We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of stairs but great value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Paddington Hotel
Ranked #865 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Tiverton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Lots of stairs but great value”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We had a newly decorated room at the top - had everything you could want - iron and board , hairdrier , small but clean and functioal bathroom and a comforfable warm room .
Yes it was 98 steps down to breakfast and back up to the room but for the price and location that was a small incovenience .

Room Tip: If you are fit any room is fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenny p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    131
    118
    54
    49
See reviews for
31
200
20
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

The room was small, which we expected. It felt old and dirty. Breakfast consisted of bread, cereal, instant coffee, tea, orange juice, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, cheese, butter, and jelly. Location was close to Lancaster gate and bus route. Lobby was across the street and wifi was only available there.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bbutton219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Needs a breath of fresh air through the place. Our room was on the 2nd floor - 4 flights of stairs - no lift, hard work if you have a large suitcase. Linen was clean, room depressing with dark brown furniture, Window and venetian blinds, that didn't open, could do with a good clean and ensuit could do with a make over - no where to hang your towels!
Traffic noise because of no double glazing, but didn't keep us awake.
On the positive side location is handy for tube, Swan Hotel (good pub grub) Breakfast continental plenty to eat and good choice.So acceptable for one or two night stay at this price. Having said that, we wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

When I check in to this hotel, I just figured out that there is no lift, I need to carry my heavy luggage to top 7th floor by myself, no one help me. The room is smelly and floor is noisy when you walked around. Also I was woke up by noise from another room when they use water. Niose is very big sleeping quality is very bad. There is no wifi in the room, only available in the lobby across to the street. There is no reception under the hotel, you need to check in in another hotel across the street which is very inconvenient. This is the worst hotel ever, which really hurt my feeling to London. Dont stay in this hotel!

Room Tip: The good thing here is that this place is close to metro. Choose lower floor if you can since there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Xiaoxu W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Nice hotel, stayed for a weekend great location close to the tube station Would stay again but proberly ask for a room that's not right at the top and to be picky breakfast is basic would be great for a full English breakfast.

Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlotte L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wickenburg, Arizona
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

This is probably a repeat of others but we just stayed there 3 nites 8/26/12 check in across street anytime you leave you have to bring key across street to lobby. Room was on third floor no lift and narrow steep stairs. Room faced street and windows had no sound proofing was the noisiest room I have ever stayed in. They were able to move us to a nonstreet facing room but we had to bring all our luggage back down the 3 flights of stairs across street then the room they gave us was just across hall back on the third floor! The rooms had no A/C and were very hot! Breakfast was not very good too. The toaster was left on the whole time making the dining room so hot you were sweating. There was nothing very appealing to eat and every time you went back to get something the 2 women working the kitchen would give you the evil stare. Ask for assistance at front desk for a phone number of rental car at heathrow and they could not find it. Bottom line would not stay here again and was the most expensive hotel of our 20 day trip. A big rip off!!!!

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BadBrad101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

I booked this hotel last minute, not having read the reviews. We paid £69 for a Friday night, the hotel is about a 5 minute walk from Paddington station, and about another 5 from Hyde Park.
There is no lift, although that didn't bother us. You check-in over the road in the lobby of another hotel, the staff their are very friendly. The hotel is old, it could do with a lick of paint! But the room was clean and tidy, we had doors that opened out onto a balcony (that we weren't allowed to walk out onto) which faced the fairly busy street, but I didn't find road noise any issue.

Breakfast was included, the dining room is in the basement, its a help yourself buffet style. They had cereals, yoghurts, toast (you toast the bread yourself if you want your bread toasted), croissants, tea, coffee and juice. For the price and location, I was quite impressed it included breakfast, I saw that some people complained but I thought it was nice!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GCave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Paddington / Maida Vale
Point A Hotel, London Paddington
Paddington / Maida Vale
Park Grand Paddington Court
Park Grand Paddington Court
#198 of 1,067 in London
921 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Hilton London Paddington
Hilton London Paddington
#397 of 1,067 in London
3,818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
ABC Hyde Park Hotel
#688 of 1,067 in London
342 reviews
Tudor Court Hotel
#789 of 1,067 in London
615 reviews
MStay 27 Paddington Hotel
#543 of 1,067 in London
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Paddington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Paddington Hotel

Property: The Paddington Hotel
Address: 28 Gloucester Terrace, London W2 3DA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #865 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Paddington Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Paddington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Paddington Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing