We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unpretentious gem”
Review of Bella Mia

Bella Mia
Ranked #2,652 of 22,516 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Unpretentious gem”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Super proper Italian food served by lovely staff in a relaxed setting. I had a vegetarian risotto which was stunning, and my husband raved on about his pasta dish, and our daughter's pizza was very well received. Being of Italian decent my lot are qualified to judge I feel. They went out of their way to create a simple but delicious pasta dish for the 5 year old, and a very sensible charge fir it too, and she adored the 3 flavours of ice cream for dessert - none of that was left! The house wine was a charming fragrant white which went down well, along with sir's Perroni beer (nice glass by the way!). All in all a lovely evening and we will definitely return.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HolidayGorillaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    41
    8
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Must try”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Brilliant staff and excellent food. Must try and will curtain to return. Vast food choices all cooked fresh.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tripfromhell2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Definitely worth a visit”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Excellent food and service. Simple, good value Italian food, well prepared and very tasty. Cosy setting, lovely atmosphere and friendly/ attentive staff. Two starters, two main courses, glass of wine and two beers - plus a tip for £35!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarobbo5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Excellent food, lovely friendly staff, good price - a real gem!”
Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the nearby Hotel Verta, wanted somewhere close to eat without paying hotel prices and found this place on TripAdvisor. What a find it was!

Ignore the fact that it's next to an MOT/car parts garage and opposite something resembling Nelson Mandela House - inside is a lovely little restaurant with typical Italian decor. Our waitress was very helpful and pleasant and nothing was too much trouble. We shared a bruscetta starter, my wife had a ham pizza (you can choose your toppings) and I had the porcini veal. All were cooked beautifully and my wife is now refusing to ever eat at Pizza Hut again! For desert we had the panna cotta and tiramisu which were wonderful and all this was washed down with a bottle of house white.

This all came in at under £50; at home in Wales, we pay more than this at a local pub for less-quality food so we felt it to be real value-for-money.

I can't recommend this place enough, it's just a shame we're unlikely to be in the area again so will probably never get to go back!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dai H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“A little Gem”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

The Battersea Travelodge cannot boast about catering for the tired traveller, as eateries are few and far between along this section of York Rd. However in The Bella Mia restaurant, less than a minutes walk away, you will find a little gem of a restaurant. Blink, and you may miss it (as it has a bus stop outside). But what it lacks in size, it more than makes up for in the quality of the food, and the very friendly service, from Waitresses to chefs.
A definite plus point for the Travelodge, who should be grateful for Bella Mia's existence!
Thanks from Rob, Denise, and especially Zak!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1959Robin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bella Mia also viewed

London, England
London, England
 

Been to Bella Mia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing