We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Budget hotel” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Paddington Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Paddington Hotel
Ranked #813 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Vanersborg, Sweden
Level Contributor
193 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Budget hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2012

The hotel is situated near Hyde Park, and not very far from Notting Hill and Oxford Street, so it is a central hotel. The staff was always friendly, and the reception is open 24-7. The room we got was real tiny, but most hotel rooms in big cities are, so it was no surprise really. The nearest bus stop and tube station Lancaster gate was only about 200 m. away, so that was really good. The traffic was not very busy on the street and we had our window to the backyard, so no problems with noise.

The bed was really hard, and I had difficulties getting used to it in the beginning, pillows were nice and soft on the other hand. Bathroom was vety small, but clean and tidy, except for when we got new towels the last day - one of them had orange stains on it.

Breakfast was a disaster - variety was good, but the quality of food was poor. When we opened our eggs they were a little black inside, even though they were warm. Either they were overboiled - or even worse - boiled another day and microwaved warm. I am otherwise very fond of eggs, but couldn't finish this one. When we got there the first morning I found crumbs on the plate where the coffemug was. The fruit was also really old, so we didn't dare eat them. The last day they were out of butter and didn't seem eager to help us at all find something we liked to put on our toasts. Sure it is nice when breakfast is included in the price, but I would have prefered fresh and clean food.

To sum up:

Positive things
- Location
- 24 hour reception
- friendly staff in reception
- clean bathroom
- price

Negative things
- Hard bed
- BREAKFAST

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lothloria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    125
    114
    49
    43
See reviews for
29
191
18
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2012

Having read the mixed reviews of the Paddington Hotel we were unsure what to expect. Having stayed in this area of London before in a higher star hotel (four stars and mould on the windows!) I wasn't expecting much but was pleasently surprised.

Ok so you have to check in over the road, hardly a hardship as it's not exactly a busy road to cross. What you should be mindful of though is the stairs! We were on the top floor and due to the hotel being a period property there was a lot of stairs! Not ideal if you've not got the best knees and heavy bags.

After climbing the stairs we were surprised by the size of our room. There was ample room to swing a cat and a large one at that. The room was clean and had sufficient facilities. The fridge in the room was rather ancient and noisy and not really necessary but I could see that some visitors may appreciate it. Due to our room being at the top of the building it was also very warm, the heating wasn't on and we still had to sleep with the window open and it was only February! the room did have a floor fan and I can imagine it'll be well needed later on in the year.

Breakfast was perfectly fine - you can't really go wrong with cereal and toast (and I happen to like Dairylea triangles on toast for breakfast), I do have to agree with the comments about the coffee though - having real coffee (not sachets) would be a vast improvement and would take little effort but would make a big difference!

The Hotel is in an ideal location, well within easy walking distance of the tube and close to Hyde Park, there are also a couple of local supermarkets and restaurants nearby if you've exhausted yourself from walking around the sights all day.

All in all the Paddington Hotel is a perfectly fine budget hotel and having stayed at the four star Hilton not so far away I know which one I'd return too - despite the sachet coffee!

Room Tip: Unless you're fit with light bags and good knees avoid rooms on the top floor or be prepared to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank snooty_chat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2012

Booked this hotel with another couple when we attended the Last Night of the Proms at Hyde Park, and were really disappointed - you had to book in at their sister hotel across the road, the rooms we adequate, although the bathroom felt dirty, and the TV only had analogue TV channels (in the wrong order). The attempt at breakfast in the basement was awful - coffee from sachets like you find in your room - a poor selection of "Continental" breakfast - not very fresh either.

We will return to the proms again in 2012, but will AVOID this establishment.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BLK82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
47 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2011

For our experience, i think the amount of negative reviews that we read here are unfair.
Yes the rooms are on the building opposite to the reception, but it's the one shown in the pics anyway!
The trick of the 70X number of the rooms has been clearly explained to us at the arrival so no inconvenience.
There is no elevator, but the staircase are easy and wide.
Our room, number 9, was much better than expected, for a 2 stars hotel: second floor, large, big window on the street side with light in the morning ( having sun coming in from the window in London is a plus!), bed was bit narrow for two but comfortable, small bathroom but equipped with all the necessary, small safe, fridge and tv good enough for 4 nights there!

The location of the hotel is perfect: 100m from the underground on the Central Line, this means that with maximum one change you can get easily close to all the main attractions.
The area is filled with hotels and has lots of residential streets, it's calm and pleasant, if you want to be in the middle of the "action" this is not the place to be.
We found nice to go around and come back every day in a quiet area.

Starting the day with a walk in Hyde Park, also 100m from the hotel, saying HI to the statue of Peter Pan, was really nice.
We didn't try the included breakfast 'cause we preferred fresh food from bakeries or in one of the nice bars around the city.

The staff was friendly and helpful.

No doubts that when we will go back to London we will ask for Room 9 here!

Room Tip: Our corner room number 9 was large enough and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flora, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2011

My best friend and I stayed here in May of 2011. The location is great, just minutes walk to Hyde Park which is amazing! Also right around the corner is Lancaster Gate Station, and a bus stop which will take you anywhere in the city that you want to go. Reception is just right across the street, and you have to drop off your key anytime you leave your room, but everyone at reception is very nice and helpful. Yes the rooms are small, and the bathroom is tiny, but that is to be expected. The rooms are comfortable enough for sleeping and showering. When you are in an amazing city like London with so much to see and do, you really only need a place to sleep and shower. That is what is great about The Paddington. It is no frills, but for the price and location it is perfect. They also include breakfast downstairs every morning. Nothing fancy but you get as much as you want. This place is great for travlers on a budget. The area is also very nice and quiet and we felt very safe. Even for two younger women alone in London we felt safe taking a walk at night.

Room Tip: There are no elevators so you will have to haul your luggage up the many flights of stairs. Also the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2011

I booked this hotel for myself and my boyfriend as a birthday treat for him as we were going to see a band in London. The photos of this hotel definitely are not a true representation of the hotel!
We arrived in London at lunchtime on the Sunday and went to our hotel to drop off our bags as we were meeting friends for lunch and then heading to see the band. We dropped our bags off and headed out.
When we arrived back at the hotel at 11.30pm that evening and checked in, we weren't actually told which room we were in, just that the hotel itself is actually across the road. We went across to the hotel and as our key said '702', we walked up six flights of stairs looking for our room. However all the rooms were numbered 1-12. We went all the way back down and back across to reception where we were told that we were actually room 2!
When we finally got to our room, we couldnt actually believe what we were seeing! The room looked extremely tired and run down, to the point where my boyfriend started inspecting the bed for nasties!
ALL of the woodwork was beaten up and had chunks missing out of it, the ceiling had a badly fitted panel of wood on it where they had clearly had a leak before and just tried to patch it up, the wall lights were so dusty that they had left soot marks up the walls. The curtains didnt fit the window properly so let light in, there was a fridge behind the door, which had long life milk in but made such a buzzing noise that we had to turn it off. Then we opened the bathroom door!! virtually all of the tiles were cracked, the toilet moved everytime you sat on, or got off of it, the shower door seals were broken and the door didnt actually shut properly. The metal sink, with rusty tap, looked like something you would find in a public loo and it was extremely cramped, to the point where if you were sat on the loo, you had to squeeze past the sink to get on and off (and I'm only a size 12!!)
We also both found the bed uncomfortable, the mattress was so thin you could feel the slats underneath!
I cant comment on breakfast as we didnt go down to the basement to eat in the morning, we decided to skip it.
All in all, I would definitely never recommend this hotel and would certainly never bother staying here again!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Holly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2011

My boyfriend and I visited London for the first time in September 2010. Since we had such a great time, we decided to go back this year as well (August 2011). On our first trip we stayed at The Paddington Hotel, and since we had no complaints what so ever, we simply booked The Paddington Hotel this time as well. We did not regret it. The staff is very friendly. The hotel standard is very basic. It's no luxurious hotel, but it's very decent. The rooms are tiny, but still sufficient. The bathrooms (at least both the bathrooms we've had) looks newly renovated. In the room you find a flatscreen TV with lots of channels, a refrigerator and a wardrobe. Basic, but sufficient for us who didn't plan on spending a lot of time in the room. As for the hotel's location, it could probably not have been better. The hotel is situated 2 min (by foot) from the tube station Lancaster Gate, as well as Hyde Park. Despite it's super central location, the hotel itself is situated in a really quiet street, so you will not be bothered by traffic etc. neither at day nor night. The hotel breakfast is basic yet sufficient and decent. There are toast, yoghurt, cheese, jam, honey, boiled eggs, cereal, fruit, coffee, tea, milk and orange juice. Plain yet very tasty. We really enjoyed the breakfast. (One should notice that there is no elevator in the building and that the reception is located across the street.)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tone123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Paddington / Maida Vale
Tune Hotel - Paddington
Tune Hotel - Paddington
#283 of 1,077 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,903 reviews
Elysee Hotel
#560 of 1,077 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
Rhodes Hotel
#288 of 1,077 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paddington / Maida Vale
Park Grand Paddington Court
Park Grand Paddington Court
#207 of 1,077 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
MStay 27 Paddington Hotel
#567 of 1,077 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
ABC Hyde Park Hotel
#659 of 1,077 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Paddington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Paddington Hotel

Property: The Paddington Hotel
Address: 28 Gloucester Terrace, London W2 3DA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #813 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Paddington Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Paddington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Paddington Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing