We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Central Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Ranked #162 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
NEWCASTLE UPON TYNE
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Central Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

My wife and I have just stayed 3 nights at this hotel. We were upgraded and offered other extra,s free of any further expense. I would say we enjoyed our stay, due to the room, which while quite small, was very comfortable and spotlessly clean. Yes as others have said, the bathroom was small, but had all we needed and again was spotless. The air con wasn't as good as we would have liked, but I was quite easily able to sleep and also able to open the windows, air con in the best 5 star hotels can often be worse. Service at breakfast was excellent as was the food choice. Location is great for Buckingham Palace and nearby attractions. The cost for 3 nights was very reasonable for a Central London Hotel, (Well done The Taj) Overall a very nice experience, which I would definitely use again. Thank you for everything.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BEEMA45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGR_SJCTAJ, Manager at St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear BEEMA45,

Thank you for the review and feedback for your recent 3 night stay with us. I was delighted to read that you had a great stay and despite the air conditioning not working as efficiently as you would have liked, I am pleased that this did not detract from what was clearly a great stay experience.

We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back sooner rather than later to enjoy our Taj Hospitality. Thank you again for the review.

Yours sincerely,

Edward Riches
Hotel Manager
St James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,077 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,731
    921
    284
    94
    47
See reviews for
551
1,340
135
665
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (466)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sandhurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

Went up to London for the weekend and had problems finding a nice hotel at a sensible price we found the St James and booked a king executive room on the 7th floor. The room was big enough very clean and tidy. The bathroom was not large by any means but for a weekend it was fine. although one thing let it down and that was the shower modern equipment but very little water pressure you had to walk around to get wet that was a bit of a disappointment. but that was the only fault if you can call it that. The King size bed was so comfortable. its bigger than the normal king size i slept in before sleep quality was just right for us. The check in was smooth and very friendly all the staff were very helpful and wanted to take a few seconds for a chat. I drove up and with the road works all around i thought i would have trouble parking. The concierge was really helpful cot a couple of cars moved a bit and we parked right outside on the single yellow line all weekend. That was really helpful.
Breakfast was brilliant as much as you wanted. Eggs done to your liking, Fresh toast not from the usual stand and wait for half an hour machine. Ordered and in quick time on the table straight from the kitchen in a toast rack. No rush no fuss just nice well cooked food and served very quickly. Full marks for breakfast.
overall this was a really nice place to stay for the weekend. That wont break the bank. the hotel is very quite with none of the usual background noise. A great weekend and we will stay here again next time we go up to London.
This is a large hotel well worth a visit.

Room Tip: order a room with a king bed its huge not what we were expecting
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dti-daveb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGR_SJCTAJ, Manager at St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear dti-daveb,

Thank you for the review following your recent weekend stay with us. I am delighted to read from the review that you had a great stay and found the room comfortable, the breakfast to a high standard and most importantly the service provided by the team to be excellent. I am sorry for the shower issue that you have highlighted. We are addressing this as I write this response as we are trialing a new pump system that will enhance this experience.

Thank you again for the review and feedback, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Edward Riches
Hotel Manager
St James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
147 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2014 via mobile

This hotel would have received a top rating, however room allocation let it down. We specifically booked this hotel since it has a lovely courtyard (rare outdoor space I'm London), and requested a room overlooking it. Since we had booked some time in advance we were disappointed on arrival to find no rooms available overlooking the courtyard. The hotel did give us a complementary upgrade and the room was newly refurbished to a high quality. However, if you are going to compensate your guests, please don't put them in small rooms next to linen cupboards facing nothing more than other rooms and looking down on a flat roof.

Despite this disappointment this is a very good hotel with friendly staff. The lobby is a lovely well decorated area which gives a real luxury feel. The courtyard is a relaxing space where you can enjoy food and drink.

The hotel is ideally placed for Buckingham Palace (5 minutes walk), the Houses of Parliament, Big Ben, Westminster Abby, Scotland Yard and ST James's Park tube station (2 minutes walk). There are plenty of local restaurants, a shopping area and a couple of theatres close by. So really an ideal base for exploring London.

Breakfast was fairly average, and food and drink are the usual high hotel prices. However, despite a few drawbacks would recommend a stay, and we will be visiting again soon.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Puss100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGR_SJCTAJ, Manager at St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear Puss100,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. We were also disappointed to read of your slight disappointment for this stay as we were unable to allocate a room with a courtyard view and whilst we were able to upgrade you, the room allocated could have been located better. I hope to establish where you stayed and try to ensure a "room with a view" for your next stay with us.

Thank you again for the review and feedback, we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Edward Riches
Hotel Manager
St James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlieCapp
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the St James hotel for only one night and on arrival we both commented on how nice the lobby was set up and decorated. We checked in and when we got to our room we were truly disappointed. It looked to me as if the room should have been remodeled many years ago. The toilet seat had been replaced with a seat that didn't fit as it was way too small, and when you sat down, the seat shifted. Navigation through the hallways was also a challenge.
On the bright side we did have a meal in our room and it was very tasty. My wife was also able to make a pot of teat in he provided tea pot. The service by the doorman was excellent and my bags were handled carefully and promptly. The hotel is also located close to Buckingham Palace and is only a five minute walk.

Room Tip: I had no choice as to what room I received. I asked for something with a view, but was told that no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlieCapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGR_SJCTAJ, Manager at St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear CharlieCapp,

Thank you for the review following your one night stay with us recently. Whilst I was pleased to read that you enjoyed some of your stay, I was disappointed to read the feedback regarding your room. I hope to establish which room you stayed in and so I can do a complete review of the room and see what improvements can be made prior to the room undergoing full refurbishment.

Thank you again for the review and I hope that we will have an opportunity to welcome you back and so you can see the changes and improvements that have been undertaken.

Yours sincerely,

Edward Riches
Hotel Manager
St James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

My daughter and I stayed in one of the refurbished rooms. It was lovely but if you have mobility problems I think the gap between the bottom of the bed and the chest with the television on it would be a problem. The bed was comfortable and huge but maybe wrong for the room? Location was amazing.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DrB0z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGR_SJCTAJ, Manager at St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear DrB0z,

Thank you for the review for your recent stay with your daughter. We are delighted to read that you were generally happy with the stay at the hotel, but found the hotel bedroom a little tight between the bed and the drawer set in the room. I hope to establish where you stayed in the hotel to review the set up and correct if possible / required.

Thank you again for the review, we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Edward Riches
Hotel Manager
St James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2014

Lovely hotel - polite staff - nice room. We were staying at the hotel to celebrate our 25th Wedding Anniversary. This was acknowledged at reception by the very polite receptionist but that was it. There was no acknowledgement in the room, not even a bottle of wine or a bowl of fruit. We were welcomed with 3 oranges on a plate and a standard letter about the hotel from the manager. Disappointed to think that a small gesture of congratulations was not in place, but then again it's such a big hotel we were just another booking.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Low10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGR_SJCTAJ, Manager at St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Dear Low10,

Thank you for the review following your stay to celebrate your 25th Wedding Anniversary. I was disappointed to read that you did not feel entirely recognised by the hotel for celebrating this anniversary and that you were expecting something more from the hotel. The hotel had given a complimentary upgrade for this stay to recognise the special stay and I am sorry that you did not feel that this was enough for you both.

We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back to celebrate again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Edward Riches
Hotel Manager
St James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2014

Had a two nights' stay here because of an Eid holiday London treat for my mother who truly liked the idea of a classic historic British hotel combined with a touch of Indian 'desiness'.

We had originally planned just to take my seven months old baby along and I had booked a 35 square meter double room with a baby's cot. A couple of days before our trip we decided to take my daughter (age 6) with us as well.

Upon arrival we were met by a sort of young up and coming front desk guy who for a while kept on insisting that this room was only booked for three people and was not suitable for four people. I pointed out that my baby of 7 months was not "people" but a baby in a cot. And my 6 year old daughter would easily fit in between my mom and me in a king bed as is common practice around major international hotel chains (kids stay free in existing bedding).

He kept arguing that this could not be done. I asked why. He said due to 'health reasons'. Well I thought for myself as a doctor (I am a GP with two years of previous postgrad clinical microbiology experience) that I would be willing to take that risk of staying in a 35 sqm room for two nights with my mom, a little child, and a baby.

At this point the tone was getting a little unfriendly as well. I argued that this was really the first time I had ever experienced such claims that a room of that particular size (35 sqm) could not have two adults, a baby and a small kid. After years of traveling and hotel experience with kids (just thinking of our recent trip to China in May where my husband and I stayed at Raffles, Sofitel, and the Westin with four small kids in rooms just slightly larger and were indeed very comfortable with a large twin bedded room and two cots).

I told the guy 'that we were world class travelers with quite some experience'. He replied 'I am sure you are but this is how we do it here'. (Did I detect a slight of mocking tone there?).

Finally I said 'My husband is an Innercircle member and we have previously stayed at several Taj properties before. Really we have never experienced something like this before.' (was this person trying to sell us an upgrade?)

Instantly everything was resolved. The guy didn't say a word. Just told me to wait in the lobby because the room would be ready for check in at 2 pm exactly.

The time was by then 1.30 pm. We were tired and rather put off because of this unexpected not welcoming behavior. Truly I was missing the always friendly staff from Taj Palace Dubai who knew us by names after so many stays there.

The baby was crying by now. Needed a change, a feed and a good nap. Finally a Mr. Naveen Sikka (I think his name was) took pity on us and a made a few phone calls and our room was ready instantly. After being welcomed in such an odd way I could not thank Mr. Sikka enough for restoring my faith in the wellknown Taj hospitality again. I really think that these youngsters at the front desk could learn a few things from the more senior members of the staff.

Breakfast staff also very lovely. The girls serving could just not do enough for us and we were asked several times if we needed anything. That was nice. Concierge and bellboy were also extremely helpful.

Rest of the stay was comfortable and we were well taken care of. However, my advice for the management is to emphasize to their front desk staff the importance of giving the first impression of the hotel and a bad reception can overshadow the whole stay for a guest. Luckily we managed to differentiate between one ill mannered person and the rest of the lovely staff.

For December we are planning our first Morocco trip and looking forward to try out the Taj hotel in Marrakech.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saf_2m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGR_SJCTAJ, Manager at St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Dear saf_2m,

Thank you for your review and sharing your recent experience. Whilst I was delighted that you enjoyed a majority of your stay, I was very disappointed to read of the issue and service that you encountered at your arrival to the hotel. This will be addressed and I hope to establish who initially dealt with you on your arrival.

Thank you for the review and we hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back again and so you can see the improvements that have been undertaken.

Yours sincerely,

Edward Riches
Hotel Manager
St James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#40 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
The Nadler Victoria
The Nadler Victoria
#26 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
Westminster
The Rubens at the Palace
The Rubens at the Palace
#89 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,979 reviews
Pimlico
The Grosvenor Hotel
The Grosvenor Hotel
#180 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel

Property: St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Address: 54 Buckingham Gate, London SW1E 6AF, England (Formerly Crowne Plaza London - St. James)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#41 Spa Hotel in London
#91 Business Hotel in London
#128 Luxury Hotel in London
#129 Family Hotel in London
#139 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a country that values understatement, St. James' Court is an English classic typifying the concealed charm of one of Britain's finest hotels. The custom of St. James’ Court, A Taj Hotel is the distinctive choice for more than service with a smile. With a distinguished pedigree shaped over more than a century, this discreet Victorian masterpiece with its famous Shakespearean Courtyard is perfectly placed between Buckingham Palace and the Houses of Parliament in a historic enclave marking the centre of power. Crisp and elegant, with an easy charm that’s reserved, yet attentive, we strive to make each visit more pleasurable and memorable. Exceeding the expectations of today’s discerning traveller, St. James' Court is a slice of the past served up on a contemporary platter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Indian Hotels Company Limited, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza London - St. James Hotel London
London Crowne Plaza
St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing