We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Terrifying experience due to threatening staff” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The California

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The California
Ranked #367 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Terrifying experience due to threatening staff”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Our reception at the Hotel California was the most unprofessional we have ever encountered in 25 years of world travel. The desk clerk was rude and threatening. He accused us of "breaking the law" by not providing advance notice that we were travelling with a young child. He threatened to turn away our family, despite our reservation. After a very stressful thirty minutes, we went across the street and stayed at the Pullman Hotel. The Hotel California insisted on charging our credit card, despite the fact that we declined the room based on a hostile reception and inadequate facilities.

Physically, the Hotel California has a newly renovated lobby area, but its hallways, staircases and other public areas leave much to be desired. The room we saw has old windows, which allowed for all the noise from the neighbouring street and train stations to bleed through. This is an extremely low-grade hotel. While it may be suitable for young, single, male travellers in search of an affordable alternative to a youth hostel, families, in particular, should think twice before booking here.

Room Tip: Do not stay here! Book across the street, at the former Novotel, now the Pullman!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank StevenB805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    484
    262
    83
    60
See reviews for
267
378
114
152
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bugibba, Malta
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Perfectly adequate hotel. Superb location - opposite Kings X/St. Pancrass Station. Room was clean and adequate although toilet/shower was small and the wash basin was in the actual bedroom. Breakfast good and despite the above, good value for money.

Room Tip: Did not stay long enough to form an opinion of any of the other room's views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maurice J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

We ended up staying at Hotel California after finding out that another nice place down the road was full for the duration of our visit.

Hotel California was, as we found out, no way just a next best alternative.

Conveniently located next to the King's Cross Underground station and St Pancras International station, and MacDonalds and BK for a late night snack.

10min bus ride to Oxford St.

The room we got was recently renovated and in room facilities were good.

Ask for room B01.

We experienced great service from the counter to kitchen where we had our breakfast.

Only complain was some noise from street level made by occasional passing vehicles. Bearable though.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank redjersey9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We visit London frequently and have stayed in many hotels costing varying prices,This hotel was the cheapest, the most convenient,most friendly unpretentious of all the places we have stayed and we will definitely be booking another stay on our next visit.Thanks a lot,.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helena T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed at this hotel on a recent weekend visit to London. The staff were friendly, the room was comfortable and the breakfast and the position were excellent. We were particularly pleased that we could leave our bags on arrival and departure in a luggage room. This is a basic hotel that is excellent value for money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weekenderdurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Like most London hotels in this price range, not great but it would be difficult to do better without paying exorbitant amounts.

Excellent location near St Pancras station, quiet enough street too. Rooms were quite modern too. Staff not especially friendly but quick to respond when requested.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CypLibero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Myself and two colleagues stayed at this Hotel prior to attending a conference the following day. I was a bit concerned as the reviews have not all been favourable of late. However I was very pleasently surprised. We were checked in quickly, our room was 404 on the top floor. It housed a double and single bed and yes it was compact but the hotel has made the best possible use out of a small space. The room was clean and appeared freshly painted and the en suite was modern practical and clean. The breakfast was adequate with cereals and a cooked breakfast, not the largest choice but you won't starve and the eating area is pleasent. We were able to leave our luggage in a locked room whilst attending the conference and the Hotel is in a very central position. Only criticism was that it was very warm. Overall we would definately return for an overnight stay as this Hotel offers friendly service and good basic accomodation and is very clean.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yummymummy73Cheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#243 of 1,072 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 1,790 reviews
Bloomsbury
Crestfield Hotel
Crestfield Hotel
#528 of 1,072 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 830 reviews
Bloomsbury
Hotel Megaro
Hotel Megaro
#125 of 1,072 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 1,872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#265 of 1,072 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 1,665 reviews
Bloomsbury
Kings Cross Inn Hotel
Kings Cross Inn Hotel
#812 of 1,072 in London
3.0 of 5 stars 595 reviews
Bloomsbury
Comfort Inn and Suites King's Cross / St. Pancras
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The California

Property: The California
Address: 4 - 8 Belgrove Street, London E1 0NS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Regent's Park / Kings Cross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#354 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The California 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The California is a charming, modern bed and breakfast, less than a minute's walk away from King's Cross and St. Pancras stations. Our 60 stylishly refurbished rooms, each one cosy and comfortable, are spread over four Georgian townhouses, and we've retained as much of the original architecture as possible; our windows, corridors and staircases are all original. This means that we don't have a lift, but we do keep our reception open 24 hours a day, include breakfast and high speed WiFi in all our rates and have just opened our new bar, lounge and private terrace for our guests to enjoy. Welcome to The California London. Visit anytime, explore every time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Orbitz so you can book your The California reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
California Hotel London
The California London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing