We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, great service and location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Ranked #173 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 14, 2014

We stayed here as a couple in early January 2014 for 4 nights. It was a 10 minute walk from the Victoria station. Upon arriving, hotel staff were welcoming and the concierge gave us a room upgrade at no cost. Very nice! I think the city is less busy with tourists at this time of year. We had a lovely time having a drink and snack at the lobby bar. I had the squash soup and it was the best soup I've ever had. In fact, I ordered it twice more (room service) before leaving! All in all, a beautiful luxury hotel just a short walk from Buckingham Palace, as well as Westminster Abbey and Parliament, and Trafalgar is a few minutes further from there. There isn't a whole lot going on in the area surrounding the hotel, however. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mreen16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGR_SJCTAJ, Manager at St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2014

Dear mreen16,

Thank you for the review for your stay with us in January 2014. We are pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and liked the room upgrade. We are particularly pleased you liked the soup and this was you dish of choice during this stay, we will hope to retain this on the menu.

We hope to welcome you back again soon and thank you for the review.

Yours sincerely,

Edward Riches
Hotel Manager
St James' Court, A Taj Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,794)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,161 - 3,167 of 3,794 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2014

My Husband and i have stayed at this hotel several times but this is the first time since the hotel was taken over by the Taj group.
I have to say that from the moment we arrived the service was excellent. From the reception desk to room service it was first class.
We had a suite, room 401 which was extremely spacious and modern. There was a very slight noise from the lift but it did not worry us at all.
We had breakfast in our room. It arrived promptly at 10am, as requested, and was delicious and hot , which can be a trick for some hotels.
I can't praise this hotel enough and look forward to visiting again very soon.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pompeychic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGR_SJCTAJ, Manager at St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Dear Pompeychic1,

Thank you for your review for your return stay to the hotel, your first following our brand change to St James' Court, A Taj Hotel. I am delighted to read that you stay was as good, if not even better. We are delighted that you enjoyed the changes and I hope you can make a return stay soon.

Thank you again for the review.

Yours sincerely,

Edward Riches
Hotel Manager
St James' Court, A Taj Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

We had a one night stay here on 10/03/2014 a group of 5 of us and having used 5* hotels in the past we were all very pleased with this choice from arrival to check out and beyond the staff were diligent attentive friendly and helpful the rooms/suites were exactly right for us clean roomy and smart. All in all our stay was relaxing and leisurely and the staff went the extra mile! We will be recommending and staying again in the future. Well done and thank you to the management and staff that make this a far superior hotel.

Room Tip: room 258 was very quiet with a good view over the inner courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stuart c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGR_SJCTAJ, Manager at St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Dear stuart c,

Thank you for completing a fantastic review for your stay with us this week with your friends. We were pleased to see that you liked all aspects of this stay and that the staff made every effort to ensure a great stay.

We hope to welcome you and your friends back again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Edward Riches
Hotel Manager
St James' Court, A Taj Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

We had a really nice experience at this hotel. The staff were excellent, the facilities great and the room was very comfortable for the price in the centre of London. Tubes within 5 minutes to get you around London and within walking distance of many great sites.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 479Paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGR_SJCTAJ, Manager at St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Dear 479Paul,

Thank you for the smashing review for your recent stay with us. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and in particular the service provided by the team. We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Edward Riches
Hotel Manager
St James' Court, A Taj Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Great are: the location (closest tube just some minutes of walk away), the staff (very friendly, attentive, professional), the atmosphere of the place in general, the rooms (but you'd expect that for this price category).
The gym is kind of average (i have seen better versions at hotels in a lower category). The "spa" does not really deserve the term "spa" according to my opinion. The sauna and steam bath are really small and in need of renovation. I definitely expected more in this regard.
The breakfast was average (very narrow space, choice could be improved).
Overall impression is still very good - the food (lunch, dinner) at bar and restaurants are tasty and good quality.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thomas F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGR_SJCTAJ, Manager at St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Dear ttrbt,

Thank you for sharing your experience from you recent stay with us at the hotel. Whilst we are delighted that overall you enjoyed your experience, there is clearly room for improvement especially with our wellness centre (the new name for the spa) as well as breakfast. We will be concentrating on both these areas to improve what we are currently offering.

Thank you again for the review and feedback and we hope to welcome you back again soon to see the improvements that we have made.

Yours sincerely,

Edward Riches
Hotel Manager
St James' Court, A Taj Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

I have booked this hotel for four years and will do so again at the end of the month. I trust it will be as friendly and comfortable as it has in the past, despite the name change. From your reviews, I expect it to be so.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank elnewyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGR_SJCTAJ, Manager at St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Dear elnewyork,

Thank you for the review prior to your stay with us later this month. We are looking forward to welcoming you back and I am sure you will enjoy this stay as you have for the previous 4 visits. I hope that you can share a positive review following your stay with us.

Thank you again for the review.

Yours sincerely,

Edward Riches
Hotel Manager
St James' Court, A Taj Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Unpleasant from the moment of check-in which took 10 minutes just to get to someone. Turns out that the hotel has construction work in the courtyard so the assigned room was subject to noise and disturbances from 8am and throughout the day. Management did try to accommodate but frankly the hotel portion, the old Crowne Plaza, is in dire need of renovation. So many better choices are available so don't waste your time in such an unpleasant choice, at least at this time.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
Thank sment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGR_SJCTAJ, Manager at St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Dear sment,

Thank you for the review for your recent stay. We are disappointed to read that you were not happy with this stay and were disturbed by some noise from essential work that is required to be done in our courtyard. We have tried to keep the noise down to a minimum and at times suitable for this work to be done with an attempt to keep the disturbance to our guests to a minimum, clearly you do not feel that this was achieved. I hope to establish when and where you styed and so I can deal with this directly with you.

Apologies for the disappointing stay.

Edward Riches
Hotel Manager
St James' Court, A Taj Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#56 of 1,081 in London
3,412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pimlico
The Grosvenor Hotel
The Grosvenor Hotel
#230 of 1,081 in London
4,468 reviews
Westminster
The Rubens at the Palace
The Rubens at the Palace
#74 of 1,081 in London
4,411 reviews
Westminster
The Nadler Victoria
The Nadler Victoria
#33 of 1,081 in London
1,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel

Address: 54 Buckingham Gate, London SW1E 6AF, England (Formerly Crowne Plaza London - St. James)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#40 Spa Hotel in London
#88 Family Hotel in London
#91 Business Hotel in London
#137 Luxury Hotel in London
#139 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: $209 - $453 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a country that values understatement, St. James' Court is an English classic typifying the concealed charm of one of Britain's finest hotels. The custom of St. James’ Court, A Taj Hotel is the distinctive choice for more than service with a smile. With a distinguished pedigree shaped over more than a century, this discreet Victorian masterpiece with its famous Shakespearean Courtyard is perfectly placed between Buckingham Palace and the Houses of Parliament in a historic enclave marking the centre of power. Crisp and elegant, with an easy charm that’s reserved, yet attentive, we strive to make each visit more pleasurable and memorable. Exceeding the expectations of today’s discerning traveller, St. James' Court is a slice of the past served up on a contemporary platter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza London - St. James Hotel London
London Crowne Plaza
St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing