We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice but too many issues” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Ranked #162 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Nice but too many issues”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

Stayed for one night, had been travelling all day and wanted a nap however there was construction works right outside my room so decided to get a massage instead. Spa staff were excellent and service was great however there was more noise whilst I was getting the massage, the masseuse went to ask the workers to stop and the noise did stop for the rest of the massage. She was very apologetic and very good at her job. On returning back to my room, the construction noise was still ongoing, I didn't really mind too much for the afternoon but called to ask what time it would start the following morning as I didn't want to be woken up with it. Was also told breakfast wasn't included when it should have been. Was offered another room and was told I could move in the evening, however it stunk of smoke, and the breakfast situation still hadn't been sorted after 3 calls and an email forwarding my confirmation. At this point around 11pm I just wanted to get to sleep. I was eventually moved to a very nice, quiet and non smoking room and the breakfast situation was resolved. Staff were very helpful, it was just a shame that I had to spend so much time messing about with all the issues when I was only there for one night! Really from a 5* hotel I wouldn't expect so many problems. Final room was very nice and breakfast was great. All hotel facilities, especially the Spa were fantastic.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jess R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGR_SJCTAJ, Manager at St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Jess R,

Thank yiou for the review following your stay with us in February 2014. I was disappointed to read that you were not entirely satisfied with your stay and in particular owing to noise from work taking place outside your room as well as an issue with your breakfast inclusion. I hope to establish when and where you stayed and so I can see where the issues that you have highlighted have originated from and correct them and so no other guests should encounter these issues moving forward.

On a positive note I am delighted that you liked the room that you were finally allocated as well as the fact you enjoyed the treatment completed by the Spa therapist.

Thank you again for the feedback and I hope that we will have an opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Edward Riches
Hotel Manager
St James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,070 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,727
    919
    283
    94
    47
See reviews for
549
1,337
135
663
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (466)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
260 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

This was a spur of the moment decision to have an overnight stay in Central London. Feeling in need of an escape, we decided to return to the St James’ Court after having stayed before on several previous occasions.

A friendly welcome as always – from arriving at the front door to checking in at reception (exceptionally pleasant and highly efficient receptionist). We took advantage of a reduced Sunday evening rate to opt for a studio-suite and were allocated instead a more spacious (and very comfortable) 6th floor junior suite - very quiet, which we liked, with a view across rooftops towards Big Ben.

We like the location of the hotel very much, tucked away slightly off the beaten track but nearby to Westminster and busy Victoria Street, lovely St James’ Park and very good transport links.

On returning to the hotel after a busy afternoon and evening watching Chelsea v Norwich and dinner at a favourite Earl’s Court restaurant, we were soon asleep in our room (too tired on this occasion for a night-cap). Thanks to the supremely comfortable bed, we managed to sleep in much later than we intended (we were grateful for breakfast served until 11:00 a.m.).

We enjoyed lingering over the buffet breakfast, deciding on our plans for the day (a visit to the nearby Queen’s Gallery and then a walk around Mayfair exploring Georgian life and architecture). Breakfast was very good – wide range of choice from the well-stocked buffet (with some interesting spicy options) – attentive and friendly service throughout.

We were grateful to take advantage of the bag-storage facility so that we could make full use of our time in London.

Overall another very enjoyable visit (every time we stay here we really do feel well looked after). We look forward to returning, hopefully later in 2014.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sub_three
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGR_SJCTAJ, Manager at St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Sub_three,

Thank you for yet again taking the time to reveiw your stay with us at the St James' Court, A Taj Hotel. I am delighted to read that the hotel continues to be your hotel of choice when staying in London and I hope this continues for many years to come.

Thank you again for the review, we hope to see you again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Edward Riches
Hotel Manager
St James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

This hotel would normally exceed my budget but for a birthday treat for my partner. & after reading the many favourable revues i pushed the boat out a little. Certainly glad i did, this was a perfect choice!
From the moment we arrived, even before entering we were greeted at our taxi by the doorman who took our luggage which arrived at our room before we did! We were Taken aside from a busy check in desk by an assistant manager to be personally checked in at her desk, & we were given a free upgrade to a suite & found a greeting card & cake for my partner awaiting us when we got there. We felt very well looked after by all the staff we encountered, nothing seemed to be to much trouble & although our wants were few we were assured any needs would be delivered if possible.
The room itself was very well presented, spacious with a queen sized double bed, spotlessly clean as was the bathroom & serviced on both days we stayed.
Breakfast was buffet styled & excellent too.
The overall feel was one of elegance, style & curtiousy & we loved it all & were sad to leave! A big thank you for making our stay so special.Hopefully we'll be back one day!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank faaarmerboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGR_SJCTAJ, Manager at St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear faaarmerboy,

Thank you for your review following your birthday celebration stay with us at the St James' Court, A Taj Hotel. The team and I were delighted to read that you both had a great stay and were made to feel special on what was a special stay for you. I am particularly pleased you enjoyed the service provided to you both.

Thank you again for the review, we hope to welcome you both back again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Edward Riches
Hotel Manager
St James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
138 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

We spent 5 nights in this hotel and were delighted with the service and amenity of the hotel. It is not modern in the current sense but despite its rambling layout it provides excellent service, breakfast and location. It also has an improving gym and spa facility and is competitively priced.

Room Tip: Try for a courtyard view in an ara of the hotel that is not being renovated
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AustraliaTriplec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGR_SJCTAJ, Manager at St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear AustraliaTriplec,

Thank you for taking the time to review your 5 night stay with us. We were delighted to read from your review that you had an enjoyable stay and found the service and facilities very much to your liking. We appreciate that it is some way to travel from Australia, but I hope that we will be your preferred hotel when returning to London.

Thank you again for the review.

Yours sincerely,

Edward Riches
Hotel Manager
St James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

This hotel was in a prime location for the Victoria line. The room was very comfortable as we had an executive room,332.the bathroom was spacious and clean, the bedroom was also very clean but the complimentary fruit was not so good. We had a good view over the courtyard which was in full bloom.
Normally this room would cost £500.00 which I think is a very steep but we managed to get a deal with which we were happy. Breakfast was very good, and omelettes were available on request !

Room Tip: 332 was very quiet, and facing the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HMSNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGR_SJCTAJ, Manager at St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear HMSNottingham,

Thank you for your review. We were delighted to read that with the exception of the complimentary fruit that was placed in the room, everything was enjoyable with your stay. There is always room for improvement and we will continue to look at opportunities to better how and what we do.

Thank you for the review, we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Edward Riches
Hotel Manager
St James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
164 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

This hotel is beautiful, elegant and very popular. Just a short stroll from St James Underground and almost as close to Buckingham Palace everything is within reach. Beautifully refurbished with plentiful and elegant dining options. Not for those on a budget but worth the investment if you enjoy a little luxury and sensational location.

Room Tip: Obviously seek out a refurbished room, the courtyard offers a nice outlook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGR_SJCTAJ, Manager at St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Paul M,

Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us. The team and I are delighted that you had a great stay and found the hotel very much to your liking. We hope that moving forward we will be your preferred choice when staying in London.

Thank you again for the review.

Yours sincerely,

Edward Riches
Hotel Manager
St James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magalia, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

We recommend this hotel on many fronts:
LOCATION. You can't do better. We (senior citizens) walked to most of the sights in Central London during our 6-day stay. CLEAN AND ROOMY, COMFORTABLE BED. (Well, except our "king bed" was just two separately-made twins, mostly pushed together.) ALWAYS HELPFUL STAFF. They let us have access to our room several hours early. They sent us a delicious chocolate mousse anniversary cake! ONGOING REMODELING was absolutely not an issue. Our room on the fifth floor was always quiet. We'd hoped they would give us a newer remodeled room, since we stayed 6 nights and came from California and were celebrating a 45th wedding anniversary. They didn't, but we have no complaints, anyway. Thank you to the staff of Saint James Court.

Room Tip: A higher floor might be quieter than a lower? Our fifth floor room was fine....
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chamapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGR_SJCTAJ, Manager at St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Chamapa,

Thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel to celebrate your 45th Wedding Anniversary. We are delighted to read from your review that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and found the room comfortable and the service provided by the team to be excellent. I am sorry that we were unable to upgrade you to an executive room for this stay, but pleased you liked the room allocated to you.

Thank you for the review for your stay and we hope to welcome you back for your golden wedding anniversary, if not before.

Yours sincerely,

Edward Riches
Hotel Manager
St James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#41 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
The Nadler Victoria
The Nadler Victoria
#24 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
Westminster
The Rubens at the Palace
The Rubens at the Palace
#90 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,978 reviews
Pimlico
The Grosvenor Hotel
The Grosvenor Hotel
#179 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel

Property: St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Address: 54 Buckingham Gate, London SW1E 6AF, England (Formerly Crowne Plaza London - St. James)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#41 Spa Hotel in London
#91 Business Hotel in London
#128 Luxury Hotel in London
#129 Family Hotel in London
#139 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a country that values understatement, St. James' Court is an English classic typifying the concealed charm of one of Britain's finest hotels. The custom of St. James’ Court, A Taj Hotel is the distinctive choice for more than service with a smile. With a distinguished pedigree shaped over more than a century, this discreet Victorian masterpiece with its famous Shakespearean Courtyard is perfectly placed between Buckingham Palace and the Houses of Parliament in a historic enclave marking the centre of power. Crisp and elegant, with an easy charm that’s reserved, yet attentive, we strive to make each visit more pleasurable and memorable. Exceeding the expectations of today’s discerning traveller, St. James' Court is a slice of the past served up on a contemporary platter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Indian Hotels Company Limited, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza London - St. James Hotel London
London Crowne Plaza
St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing