We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hotel to be spoilt in”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Ranked #170 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 30, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in this wonderful hotel...The quiet location was brilliant! Where else could you walk safely in a few minutes walk to London's main attractions. Staff throughout the hotel were very friendly and helpful . The personal touch by management of the hotel to make sure our stay was perfect really was evident throughout our stay..
After 3 full days shopping we just could not wait to relax in the hotel. The Hampton area was great for drinks ...the mid week piano player whose choice of music was fantastic was a very pleasant surprise . The 2nd longest bar in London in the hotel added yet another change in our too short of stay. The quilon restaurant in the hotel has great food and service....the vegetarian selection and quality of food is the best I have tested in the UK....when I return to London again this will be our hotel of choice

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jack F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGR_SJCTAJ, Manager at St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Dear Patrick5457,

Thank you for completing a terrific review for your recent 2 night stay with us. Having read through your review it is clear that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and the staff did all they could to ensure a great experience. We are delighted to be your hotel of choice when in Lindon and look forward to your return stay soon.

Yours sincerely,

Edward Riches
Hotel Manager
St James' Court, A Taj Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,691)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,862 - 2,868 of 3,691 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2014

We booked this hotel as it was at the centre of London and close to a lot of restaurants and sites, as well as Buckingham Palace, that was only a Five min walk away, the London Eye was only 15 min walk, we booked it as a special weekend for our Daughter as she was 21, the Hotel even put a Special Birthday cake in each of our room, this I thought was a very nice thought, this Hotel was the best I have ever stayed in, I have stayed in many around the globe, and this is at the top of my list, could not recommend this any higher, also a wonderful court yard, the service was first class, and always looked after you.

Room Tip: All the rooms are first class, we had one looking oner the court yard, nice and quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tictac1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGR_SJCTAJ, Manager at St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Dear tictac1,

Thank you for the review to celebrate your daughter's 21st birthday. We were delighted to read that you all had a great stay and found the hotel and service very much to your liking. We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Thank you again for the review.

Yours sincerely,

Edward Riches
Hotel Manager
St James' Court, A Taj Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

If you want a luxurious experience & friendly, polite staff to make your stay so delightful, then look no further than the Taj @ St James Court. I stayed with my wife for her 40th and would recommend this hotel to anyone. A hotel in the heart of the city with your expectations totally at their desire. Friendly, Beautiful and extremely well priced, A little gem

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGR_SJCTAJ, Manager at St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Dear Colin H,

Thank you for your review following your stay to celebrate your wife's 40th birthday. The team and I are delighted to read that you enjoyed the hotel stay and the service delivered by the team. We thank you for the gem of a review and hope to see you back at the hotel soon.

Yours sincerely,

Edward Riches
Hotel Manager
St James' Court, A Taj Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

First of all, the location of this hotel cannot be beat. It's tucked away down a quiet street but close to everything. Five minute walk gets you to Buckingham Palace, Big Ben, the River Thames, Westminster Abbey a beautiful park and many other attractions. You enter into a gorgeous grand lobby and are greeted very warmly by professional well groomed staff. It instantly feels 5 star. Our room wasn't quite ready at 1pm but our bags were stowed with a promise to phone us when our room was ready. We never did get a call, but when we checked back at about 3 pm our room was ready. Unfortunately the lift that went to the 8th floor was broken , so we had to take the stairs from the 6th floor up. No big trouble for us, but for the poor porter, yikes!!! We were taken to room 879. I have to say that I was far from impressed ,given the beauty of the lobby, I felt like I was in a different hotel entirely. While the room was clean and more than spacious , it was very worn and tattered. Plaster chipped from corners and very worn carpet with an "old musty" smell. I did ask for a quiet room on a high floor....and that it was. Extremely quiet, didn't here a single house our entire stay, and that was wonderful. But honestly, I felt like maybe we were tucked away in the oldest section of this expansive hotel ?
That said, I bathroom was spacious and very nice with marble counter and good shower. Nice toiletries and ample linens . Housekeeping was not good, left dirty coffee mugs on night stands and dirty utensils next to coffee supplies.
They do leave plenty of coffee, tea, sweeteners and nice biscuits as well as complimentary bottled water. This was very nice to have in room.
****** Here's what was most outstanding. They sent up a beautiful little chocolate cake for my sons 16th birthday. What a lovely thoughtful gesture!!!!! This is the type of thing that really elevates a hotel.
Over all....the shared areas of the hotel and the AMAZINGLY beautiful courtyard

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lobonness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGR_SJCTAJ, Manager at St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Dear lobonness,

Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us between to celebrate your son's birthday. The team and I were pleased to read from your review that you both generally enjoyed your stay with us and found the service provided by the team to be very much to your liking.

We were disappointed with the feedback regarding the room. I will ensure a full review of the room will be undertaken with the Executive Housekeeper. The hotel is undergoing several improvements with 145 rooms having been fully refurbished and many others undergoing soft refurbishments with the replacement of carpets and curtains in many of these rooms as well as replacement of the air conditioning. In addition to this we are redecorating all the hotel corridors with 2 floor still to be completed.

Thank you again for the review and feedback, we hope to welcome you both back again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Edward Riches
Hotel Manager
St James' Court, A Taj Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Our party had 3 rooms for 2 nights and what a wonderful stay we had. We were delighted with the elegance of the rooms and little extras like dressing gowns and slippers and range of toiletries in the opulent bathroom. There were tea/coffee making facilities and bottled water.
We appreciated the central courtyard garden where we enjoyed refreshments in the sunshine in this quiet haven - a real bonus.
All the staff, from reception at check in, waiting staff, to those at the concierge desk, were most helpful and professional and made us not only welcome but we felt really spoilt and it made our stay a real pleasure. Well done to all.
We were attending an Investiture at Buckingham Palace so chose this hotel as it was just a short taxi ride away and very convenient for sightseeing as it was a short stroll from St. James underground station. Also, there were a number of cafes and pubs nearby so overall a great location.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luvthesunx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGR_SJCTAJ, Manager at St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2014

Dear luvthesunx2,

Thank you for the review following your recent stay with us as you attended an Investiture at Buckingham Palace. Whilst I know that that would hVe been a very special occasion, I was delighted to read that your stay was equally as enjoyable. I am particularly pleased you enjoyed the service provided by the team throughout the hotel.

Thank you again for the review, I hope to welcome you back again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Edward Riches
Hotel Manager
St James' Court, A Taj Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Had a fantastic 2 night stay in the hotel. The staff were very friendly and very helpful. Breakfast was excellent and on eating in the bistro the second night we found wonderful food at a great price - cheaper than the places next door and a better quality.

Room was spacious and bed very comfortable.

Will stay again.

Room Tip: Not on the side closest to the building works in Victoria Street!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AMatHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGR_SJCTAJ, Manager at St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2014

Dear MikeWilkie,

Thank you for the review. We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your 2 night stay with us. In particular we are pleased you enjoyed your Bistro 51 dining experience and found the food well priced and of high quality. We look forward to welcoming you back when travelling on business or pleasure, or both, in the not too distant future.

Thank you again for the review.

Edward Riches
Hotel Manager
St James' Court, A Taj Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014

My mum and I stayed in St. James Court for five nights in June. Our room was a Classic King on level 4 with a slight view of the courtyard. I love the classic English architecture of the hotel. The design of the lobby is very appealing - a good mixture of classic, modern and chic. The room itself is very specious; the size of the bathroom is almost the size of a small hotel room in Paris. Furniture is classic red wood - love it

Strongly recommend Bistro 51, the food was awesome and we spent 4/5 nights having dinner there.

Room Tip: Avoid low levels. While I use the bathrooms on ground level I can feel the vibration and hear noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaggieXW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGR_SJCTAJ, Manager at St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Dear MaggieXW,

Thank you for the review following your recent 5 night stay with your mum. The team and I were delighted to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and found the rooms comfortable, spacious and tastefully decorated. I am particularly pleased you enjoyed Bistro 51 and the food that is served, to dine there 4 times is a great testament to the service and Quality of food.

Thank you again for the review, we hope to welcome you both back again sometime in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Edward Riches
Hotel Manager
St James' Court, A Taj Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#50 of 1,077 in London
3,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
The Rubens at the Palace
The Rubens at the Palace
#76 of 1,077 in London
4,307 reviews
Pimlico
The Grosvenor Hotel
The Grosvenor Hotel
#191 of 1,077 in London
4,248 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel

Address: 54 Buckingham Gate, London SW1E 6AF, England (Formerly Crowne Plaza London - St. James)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#39 Spa Hotel in London
#91 Business Hotel in London
#129 Family Hotel in London
#135 Luxury Hotel in London
#139 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: $180 - $433 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a country that values understatement, St. James' Court is an English classic typifying the concealed charm of one of Britain's finest hotels. The custom of St. James’ Court, A Taj Hotel is the distinctive choice for more than service with a smile. With a distinguished pedigree shaped over more than a century, this discreet Victorian masterpiece with its famous Shakespearean Courtyard is perfectly placed between Buckingham Palace and the Houses of Parliament in a historic enclave marking the centre of power. Crisp and elegant, with an easy charm that’s reserved, yet attentive, we strive to make each visit more pleasurable and memorable. Exceeding the expectations of today’s discerning traveller, St. James' Court is a slice of the past served up on a contemporary platter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza London - St. James Hotel London
London Crowne Plaza
St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing