We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Very comfy base for a night on the town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The California

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The California
Ranked #367 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Helmond, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
95 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very comfy base for a night on the town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Room was quite basic but very clean; good hot shower in the morning and English and/or continental breakfast.
Best thing though was hotel bar to finish the evening with a few beers after pubs had closed ;)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joosmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    484
    261
    83
    60
See reviews for
266
378
114
152
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tacoma, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We stayed for one night. The hotel was right across from Kings Cross which made getting around a breeze. The front desk was very friendly and helpful, holding our bags for half a day while we waited for our train departure. The bar is very convenient, we seemed to be the only ones in there, but that was fine, it was relaxing to sit on the couches, enjoy a few drinks, and plan our travels.

The room was spacious, there were only two of us, but we were given a room for six. It was below ground so it got a little stuffy, but there was a fan provided in the room which helped. Everything was clean and the beds were comfortable. Breakfast was decent and sufficient to get our day started.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

Stopped for one night only in a double room. Good facilities and good value. Near to kings cross which was great location for us, but quite noisy. Would visit and stay again. The room was well appointed and not a bad size, bigger than some I have stopped in. Recently decorated, clean and comfortable. Breakfast adequate. Staff welcoming at reception.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank DebEllison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

The hotel room is the tiniest and most run down of hotel rooms i have ever stayed in London. It smells of mould & there are stains on the curtains. Can't believe they charged so much for what we got in return. Never again!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank vnara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Melbourne
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

This hotel was great. I arrived in the early evening and the check-in staff were extremely patient as I was delirious from jet-lag and lack of sleep. The room was spacious and clean for a double, but had no chair in it and was on the warm side regardless of what I did to the heater. The bed was very comfortable. Excellent wifi access. Breakfast was great but as others have stated, the waiting staff can be a bit oblivious if you need help. The best service I received was from the check-out staff - she was efficient, warm and genuinely cared about her guests.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MsOzTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Stayed to nights in this hotel which has a great location, but the breakfast personnel lacks the most basic skills as to hospitality. Came 30 minutes before breakfast was over but personnel was more interested in breakfasting themselves than helping the custumers... Buffet was almost empty and we asked for more, but were told we could have come earlier. We replied that we were actually well inside their breakfast hours, but nothing helped. "It is not because you are the customer that you are right" was the reply.... Never experienced anything like that in the UK.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Birgit F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Stayed here while working away from home. Very friendly staff, excellent location right opposite St Pancras/Kings Cross stations. Room was comfortable and good wifi access. Breakfast was okay and served very efficiently.

Room Tip: Some of rooms seem to be basement rooms with velux windows. Private but not much natural light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sue D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#243 of 1,072 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 1,790 reviews
Bloomsbury
Crestfield Hotel
Crestfield Hotel
#528 of 1,072 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 830 reviews
Bloomsbury
Hotel Megaro
Hotel Megaro
#125 of 1,072 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 1,872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#265 of 1,072 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 1,664 reviews
Bloomsbury
Kings Cross Inn Hotel
Kings Cross Inn Hotel
#812 of 1,072 in London
3.0 of 5 stars 595 reviews
Bloomsbury
Comfort Inn and Suites King's Cross / St. Pancras
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The California

Property: The California
Address: 4 - 8 Belgrove Street, London E1 0NS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Regent's Park / Kings Cross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#354 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The California 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The California is a charming, modern bed and breakfast, less than a minute's walk away from King's Cross and St. Pancras stations. Our 60 stylishly refurbished rooms, each one cosy and comfortable, are spread over four Georgian townhouses, and we've retained as much of the original architecture as possible; our windows, corridors and staircases are all original. This means that we don't have a lift, but we do keep our reception open 24 hours a day, include breakfast and high speed WiFi in all our rates and have just opened our new bar, lounge and private terrace for our guests to enjoy. Welcome to The California London. Visit anytime, explore every time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your The California reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
California Hotel London
The California London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing