We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcome to the Hoooootel Caaaaalifornia !”
Review of The California

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The California
Ranked #368 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Welcome to the Hoooootel Caaaaalifornia !”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

we stayed in a Family Room of 6 people.

Shortly after arriving in this very small but lovely hotel at Belgrove Street, I immediately fell in love with the lovely interior of the hotel and the fact that our room was just beside where the Hotel Reception was. Oh come on ! It's literally beside ! Awesome. The room was excellent, spacious enough for all of us, hotel staff are great and lastly, early morning breakfast could not be any better. The basic stuff. Cereals. Eggs. Baked Beans. You know the drill. A guy whom I believe is the Hotel's Manager, Dimitar is a huge Football Fan. We talked about Football one night and it was a great exchange. Oh, & he's Bulgarian. Berbatov ! Stoichkov ! On a more serious note, he was also very helpful, reliable & very kind to help us with our requests, needs and queries. Everything went smoothly and as planned. The sad part? We only stayed for one night. That one night was the best one night stay at any hotel in the World that I have been in or travelled to thus far. So this one is a REAL KEEPER.

Will definitely return again judging by my last great experience ! Location. Value for Money. Everyday Essentials. It's all here. It's MUST-GO ! Try it. You won't regret it ! :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steven W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,738 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    446
    767
    347
    110
    68
See reviews for
400
589
165
260
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carlow
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

Just spent New Year's Eve in London and stayed here, I was dreading it because of all the bad reviews but it was a gorgeous hotel, we were on the top floor and yes you have to walk up stairs, but abit of exercise never did anyone any harm! Room was gorgeous and clean, wasn't too warm at all, shower pressure was quite low but adequate.
Yes it is noisy with guests coming & going I'm the morning but that's from inconsiderate guests rather then the hotels fault!
Great Irish bar around the corner called O'Neills & we had breakfast there everyday as we wernt up early enough for breakfast In the hotel.
Perfect location across from kings cross where most of the lines meet so you don't have to change trains alot. Direct from heathrow took 40mins.

Overall brilliant time & experience, I loved our room & will Definetly be staying here again when I visit London again, couldn't recommend it enough!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tbr85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

Booked the family room for six.

As we arrived in Kings Cross/St Pancras, the hotel was just across the underground station. Despite reading all the negatives and shortfalls of this hotel, my family was all pleased with the services and physique of this hotel. Room was perfectly clean, breakfast was simple (cereals + baked beans + bread + eggs), reception staffs were very helpful in our requests and queries.

Will return considering the affordable price + good location + simple basic needs for a hotel.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Shahfii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights at this hotel / sauna. Great location, fairly clean, nice enough but ridiculously hot.

Slept with the windows open all night in December - there's a heated towel rail in the bathroom with no off switch which makes the room and sleeping unbearable.

Had the breakfast also ok, not the greatest I've ever had but ok given that its included in the price.

Great location for Kings Cross and St Pancras - literally 2 minutes to the tube and 5 minutes to the Eurostar. Also a McDonald's and a Burger King at the end if the road.

Wouldn't stay here again but only because of the heat.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

Clean and big room with free wifi. Near St. Pancras/ King Cross Station. No lift, so you have to carry your luggage to your room. They have luggage room where you can leave your luggage when you check out but the room is too small. If you check out earlier and put your luggage there, you will have difficulty taking out your luggage when you come back as all the other luggage were pile up on top of your luggage.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sirtsip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ieper (Ypres), Belgium
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Good cheap hotel with the best location near St Pancras Station (eurostar to Brussels) and also near some stores, restaurants, bars... and in a quiet street.
Wifi available (pick the code on the reception). Rooms looked a bit torn, but the beds were good. Bathroom ok, even had a safe.
Breakfest: canned tomatoes, hard boiled eggs, bacon, toast and basic cereal. On the table there was jam. Breakfast till 9.00 AM, could have use an half hour later, but no problem.
Perfect hotel for a weekend trip to London.

Room Tip: choose a room on the first floor, there is no elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BjornVanacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunny Sussex
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

I could for many pages about this Hotel but I won't, I will try and sum it up into simple points for you:

1) Location wise this is brilliant. It is literally across the road from St Pancras, and if you are needed convenient access to Eurostar etc like we did then this is ideal.

2) The lobby looks impressive and the rooms have free wi-fi and it includes breakfast which isn't always found in central London. This is where my good points end.

3) The room is basic, and this itself isn't really an issue. What does cause me concern is the labyrinth corridors plus the fact we were in a basement room and the rooms do not have any phones in them. The 'fire plan' on the back of the doors does not even list a fire assembly point and our window opened onto a courtyard which was about a meter square and would be too high to climb out of. This was room 01. Most definitely not recommended. How this passes Health and Safety regs I couldn't guess.

4) Granted it is the middle of December and most people might be cold and would like the heating on (our room by the way was stifling - even with the window open - how?!), however this room backs onto the central heating system making the entire wall where your head lays vibrate and also providing the most iriitating banging sound. I called reception on my mobile to ask if someone could take a look. A man came down to have a listen, his response was 'ah yes...it sounds like a dream'. Ok then. He confirmed it was the heating and there was nothing he could do. I asked if it could be turned off or if we could move. He said that he would turn it off at 1.30am!! (How kind!) I said that wasn't good enough. He remarked that he could turn it off but 'don't blame me if someone complains'. Clearly my complaint wasn't important enough!

He did turn it off and the noise immediately disappeared. It did return 5 minutes later though when he switched it all back on again. We called again and asked to be moved. He said no.

Add to this the fact that the walls are paper thin (I could hear next door sneezing and brushing their teeth) you can imagine how well rested you are likely to be after a night here.

I know the Hotel cannot be blamed for people coming and going at all hours and screaming and shouting, however they may as well have been in the room with us. It was ridiculous. Staff were indifferent at best, breakfast was chaotic but edible.

The best point about this Hotel is its location, but there are many other places around there that can offer the same thing and still let you get some sleep before you travel.

Room Tip: Pick one that is in a different hotel. If you are brave enough to try here, don't pick Room 01 o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank emzyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#248 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,947 reviews
Bloomsbury
Hotel Megaro
Hotel Megaro
#116 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,299 reviews
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#240 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Crestfield Hotel
Crestfield Hotel
#548 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
Bloomsbury
Premier Inn London St Pancras Hotel
Kings Cross Inn Hotel
#864 of 1,063 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The California

Property: The California
Address: 4-8 Belgrove Street, London WC1H 8AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Regent's Park / Kings Cross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#353 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The California 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The California is a charming, modern bed and breakfast, less than a minute's walk away from King's Cross and St. Pancras stations. Our 60 stylishly refurbished rooms, each one cosy and comfortable, are spread over four Georgian townhouses, and we've retained as much of the original architecture as possible; our windows, corridors and staircases are all original. This means that we don't have a lift, but we do keep our reception open 24 hours a day, include breakfast and high speed WiFi in all our rates and have just opened our new bar, lounge and private terrace for our guests to enjoy. Welcome to The California London. Visit anytime, explore every time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The California reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
California Hotel London
The California London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing