We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A five star stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Ranked #163 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A five star stay!”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

We stayed in this wonderful hotel on 28th may. We could not fault anything, the hotel is beautiful, the staff very professional and friendl. The location is very central, within 5 mins walking distance to Buckingham Palace. The food in Banks restaurant overlooking the hotel courtyard was to die for!..
A special thank you to Micky in reservations for the room upgrade to a beautiful suite..we were so thrilled!
We will definately be stating here again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janetgra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGR_SJCTAJ, Manager at St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear janetgra,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We were delighted that you enjoyed your stay and liked the upgraded room. We are very fortunate to have a wonderful location in London that allows you to discover many of the great London sites and without needing to use public transport.

Thank you again for the review, we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Edward Riches
Hotel Manager
St James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,823
    974
    300
    101
    48
See reviews for
598
1,406
144
696
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (483)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

St.James was recently bought by the India-based Taj Group and that prompted us to book our 4-day stay in London there for a dose of the famous English Hospitality mixed with an Indian flavour. We were not disappointed. Although it was a little difficult booking the room online since their online reservation system was a little quirky, but finally got it through. The hotel is located a stone's throw from the iconic Buckingham Palace, and the royal atmosphere extends to the hotel as well. While its compact and not nearly as large as some of the grand properties of the Taj Group, its service was impeccable and the treatment regal. Right from the time we checked in we felt at home. The daily breakfast was decidedly delicious and the restaurant service of top quality, although in-room dining can be a little on the expensive side. Staying in touch with business back home in India was a breeze thanks to the fast and complimentary wifi provided in the room. Will stay here again when in London without hesitation.

Room Tip: Insist on a room with a view of Buckingham Gate Road, since the back rooms have almost no view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AjazMemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGR_SJCTAJ, Manager at St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear AjazMemon,

Thank you for your review following your 4 night stay with us at the St James' Court, A Taj Hotel. The team and I are delighted to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with the service being particularly high on the positives. We are delighted that we are now your hotel of choice when returning to London. We are continuing to improve our product and we hope that on future visits you will see the continuing improvements that we are making.

Thank you again for the review.

Yours sincerely,

Edward Riches
Hotel Manager
St James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 3, 2014

A great location in a beautiful part of London within walking distance to Westminister,Big Ben,Buckingham Palace and convenient to Victoria Station
Our room was great ,clean and all our needs catered for and the bed was one of the best beds I slept in The room was quiet and I felt I was in a very safe environment which was important for me traveling with just myself and my daughter
Staff are professional and friendly
Had a lovely time and will be back again

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phena2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGR_SJCTAJ, Manager at St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear phena2014,

Thank you for the review following your stay with your daughter recently. The team and I are delighted to read from your review that you had a great experience. From the comfort of the room to the great service provided by the team, we now hope to be your hotel of choice whenever you return to London.

Thank you again for the review.

Yours sincerely,

Edward Riches
Hotel Manager
St James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

In spite of leaving the Crowne Plaza Franchise the St James is the best hotel in London for it's Westminster location near Buckingham Palace.Westminster Abbey,Victoria Station,SMMT ,BIS and Department of Transport as well as Churchill's War Rooms and the reopening,in July,War Rooms.
You are welcomed by a team of friendly and helpful concierges with friendly doormen and porters and very friendly reception staff
The Courtyard is a real bonus and the bar and restaurant staff serve great food and drink with a smile. Well appointed rooms with comfortable beds make the experience worth repeating and I will keep on returning to my second home. A M

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alec M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGR_SJCTAJ, Manager at St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Alec M,

Thank you for the review and for your loyalty following the hotels change away from Crowne Plaza in January 2014. We are delighted that you find the hotel location and service to be excellent and at a personal level to you. Whilst the Courtyard is open for business for the summer, we need a prolonged period of good weather so more can enjoy this experience.

Thank you again for the review, we hope to welcome you back for many years to come.

Yours sincerely,

Edward Riches
Hotel Manager
St James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, MI
Level Contributor
138 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014

The Taj company now fully owns this hotel, which has resulted in a name change and numerous subtle upgrades to the service and the common areas. It was already a lovely place to stay -- with superb staff, a great location and a wonderfully comfortable (if pricey) bar. But now it is up a notch. New artwork lines the walls, with lovely sofas and tables. A few additional comforts greet returning guests. The concierge staff are remarkable. The food in the attached Bistro is still terrific. For the business traveler, the conference room services are attended to with great staff commitment, and if you order lunch in, you will be very pleasantly surprised. I always enjoy staying at this hotel and I know I will be back many more times.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Opinion8ted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGR_SJCTAJ, Manager at St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Opinion8ted,

Thank you for your review following your recent return stay at St James' Court, A Taj Hotel. The team and I are delighted to read you enjoyed your return stay and found the service very much to your liking. Since our brand change in January 2014, we have continued to invest and improve in the hotel and ensure a relaxed and luxury experience for all to enjoy.

Thank you again for the review, we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Edward Riches
Hotel Manager
St James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 1, 2014

First time stay at this hotel. Excellent, friendly service. Great location within easy walking distance of centre and main sights. Nothing too much trouble. One small (constructive) criticism, room was a little tired and could do with redecoration but still very nice. Couple of tiny housekeeping issues in the bathroom, toothpaste on the mirror, just a little more attention to detail but that said, would not deter us from staying again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristineEB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGR_SJCTAJ, Manager at St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear ChristineEB,

Thank you for the review for your stay with us and the constructive feedback. I hope to establish when and where you stayed and so I can follow up on your feedback. Despite these issues we are pleased that this did not detract on your stay experience and we have an opportunity to welcome you back sooner rather than later.

Thank you again for the review.

Yours sincerely,

Edward Riches
Hotel Manager
St James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tirupati, India
Level Contributor
72 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014

You know there are some hotels where there are small things you may not like,the view or the time the lift takes to come down but all that gets overshadowed by the superb service and excellent staff.Good location. Loved the breakfast.The dinner at bistro was great too, with an Asian twist. Very near to cardinal place where you have nandos and some eateries. Some rooms are undergoing renovation but it' did not disturb us at all. Will stay there again and recommend to all my friends. The restraunt banks next door is lovely too.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bhavana m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGR_SJCTAJ, Manager at St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear bhavana m,

Thank you for the review and thank you for the terrific endorsement of the hotel. The entire team are delighted that they ensured that you had a great stay and your hotel of choice for any return stay to London. Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the St James' Court, A Taj Hotel.

Yours sincerely,

Edward Riches
Hotel Manager
St James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#48 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
The Nadler Victoria
The Nadler Victoria
#30 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
Pimlico
The Grosvenor Hotel
The Grosvenor Hotel
#183 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,844 reviews
Westminster
The Rubens at the Palace
The Rubens at the Palace
#80 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel

Property: St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Address: 54 Buckingham Gate, London SW1E 6AF, England (Formerly Crowne Plaza London - St. James)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#40 Spa Hotel in London
#91 Business Hotel in London
#128 Luxury Hotel in London
#129 Family Hotel in London
#139 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a country that values understatement, St. James' Court is an English classic typifying the concealed charm of one of Britain's finest hotels. The custom of St. James’ Court, A Taj Hotel is the distinctive choice for more than service with a smile. With a distinguished pedigree shaped over more than a century, this discreet Victorian masterpiece with its famous Shakespearean Courtyard is perfectly placed between Buckingham Palace and the Houses of Parliament in a historic enclave marking the centre of power. Crisp and elegant, with an easy charm that’s reserved, yet attentive, we strive to make each visit more pleasurable and memorable. Exceeding the expectations of today’s discerning traveller, St. James' Court is a slice of the past served up on a contemporary platter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, DerbySoftTaj, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza London - St. James Hotel London
London Crowne Plaza
St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing