was simply yourself paying the eat/drink in price which may have seemed like a higher than normal price?

Best wishes,
San Marino Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Marino also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to San Marino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing