We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and great customer service”
Review of Westpoint Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Westpoint Hotel
Ranked #803 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed May 23, 2014

Loved the stay, loved the service. Reception: all great people (specially Catarina, Pedro and Virginia). They all friendly and ready to help. Rooms are nice for a short stay, and breakfast is good as well. Thank you everyone for making our holidays better. Will come back.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Micaela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westpoint1, Guest Relations Manager at Westpoint Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2014

Dear guest, We are happy that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and that you wrote a review. We appreciate it. Wishing you a very nice day and looking forward to welcoming you again in a near future. Kind regards, Abbeycourt &Westpoint Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (797)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

203 - 209 of 797 reviews

Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights with a couple of friends. We had a triple room with a double bed and a single bed, which were comfy and clean. Rooms are small but ok for a few nights. Bathroom is also small but again, manageable and wasn't really a problem for us.

Receptionists were friendly and helpful, not quite sure what some of the reviews mean by the receptionists being rude!

Hotel is very clean and in a fairly good location, around a 5 minute walk from Paddington tube station where you can easily get all over the city.

I would say it's very good value for money for a London hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank abby107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westpoint1, Guest Relations Manager at Westpoint Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking your time to review your stay at Westpoint Hotel.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your short stay at our hotel and positively benefited from our facilities.
Westpoint Hotel hopes to welcome you and your friends on many of your future visits to London.

Kind regards,
Westpoint Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2014 via mobile

Small but very clean room. excellent location..close to paddington train and tube station. Staff were charming and friendly..The only real negative was a breakfast not much choice and No Toast!!!.good for one night..

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Eweli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westpoint1, Guest Relations Manager at Westpoint Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to write a review. We welcome all feedback in order to provide the best for our guests.
Westpoint Hotel is glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
We hope to welcome you and your friends on many future visits of yours.

Kind regards,
Westpoint Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2014

We spent two nights at the Westpoint and found the hotel to be clean and quiet and very conveniently situated near to Paddington Train Station.
It was quiet and we had two good nights sleep.
The bathroom was small but the shower was good, lacked shelves to put your toiletries on.
There are plenty of places to eat within less than a five minute walk and the hotel is situated in a leaf lined avenue close to Hyde Park.
Breakfast is served downstairs in the restaurant and was a self service buffet style of hot and cold food. The coffee was much better than the instant in our bedroom and were were disappointed when the waitress stopped us from taking our second mug of coffee up to our room!
The only real negative was our room was on the small side (but more than adequate for a two night city break) The windows are small and we overlooked a back small courtyard which made the room feel rather dark. It was cool and cloudy when we visited but we imagine if it was really warm weather it would feel airless and very warm in the bedroom.
However the staff were charming and helpful and we would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a front facing room with a brighter outlook with bigger windows ... however we don't kno...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LindaTruroCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westpoint1, Guest Relations Manager at Westpoint Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing thoughts about your stay. We are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with us and are looking forward to many more visits from you. For your next visit please write request for a spacious room and we will make sure that you get satisfied.

Kind regards,
Westpoint Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2014

NO customer service AT ALL!!! We made a honest mistake and needed to change our booking dates.. they would not even let us do that even though we called immediately after we made the booking!!!!!
Then they charged us the full amount with no consideration at all. It is peak season in July, It wouldn't be long before our cancellation was filled again!
We travel a lot, know a lot of people in the travel industry and would NEVER EVER recommend this hotel to anyone!

Room Tip: NONE, don't stay at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Boredgoabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westpoint1, Guest Relations Manager at Westpoint Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2014

We have been cooperating with you by offering you the flexibility to change arrival day even though you have chosen to make a non-refundable booking. We are sold out on these specific days in July you wish to modify to! Please refer to terms and condition, it is clearly stated that money will be taken from the credit card on the time of booking and is non-refundable and the money was already taken before booking.com contacted us.

Regards,
Westpoint Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014

We stayed at the Westpoint Hotel because, the location was good. We were a party of 6, 4 adults & 2 kids, 2 rooms of 3. We were complaining to our friends about how small our room was & they complained to us too that their room was small so, we didn't think anything of it. The morning of check out our friends came to our room & saw Exactly how SMALL the room was, we then went to their room. Their room was a suite compared to our room.
We were unable to stand next to each other in our room. The only way we could stand in our room with the luggage open was to put the luggage on the bed. The bathroom was the SMALLEST I've ever seen. The sink was up to the level of a 3 year old. You couldn't move in the shower.
When we checked in the registration said 1 adult. The lady at the reception told me that, that's just the registration form & it doesn't mean anything. Well, I believe & so does the other family with us that the room is really a SINGLE room that they made into a TRIPLE.
We complained at the reception on check out & she asked if we had breakfast. We told her yes & she said the only thing she could have done was give us breakfast. Well, how about taking the amount of what breakfast would cost & remove it from our bill.
They are NOT helpful. Our friends asked if they could do something & they said they aren't allowed to do what they were asking for. Customer Service is horrible along with the rooms.

Room Tip: I don't believe there is a good room in this hotel. Our friends room was pretty small too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laurie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014 via mobile

We have visited this hotel 4 times over the years. The rooms are small but the location perfect and the price was affordable "before". Not anymore. Something went wrong this time. We reserved a room a long time ago but when we arrived we were advised a room "down under" not what we had expected. We heard the hotel was heavily booked!!!!!
Next morning at breakfast the lady of the staff dismissed us and wouldn't believe that we had payed. This happened twice and we had to show proof of the payment. At the same time she was not at all service minded. Seemed angry and not friendly at all. People were waiting a long time to be served and the room was too small consider the amount of people having breakfast.
We will definitely not choose this hotel next time we visit London but check this site first and then decide.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Annette N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
0.0 mi away
Abbey Court Hotel
Abbey Court Hotel
#831 of 1,077 in London
522 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aspen Suites Hyde Park
Aspen Suites Hyde Park
#734 of 1,077 in London
51 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mitre House Hotel
Mitre House Hotel
#541 of 1,077 in London
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Royal Eagle Hotel
Royal Eagle Hotel
#821 of 1,077 in London
1,115 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tudor Court Hotel
Tudor Court Hotel
#837 of 1,077 in London
639 reviews
0.0 mi away
Castleton Hotel
Castleton Hotel
#903 of 1,077 in London
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westpoint Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westpoint Hotel

Address: 168-172 Sussex Gardens | Hyde Park, London W2 1TP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #803 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Price Range: $88 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Westpoint Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable and convenient Central London Hotel. Location: Our Paddington hotel is situated in the midst of the peaceful tree-lined avenue of Sussex Gardens close to Marble Arch and Kensington Gardens. The budget (do we need to say this at this stage?) hotel is served by the Heathrow Express, with excellent transport links. Paddington underground and Main line stations, Lancaster Gate station and Hyde Park are a 3 minute walk away. We offer 15-minute transit times to Heathrow International Airport by Heathrow Express. Westpoint hotel offers easy access to London’s top tourist attractions and landmarks including the Royal Albert Hall, Buckingham Palace, Kensington Palace, the Houses of Parliament, Madame Tussauds. If you are a shopping fan we offer easy access to Westfield Shopping Centres in West London and Stratford, Oxford Street, Bond Street, boutiques in Carnaby Street and Nottinghill. Enjoy breathtaking skyline views from the London Eye and enjoy the nightlife in Piccadilly and Leicester Square as well London’s west end offering theatre and performance venues. There is always a good time to visit London. With a packed calendar from international concerts, exhibitions, carnivals to sporting events and local attractions including horse riding in Hyde Park. The London Tourist hop-on and hop-off bus is right on our door step offering an excellent opportunity for sight-seeing at your leisure. If you are looking for hotels with easy access to central London, budget hotels in Paddington or hotels near Hyde Park, the Central London Hotel, Westpoint Hotel is your premier choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Westpoint Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westpoint Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing