We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and good location”
Review of The California

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The California
Ranked #367 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good value and good location”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We chose Hotel California because of its location close to St Pancras where we were catching the Eurostar the next morning and within walking distance of Euston where our train arrived from the North. Like other reviewers we found the staff friendly and helpful and breakfast being included was an added bonus - good too. Our room was on the ground floor and was pretty small but certainly all we needed for the evening. Yes it was a hot night for sleeping but would have been had we been at home anyway so no fault of the hotel and we knew there was no aircon - what can you expect for the price they charge. We felt it was good value, well situated, clean and tidy and wouldn't hesitate to book a room there again if we are in the area. We certainly didn't hear any noise either.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank derbyshiretwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,739 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    446
    767
    347
    110
    69
See reviews for
400
589
165
261
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We chose this hotel because of its proximity to St Pancras Station which was literally only a five minute walk at most. When we arrived our room was on the second floor and the lovely receptionist asked if we could manage our baggage up the stairs. He could see it might be a challenge! He immediately changed our room to the ground floor and although the room was small, it was very clean and comfortable although VERY hot. It was the beginning of the 'hot season' we have been having so perhaps this isn't fair comment, but there was no fan and sleeping was difficult with little or no air, even though the windows were wide open.
Breakfast was buffet style with enough choice and was actually ready well before the time advertised. There is a smoking area outside at the back of the hotel which they have made into a lovely patio with plenty of tables and chairs and even if you didn't smoke, it is outside space which is a bonus.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twooldies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

This is a very good hotel in quiet side street with very friendly staff and a good breakfast menu (great bacon buttys). It's clean, well decorated with quality en suite facilities. It's seconds from the Tube and across the road from St Pancras.
The only downside is the lack of a lift (we were on the 3rd floor) and air con - which during the heatwave made things a bit uncomfortable - but all in all excellent value for money. Comfortable beds, decent sized flat screen TV - towels, shower gel, liquid soap and plenty of loo roll. And all wall lights worked. Would certainly recommend and book again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicky T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed at this hotel at the fag end of our UK holiday and it was sad to depart with poor memories of our accommodation on our last day in London. We paid 130 pounds for a triple family room and expected a modicum of comfort or dare say luxury for the price. Sadly neither was forthcoming. The hotel is a maze of rooms similar to a rabbit warren with accommodation available on higher floors as well as subterranean rooms involving very, I repeat very narrow staircases and confusing turns and misses despite the signs. It's a veritable death trap in case of fire with very little chance of survival if you are unlucky to inhabit one of the rooms below ground level. The rooms are very cramped and please remember to carry your own soap/shampoo/toiletries for the washroom.....there is also sparse ventilation in the rooms which feel claustrophobic. We could not get any wifi reception in our room and despite taking this up with the reception, precious little was done. Breakfast is alright.....nothing to write home about. It's definitely not a full English as there is no choice of the way you want your eggs cooked. The only positive is the staff...who are cheerful and eager to help despite the odds stacked against them. The other positive is the location.....right opposite Kings Cross/St Pancras

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms in the basement like the plague
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Delamitri68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 12, 2013

A colleague booked this for us to stay in while attending a course just round the corner at SOAS. What a surprise!! It was really clean and stylish in a retro fashion. The price was very reasonable but breakfast was included and was really good. Overall all a great find, clean, comfortable and very reasonable price wise. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for room at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LesleyBryning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife, Scotland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Stayed here for a few nights and is one of a number of hotels in the Kings Cross/St Pancras Station area so handy for domestic and international (Eurostar) rail links and of course the underground/tube, the Piccadilly line goes all the way to Heathrow so added bonus if flying in or out from there.

The hotel and the rooms seen were clean with fresh decor and in some respects better than expected, the reception staff etc were very good but it is a basic hotel so no lift or air con. There is a vending machine in the lounge and a patio area with seating and ashtrays. Breakfast is in a nice dining area in the basement.

We would stay again and as the old saying goes – you get what you pay for and it was a good deal.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Strath101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Great budget hotel close to Euston, Kings Cross and St. Pancras stations. This was the start of our trip and was a great place to link with rail networks to europe while exploring a bit of London. The British Museum and Russell Square are close by. You can even get a bit of peace and quiet, if you head for Argyle Square you will find a lovely pub doing decent beer near a community garden project. Our room in the hotel California had been recently renovated to a good standard. Clean, comfortable and while small was entirely adequate for our needs on a short stay basis. The staff were friendly the breakfast was good and included in the price. Luggage room available if required. We would definitely return.

Room Tip: We were at the back and had no noise problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnandCarol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#249 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,948 reviews
Bloomsbury
Hotel Megaro
Hotel Megaro
#116 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,301 reviews
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#241 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Crestfield Hotel
Crestfield Hotel
#548 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
Bloomsbury
Premier Inn London St Pancras Hotel
Kings Cross Inn Hotel
#864 of 1,063 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The California

Property: The California
Address: 4-8 Belgrove Street, London WC1H 8AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Regent's Park / Kings Cross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#353 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The California 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The California is a charming, modern bed and breakfast, less than a minute's walk away from King's Cross and St. Pancras stations. Our 60 stylishly refurbished rooms, each one cosy and comfortable, are spread over four Georgian townhouses, and we've retained as much of the original architecture as possible; our windows, corridors and staircases are all original. This means that we don't have a lift, but we do keep our reception open 24 hours a day, include breakfast and high speed WiFi in all our rates and have just opened our new bar, lounge and private terrace for our guests to enjoy. Welcome to The California London. Visit anytime, explore every time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The California reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
California Hotel London
The California London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing