We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great choice of booze!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lyric Pub

The Lyric Pub
Ranked #2,090 of 22,204 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Soho
Copthorne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great choice of booze!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

We had just over an hour to kill before heading to a local restaurant and were recommended this bar for ales. So glad we were sent here as my other half finally got to buy me an 80 Shilling (Scottish beer/ale)! Great choice of ales/bitters/stouts/beers etc on tap and they were fine to let us try a couple. Price of draft depends on alcohol volume (great idea) and reasonably priced for London.
The atmosphere is good, staff were great, but the bar area is a little small. There is a separate area for dining upstairs. At the moment they have a "Carnivore Tuesdays" theme going which I would love to check out (but sadly not in London during the week)... but maybe next time I'm up I'll try their food. :)
Oh, one negative is that the ladies only has one toilet... not sure how much of a problem that could be on a busy night!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    74
    20
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Crater Lake National Park, Oregon
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

We had a pint while in the area. Nice staff nice crowd. Lots of beers and ales to choose from. The crowd was mostly locals probably because the pun is away from the crowds of Piccadilly.

Helpful?
1 Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“good range of beer but dont eat the fish and chips”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

Went in on a cold wet lunch time attracted by the fire and range of beers. We were the first customers which can make for a gloomy atmosphere. The staff were welcoming and glad to offer advice on beer. Quite a few tourists came in which gave the staff plenty of chance to show their expertise and friendliness. They were happy to serve at the table if foreigners seemed to expect it. The service was prompt the food not homemade but typical ready meal quality and the fish could have been cooked longer. Have had cheaper and better

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank chris d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North shields
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“If you love the best of British, Head to The Lyric - Soho”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

When out and about in London my partner and myself came across this lovely little pub. We were looking for somewhere to eat and wow was i surprised.
From the outside it has the look of an old style English pub, you know the pub i mean. Where your dad or grandad would nip in after a long day at work, a proper mans pub.
When we stepped in it was like going back in time, i think that's why i like it so much. An old school bar with nothing but hand-pull ales and ciders with a massive selection. Gas coal fire was going and it was cozy and warm.
The bar staff where friendly and full of great banter.
Looking at the menu i was very surprised at the prices but thought, well for that price the food should be good.....How wrong was i!! It was freaking EXCELLENT!!!! Its so hard these days to find an establishment that does not nuke everything in the microwave. Locally sourced produce, and everything homemade.
My partner and i had a lovely time, were well looked after and left happy, full and giggling.
I would highly recommend and shall return in the future.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Babysaurous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Beer Pub in Soho”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

Top selection of beers - real ale and craft beer. Good atmosphere and we really enjoyed ourselves. Good crowd and predominantly gay.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ouhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lyric Pub also viewed

 

Been to The Lyric Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing