We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Magical Matilda”

Matilda the Musical
Book In Advance
More Info
$78.64*
and up
Matilda Theater Show in London
Ranked #10 of 343 Concerts & Shows in London
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Paris, France
Level Contributor
100 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Magical Matilda”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

Not just for children...the musical is fun for everyone. The staging and story are memorable. We were able to get more than 50% discount matinee tics the day of the performance at the box office.
I'm not sure I would have enjoyed it as much paying 82£ per tic.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nannort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,293
    566
    233
    73
    36
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great for all the family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

Wasnt sure about this show as was taken as a surprise.....thought it could just be a kids show but how wrong I was......fine for the little ones though some were getting a bit fidgity....but magnificent show and perfect for the whole family..

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Teddie101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
152 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“A fine adaptation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

I had tickets for the Saturday evening show as my Christmas present as I was very keen on seeing this as the film and book are one of my favourites from childhood. I didn't however expect its transition to a musical to be quite so good. The music by Tim Minchin was fantastic and really suited the story well. Our seats were on the upper circle and I was very impressed with the view - I was expecting to have some parts of the stage not viewable, but this was not the case.
All of the acting and singing was fantastic, and the girl playing Matilda herself was superb. I especially enjoyed the extra part added where she is telling the librarian the story about Miss Honey. Also special praise goes to the librarian who was exceptionally funny and to Miss Trunchbull who made me howl with laughter - fantastic!
Overall I was extremely impressed by this show and if I could, I'd love to see it again. Funny, light hearted, well spirited and truly a great event for everyone of any age!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank robj_1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A fun afternoon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

Full of action and fun and enjoyed by all. really worth a visit. You will leave feeling happy. It is a must for adults and children, great sets.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Therese B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HK
Level Contributor
67 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Excellent show!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

We took our 7yr old twins to the matinee showing. Middle of the stalls on the left section so we had a good view. Great stage setting which had the kids talking and engaged straight away. The performance was fantastic - the kids loved every minute of it and the fact that the star is a 10yr old girl as are the other children in the show captivated the kids. Music and story was great and enough light-hearted bits to soften some of the more serious elements to the story.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank BurgerflipperHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Matilda the Musical also viewed

 

Been to Matilda the Musical? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing