We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday weekend”
Review of The California

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The California
Ranked #368 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Birthday weekend”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Excellent location but when on upper floor (3rd in our case) nobody to help carry cases upstairs. I'm not so young any more and female but had to manage. Room clean and adequate but very hot and small no drawers to put stuff in. Breakfast ok but they need to get their act together. On Saturday got down for breakfast at 8.45 and had to queue for table which meant by time got a seat only managed a small amount of food and small pot of tea before everything was switched off. Why not do breakfast till 10 on Saturdays and Sundays like most other hotels? Seems to be run for convenience of staff not customers. Having said that felt quite safe and really close for Tubes etc.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,738 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    446
    767
    347
    110
    68
See reviews for
400
589
165
260
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

Hotel California is directly across the road from Kings Cross, which gives it a great location, its about a 15 minute walk to Oxford street. The reception is open 24hrs so its great if youre going for a night out and dont want to take your room key with you, you can just leave it at reception. The breakfast was quite basic, english breakfast, or cereal, or just toast, which is fine. The rooms were clean, but the hallways could have been maintained better. It was quite noisy during the night, people coming and going and constant traffic passing by, but that should be expected as you are in central London.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ECarmenF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

just like to write a good review for this hotel as i read a few dodgy ones before we went but i neednt have worried as my friend and i have just had 3 lovely days there .it was only minutes from kings cross . the room was clean and a good size .the beds were so comfy we overslept two mornings .it was lovely and warm and the staff very friendly and helpfull .the breakfast was nice and you can eat all you want . overall we would not hesitate to stay here again .

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elaine r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Canarias, Spain
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

pleasantly suprised by this hotel. Read some pretty poor reviews which in hindsight are totally unfounded!! Perfect hotel for a short city break, very easy to find from kings cross station. Will definately use again when back in London! Nice to find a reasonably priced hotel with recently refurbished rooms in London!!! Well done Hotel California!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jasonlewisusk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Small hotel, very close to King's Cross/St. Pancras. Surrounding area a bit...colourful but not threatening. The hotel is undergoing renovations but still functioning manfully. The staff are friendly and extremely helpful. I had a single room which was at the top of 4 flights of stairs. The room was small but compact and clean. The bathroom was very modern with a great shower.
Breakfast is served in the basement. It was great but there could be a wider choice of cereals and perhaps yoghurt. I was surprised how busy the hotel is, as due to the labyrinthine layout, you hardly ever see any other guests.
As I was leaving at 4.30 am to catch a train I asked for and got a prompt alarm call.
All in all a decent little hotel but not worth £70 per night!

Room Tip: Ask for a lower floor as there's no lifts and the stairs are narrow,
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank calc10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

I have yet to breakfast here but I am already taken by what the hotel has got to offer! Great location across from St Pancras, very friendly staff, very clean and comfortable room, staying on a budget level. I have stayed at the similar budget hotel on my previous visit but would definitely come back to California:)

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Katarzyna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Very convenient location opposite St Pancreas and Kings Cross station. We stayed one night in the family room very crowded and very hot. On our return to London we had 2 rooms each sleeping 3. Very little room to put a suit case shelves rather than a wardrobe would have been better. Still very hot as windows don't open. Basic breakfast, but nice staff.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank phillie55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#248 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,947 reviews
Bloomsbury
Hotel Megaro
Hotel Megaro
#116 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,300 reviews
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#240 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Crestfield Hotel
Crestfield Hotel
#548 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
Bloomsbury
Premier Inn London St Pancras Hotel
Kings Cross Inn Hotel
#864 of 1,063 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The California

Property: The California
Address: 4-8 Belgrove Street, London WC1H 8AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Regent's Park / Kings Cross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#353 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The California 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The California is a charming, modern bed and breakfast, less than a minute's walk away from King's Cross and St. Pancras stations. Our 60 stylishly refurbished rooms, each one cosy and comfortable, are spread over four Georgian townhouses, and we've retained as much of the original architecture as possible; our windows, corridors and staircases are all original. This means that we don't have a lift, but we do keep our reception open 24 hours a day, include breakfast and high speed WiFi in all our rates and have just opened our new bar, lounge and private terrace for our guests to enjoy. Welcome to The California London. Visit anytime, explore every time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The California reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
California Hotel London
The California London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing