We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food and friendly staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Il Gusto

Il Gusto
Ranked #6,518 of 22,204 Restaurants in London
Price range: $7 - $19
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food and friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

I popped in here for a quick lunch when I was waiting for a train from Paddington. I was looking for something a bit more authentic than the usual eateries inside the station and I found this just down the road. I ordered the pasta with spicy Italian sausage which came quickly. The portion was generous, it had good flavour and was plenty spicy enough! The staff were friendly and not at all pushy and I left satisfied. Would come again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mannyTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    70
    48
    35
    67
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A great restaurant and a great staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

We are a family and we kept coming back again and again during our stay in London. The staff is welcoming and very friendly. They are eager to answer your needs and that you will be happy and satisfied. we ate there pizzas, I recommend Amor Pizza with artichok, pepper, onion. My husband asked for pasta with creme, although not in a menu at all, they made him the exact dish he wanted with the specific type of pasta he chose. the desserts are wonderful. We highly recommend on this restaurant and the marvelous staff, especially Izahi Santana....

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank almoTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gelderland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“very mediocre food, Notting Hill prices”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

Went there with my wife. For the look of it, the terrace was lovely. Waiter was very pushy with drinks and ordering. Meat an Cheese platter was of very poor quality (dried out, poor meat). pasta was strongly underseason, not tasteless but almost. Proces are high. There are far better Italian options than thi restaurant

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BastiaanB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“very mediocre food overpriced”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

went there with my wife because of good internet reviews. Took a meat and cheese platter as a starter. Meat was of very poor quality, prosciutto was basically dried out. Pasta with veal ragu was very basic, and not so tasty. Not spiced and I think the cook forgot to salt it. Waiter/owner was very, very pushy with drinks and ordering. Wife felt forced to decide quickly, when her order of choice was said to have been sold out. We have paid too much for this very mediocre restaurant. There are plenty of other Italian restaurants that are a far better option than this (even considering 'chain' restaurants)

Helpful?
Thank Bas H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

This restaurant was amazing i couldn't believe it could get this good in a amazing atmosphere and the waiters are so nice one of them done a magic trick so good entertainment while waiting for food it was a short wait and i met the boss and he gave all the kids in my family free ice cream and balloons i would recommend this restaurant to everyone trust I've been to all the restaurants on that road and they arent as good as that restaurant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ann G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Gusto also viewed

London, England
London, England
 
London, England
London, England
 

Been to Il Gusto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing