We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Complaints”
Review of The California

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The California
Ranked #407 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We visit London frequently and have stayed in many hotels costing varying prices,This hotel was the cheapest, the most convenient,most friendly unpretentious of all the places we have stayed and we will definitely be booking another stay on our next visit.Thanks a lot,.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helena T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,103)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,607 - 1,613 of 2,103 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed at this hotel on a recent weekend visit to London. The staff were friendly, the room was comfortable and the breakfast and the position were excellent. We were particularly pleased that we could leave our bags on arrival and departure in a luggage room. This is a basic hotel that is excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank weekenderdurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Like most London hotels in this price range, not great but it would be difficult to do better without paying exorbitant amounts.

Excellent location near St Pancras station, quiet enough street too. Rooms were quite modern too. Staff not especially friendly but quick to respond when requested.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CypLibero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Myself and two colleagues stayed at this Hotel prior to attending a conference the following day. I was a bit concerned as the reviews have not all been favourable of late. However I was very pleasently surprised. We were checked in quickly, our room was 404 on the top floor. It housed a double and single bed and yes it was compact but the hotel has made the best possible use out of a small space. The room was clean and appeared freshly painted and the en suite was modern practical and clean. The breakfast was adequate with cereals and a cooked breakfast, not the largest choice but you won't starve and the eating area is pleasent. We were able to leave our luggage in a locked room whilst attending the conference and the Hotel is in a very central position. Only criticism was that it was very warm. Overall we would definately return for an overnight stay as this Hotel offers friendly service and good basic accomodation and is very clean.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yummymummy73Cheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

my son and i stayed here for one night when going to see a show and then of to disney for the weekend. the location of this hotel is perfect litrally 5 mins walk from kings cross/st pancras. when i checked in the lady was friendy and helpful, we arrived before our room was ready but there is a lugage room to leave your lugage, i had a bag with valubles in which i didnt feel quite safe leaving in this room so i asked if it could be left behind the desk and that wasnt a problem. we went to madam tussauds while waiting for the room to be ready and when we got back i was given the key the room was on the second floor, the stairs are really thin but i am a big girl and it wasnt a problem for me! now i am unable to tell you about the restaurant as we needed to be up and out by 5.15 am to go and catch the eurostar, i asked at reception if they had an alarm clock i could borrow, they said they didnt but they wrote in a book to come and give me a wake up knock, they said they would keep knocking til they got an answer lol!! all in all would i book this hotel again....... YES!!! it was clean, tidy, cheap and accomodating! thankyou!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank toonarmylass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

On a one night extended family stay in preparation for my Wife's graduation, we took two rooms at the hotel. A medium sized (sleeps 6!) family room and a tiny triple. Both were clean if a little shabby and all linen and towels were nice and fresh. Unfortunately both rooms were way too hot. No A/C really lets this place down and would definately stop me from staying again. That's a shame because otherwise it was all fairly good. Nice, friendly, helpful staff and a decent breakfast in an OK location. One big bonus was the luggage room; which was complimentary and saved us over £75 as we weren't forced to leave our bags at the rip off left luggage operation in Kings Cross Station over the road.
Just about anywhere else in the World this hotel would be overpriced, given London's outrageous prices it would have been a bargain, if only the room hadn't been so damn hot!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank isummers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Stayed at this hotel on September 8th, hotel very clean rooms recently refurbished and modern,strange layout with toilet being one side of the room and the shower being the other but both very clean,however there were no locks on the frosted glass doors.
Hot Buffett breakfast being good quality except for the coffee. Hotel is very close to both kings cross and Euston stations,Would defiantly stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank holigogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#257 of 1,077 in London
2,053 reviews
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#294 of 1,077 in London
1,778 reviews
Bloomsbury
Hotel Megaro
Hotel Megaro
#140 of 1,077 in London
2,626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Premier Inn London St Pancras Hotel
Bloomsbury
Crestfield Hotel
Crestfield Hotel
#546 of 1,077 in London
944 reviews
Holborn
Rosewood London
Rosewood London
#19 of 1,077 in London
1,830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The California

Address: 4-8 Belgrove Street, London WC1H 8AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Regent's Park / Kings Cross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #407 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Price Range: $110 - $304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The California 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The California is a charming, modern and quirky bed and breakfast, less than a minute's walk away from King's Cross and St. Pancras stations. Our 60 stylishly refurbished rooms, each one cosy and comfortable, are spread over four Georgian townhouses, and we've retained as much of the original architecture as possible; our windows, corridors and staircases are all original. This means that we don't have a lift, but we do keep our reception open 24 hours a day. We have high speed WiFi is throughout the hotel and have a fantastic little bar, lounge and private terrace for our guests to enjoy. We serve a great breakfast, and this is complimentary when you book directly with us, on our website or over the phone. Welcome to The California London. Visit anytime, explore every time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The California reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
California Hotel London
The California London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing