We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of My Chelsea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
My Chelsea
Ranked #429 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Watlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

What a user friendly place this is, great staff good rooms and very smart public areas. In a little back road but so near many great places. Weather permitting you can walk to the V & A Natural History Museum Harrods etc.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peter r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
astabeisyte, Guest Services Manager at My Chelsea, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear peter r,

Thank you so much for your lovely review on Tripadvisor. I am very pleased to read you liked our hotel and the staff, as well as our public areas. I hope to see you again in the near future and should you require any assistance for your next stay's arrangements please do not hesitate to contact me directly.
myregards, Asta Beisyte, Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    218
    77
    30
    16
See reviews for
61
224
54
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

We've used this hotel for short stays (Chelsea Flower Show visits) in May many times.
It's lovely, fresh, personal - ideal for lone guests as you feel known by the staff. I like all the public spaces & breakfast room. It's close to loads of cafes & restaurants (eg Tom's Kitchen & Conran shop cafe both minutes away, among many others).
I have stayed in the ground floor "red" room once - it wasn't my favourite but it's nothing like as bad as some of the comments. We stayed in No.41 in this stay and it was lovely.
Walking distance to the Chelsea show grounds, the V&A & tons of other great London attractions...

Room Tip: Back of the hotel is very quiet & sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank magsDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
astabeisyte, Guest Services Manager at My Chelsea, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear magsDublin,
Thank you very much for your lovely five star review.
I'm glad to hear that you had a nice stay and you in particular liked public spaces & our breakfast room.
Should you need any assistance for your next stay’s arrangements, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.
myregards,Asta Beisyte, Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

I purchased a deal which included dinner only to find out that the hotel does not have a restaurant this kind of sums up this place, lovely staff poor management rooms somewhat tired.

Dont complain as duty manager very unhelpful.

Shall be reporting them to tading standards miss leading web site and offers.

Room Tip: Dont they are tired and dangerous
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belper, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

I spent 2 nights in this hotel and was very happy with my stay. The hotel, although old, has a modern contemporary feel. The room was refurbished and clean. The furnishings were very luxurious and well kept. I didn't eat at the hotel but it looked very nice. I paid a little extra than I normally would to stay in this hotel and I wasn't disappointed. It's a 7 minute walk from South Kensington Station and about 10 minutes from Harrods. Perfect!!

My only criticism was my room had an adjoining room and I could hear a hair drier being used early in the morning. Also the bed was very hard but it was very large and roomy.

Room Tip: Ask for a themed room to get an extra bit of luxury.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristinaAVP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
astabeisyte, Guest Services Manager at My Chelsea, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear CristinaAVP,
Thank you for your lovely five star review regarding your recent stay with us at myhotel Chelsea. I am pleased to hear you were very happy with the hotel.
I have updated your profile with preferences for a quiet room for your next visit and should you need any assistance for your next stay’s arrangements, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.
myregards, Asta Beisyte, Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eenrum, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

Let me first state the good. The location is good - not many hotels in this area and when Chelsea is your main destination, this is a good spot. Also, we asked for two separate beds and that was what we got, which seems pretty straightforward but many hotels mess that up, so that was nice. The gentleman at the desk when we checked it was enthusiastic and nice.

But that's about all I can think of.
The decor is just... tacky. We based the choice for this hotel on their nice, clean, bright website but unfortunately that gives a totally wrong impression. That shade of pink should make everybody cringe, especially men. We had a room on the street, which even with the window closed was very noisy. However, we couldn't close the window, because it was so excrusiatingly hot in the room. It was mid-December and freezing outside, yet we needed to open the window because the heat was unbearable. Which resulted in making the noise unbearable as well. The materials used (for example for shelving) are cheap and the plastic discoloured ivy everywhere doesn't help the appearance at all. Also, what is up with those textureless hotel pillows? That's not just myHotel, that's about every hotel I stayed in - pillows with just air that give no support whatsoever. Unfortunately, at least in this room, that also applies to the bed itself. The bathroom was... o.k. if this had been a ** hotel. As a matter of fact, that applies to everything - the hotel presents itself as a **** hotel with prices to match, but everything says 'no more than two'.

I must be honest and add that the hotel was paid for by my work - we flew in for a Christmas party. So at first I thought - I'm staying here for free, let's not complain. But when we checked out and had to pay for ourselves even though I could show them the booking stating that the bill had already been paid by the office and I had the office confirm it to them by phone and I still had to pay... that when I thought: sod 'em, no more guilt for a bad review. Eventually, turned out I was right and they reimbursed the company. The company, not me - meaning then the company had to reimburse me again. The only thing they had to do was credit the amount back to my card. Or, better yet, check their own administration before insisting on a double payment.

What they mean by their slogan "Where Sex & the City meets Brideshead revisited" I have absolutely no idea. That's not meant as a criticism - I honestly don't understand, as I saw or felt nothing that I could link to either of those movies/series.

One of the few Chelsea hotels to choose from, but even though it means a slightly longer commute, I'll try a different hotel next time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChantalvanderEnde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sticker, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

I stay here a lot on business as it is a nice alternative to my usual Mayfair haunt The Lansdowne but a late check-in last night after a full day in town resulted in the room from hell.
Think a 1970s set for a porno movie and you get the picture - deep red carpet and walls, black bedstead etc.
Add to the mix poor wifi reception, crap air conditioning and curtains that do not keep out the lights plus a ground floor location meant a bad night's sleep.
Upon check-out I told the receptionist of my complaints and got a sigh and an oh dear!
When you are paying over £200 a night for a room you sleep in for 6 hours you expect much better customer service and at least a partial refund or upgrade on next visit.
The room in question - No.1
Best given a wide berth when booking at an otherwise excellent hotel.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Conor N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

Enjoyed our stay. Suite was roomy and a good size. Other rooms in this hotel are a bit small (as on a previous visit) and maybe American visitors would find this. Breakfast and location are superb. Worth paying the extra for a suite but perhaps a little pricey for some. We enjoyed our stay and staff were most helpful and courteous.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JanGSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Chelsea
Sydney House
Sydney House
#214 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Belgravia
Sloane Square Hotel
Sloane Square Hotel
#172 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,073 reviews
Chelsea
San Domenico House
San Domenico House
#513 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
11 Cadogan Gardens
11 Cadogan Gardens
#102 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
Chelsea
Draycott Hotel
Draycott Hotel
#24 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
Chelsea
The Chelsea Harbour Hotel
The Chelsea Harbour Hotel
#155 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to My Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about My Chelsea

Property: My Chelsea
Address: 35 Ixworth Place | Chelsea, London SW3 3QX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Chelsea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#238 Business Hotel in London
#295 Luxury Hotel in London
#305 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — My Chelsea 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your Oasis for Cosmopolitan Fashion and Fun Stepping into the chic lobby, a sense of calm envelops you. The fresh, classic design lifts your spirits. This cosmopolitan urban retreat is so alluring, you won't want to leave. But with the world's mecca for luxury fashion and fun outside, it would be rude not to. Sloane Square, the Royal Court Theatre, the Victoria & Albert Museum and the King's Road are all just a short stroll away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your My Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Myhotel Chelsea London
Myhotel Chelsea Hotel London
My Chelsea London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing