We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second stay just as great as the first”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Ranked #173 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 31, 2014

Stayed here a year ago and grabbed the opportunity to return for a meeting this year. The hotel is simply stunning, enhanced by the friendly and helpful team - I can't imagine anything being too much trouble for them. Check in quick and professional. Had a room on the 5th floor - lovely sized room and bathroom, both really clean and well stocked. The location of the hotel is great - just a few minutes walk from the tube and a nice leisurely walk into the city centre via Buckingham Palace and the Mall - who could ask for more? Walked back in the evening too so no need to worry if you don't like the tube - it doesn't seem to ever get quiet on the Mall! Breakfast next morning was a mix of continental and cooked. Really like the attentive service - plates are removed quickly when finished with and you hardly notice them being taken! This hotel will always be my first choice when visiting London.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JandK2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGR_SJCTAJ, Manager at St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2014

Dear JandK2,

Thank you for the review following your recent return stay. We are pleased that the hotel continues to provide you with all service and facilities you require to ensure and enjoyable stay. We hope that we can welcome you back later in 2014 or beyond.

Thank you again for the review.

Yours sincerely,

Edward Riches
Hotel Manager
St James' Court, A Taj Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,714)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,160 - 3,166 of 3,715 reviews

Reviewed January 31, 2014

After having a disastrous experience renting a flat for a two-week stay in London whilst taking a course, I came, finally to the St James/Taj hotel. Perfectly located a block from Buckingham Palace and within easy walking distance of several tube stops and beautiful parks, it was an oasis of calm, wonderful room and very friendly and helpful staff. I will definitely come again. Great value also, considering the price of London hotels.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank morey922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGR_SJCTAJ, Manager at St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2014

Dear morey922,

Thank you for the review, I am pleased that you had an enjoyable stay following a disappointing stay in a rented flat. I am pleased in particular that you enjoyed the service provided by the team. We hope to welcome you back again soon when visiting London on business or pleasure.

Thank you again for the review.

Yours sincerely,

Edward Riches
Hotel Manager
St James' Court, A Taj Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014

I was looking for a lovely hotel in a great location and booked 3 rooms with Crowne Plaza for a girls weekend away. Just before we travelled I discovered the hotel was no longer part of the IHC group so I was a bit apprehensive , no need... From the moment we arrived late in the evening we knew we'd made a great choice. The hotel is stunning inside and out. Reception staff were welcoming and very efficient . We had 3 beautiful rooms , each one different. The location is perfect , 5 minutes walk to St James underground or Buckingham Palace. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a special hotel in a great city. I will definitely return as we didn't have time to use all the facilities the hotel had to offer .

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Giraffe1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGR_SJCTAJ, Manager at St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2014

Dear Giraffe1965,

Thank you for you review for your stay with us. We are pleased to read that you were delighted with your choice of hotel from the location, decor and rooms available for you. I am pleased that you found the reception team helpful and friendly. We hope that we will have a chance to welcome you back in 2014 and sample more of what the hotel has to offer.

Thank you again for the review, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Edward Riches
Hotel Manager
St James' Court, A Taj Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Last weekend I visited the Hotel with 5 friends. Our rooms were 'fab' and our stay was fantastic!! Hotel was beautifully furnished and very clean!! We were walking distance to Buckingham Palace and handy for St.James tube station. Will certainly return!!!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank rosied76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGR_SJCTAJ, Manager at St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2014

Dear rosied76,

Thank you for your review for you and your friends stay with us. We were delighted to read that you all enjoyed your stay and felt the hotel provided a little bit of luxury and all that you required and needed to have a great weekend in London. We hope that we will have an opportunity to welcome you back and enjoy our hospitality again soon.

Thank you again for the review.

Yours sincerely,

Edward Riches
Hotel Manager
St James' Court, A Taj Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

This hotel is definitely one of the best I have ever stayed in. The new decor is beautiful, the lounge areas expansive and tastefully decorated and the rooms comfortable and clean. Check in is smooth and quick experience. We just stayed one night but our room was ready early so we could go into it just after midday which was a bonus. The staff are without exception courteous and well trained. It was very relaxing to sit in the bar and listen to the pianist on the grand piano. Our room overlooked the beautiful courtyard with its Shakespeare frieze and historic fountain. A very peaceful area. I made use of the seamstress service and her repair was just perfect.. Breakfast was varied and tasty and the service spot on. May I commend the management on continuing to deliver a very high standard of service at this wonderful hotel. I am very much looking forward to my next visit.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the courtyard have a lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lynnecPortsmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGR_SJCTAJ, Manager at St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2014

Dear LynnecPortsmouth,

Thank you for once again completing another review for your stay with us at the St James' Court, A Taj Hotel. We are delighted that you have yest again enjoyed your experience and despite the change in brand, you have felt that the service has been as good as always if not better. We are pleased that you liked the changes that we have made over the year and a good mixture of contemporary and classic styles.

We hope to welcome you back again soon and thank you again for the review.

Yours sincerely,

Edward Riches
Hotel Manager
St James' Court, A Taj Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

I stayed at this hotel with my mother in December and can highly recommend it. The staff were polite and friendly. The hotel itself was clean and of a high standard. Will definitely be staying again in the future.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sailorgirl76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGR_SJCTAJ, Manager at St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Dear Sailorgirl76,

Thank you for the review for your stay with your mother in December 2013. We were delighted to read that you had a great experience and that you found the hotel clean and the service to a high standard. Following your stay we have moved away from the Crowne Plaza Brand and the St James' Court, A Taj hotel has been born. We hope that we can welcome you back to sample the hotel again soon.

Thank you again for the review.

Yours sincerely,

Edward Riches
Hotel Manager
St James' Court, A Taj Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

The weekend was a special treat for my birthday. We arrived on Friday evening and was at once given full personal attention by the staff making us feel very special. The next day we went sightseeing in London followed by going to the theatre to watch Billy Elliot. The hotel is in a prime position for seeing the attractions of London. The service was 1st class and the décor very tastefully designed and relaxing.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGR_SJCTAJ, Manager at St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Dear Jenny H,

Thank you for the review and for sharing your great experience. The team and I were delighted to read that you enjoyed your time in London and that the stay with us made for what was an excellent trip. I was pleased that you enjoyed the service that was provided by the team and they gave you their personal attention.

We hope to welcome you back again in 2014 and beyond and thank you again for taking the time to post a review.

Yours sincerely,

Edward Riches
Hotel Manager
St James' Court, A Taj Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#51 of 1,077 in London
3,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
The Rubens at the Palace
The Rubens at the Palace
#75 of 1,077 in London
4,339 reviews
Pimlico
The Grosvenor Hotel
The Grosvenor Hotel
#207 of 1,077 in London
4,302 reviews
Westminster
DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel

Address: 54 Buckingham Gate, London SW1E 6AF, England (Formerly Crowne Plaza London - St. James)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#40 Spa Hotel in London
#88 Family Hotel in London
#91 Business Hotel in London
#138 Luxury Hotel in London
#139 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: $159 - $413 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a country that values understatement, St. James' Court is an English classic typifying the concealed charm of one of Britain's finest hotels. The custom of St. James’ Court, A Taj Hotel is the distinctive choice for more than service with a smile. With a distinguished pedigree shaped over more than a century, this discreet Victorian masterpiece with its famous Shakespearean Courtyard is perfectly placed between Buckingham Palace and the Houses of Parliament in a historic enclave marking the centre of power. Crisp and elegant, with an easy charm that’s reserved, yet attentive, we strive to make each visit more pleasurable and memorable. Exceeding the expectations of today’s discerning traveller, St. James' Court is a slice of the past served up on a contemporary platter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza London - St. James Hotel London
London Crowne Plaza
St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing