We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellent Service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Westpoint Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Westpoint Hotel
Ranked #735 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Gurgaon, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Good services provided by Staff.
Happy staff. Always ready to help n smile.
We were there to meet family and for tourism, so we usually come late in Hotel.
Hotel staff never complaint about it and happy to serve us on odd hours.
Staff advised some good places to see in London as it was our first trip to London.

Room Tip: Room allocated to us is perfect. All the facilities were there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shikha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westpoint1, Guest Relations Manager at Westpoint Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
The pleasure is ours and we look forward for many more visits from you.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    216
    210
    87
    98
See reviews for
199
176
34
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Great hotel to stay in - I use the hotel as my base whenever I come down to London and I have always found the staff extremely helpful and the rooms comfortable. The location is brilliant as I can get to Paddington quickly. For the price it provides excellent value.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westpoint1, Guest Relations Manager at Westpoint Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for sharing a comment and it’s a pleasure for us to having regular guests staying with us.
Hope to seeing you soon again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Close by Paddington Station, was very handy to catch trains to Manchester, Bath and Windsor Castle. We often started our day with a stroll through Hyde Park ending up in Oxford Street. Room was good size with comfortable beds and nice bathroom. Only dislike was the heating was turned up too high and was not readily adjustable. Front desk service was warm and helpful. A special mention to Sala who made our stay more enjoyable with his warm conversations and assisting us with any questions re getting around London. Breaklfast staff were also warm and friendly.We stayed 16 nights and have nothing but fond and pleasant memories of our stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DandBAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westpoint1, Guest Relations Manager at Westpoint Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear guest,

We appreciate your positive comment and are delighted that you had a long enjoyable stay in WestPoint Hotel.
Looking forward to welcoming you in the future
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubrovnik, Croatia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Perfect location, just around the corner is Paddington train station and tube, neighborhood is full with restaurants, pubs, newsagent and coffee shops...even taxi is not much, just 8 pounds to get you to Oxford Circus. Rooms and the hotel very clean, for a 3 star hotel and the money we paid for double room with breakfast, 5 nights, we just couldnt ask for more. Perhaps for a smile from the reception staff:) Breakfast was ok...very simple.... not a sign of english breakfast if someone would like. All in all, we recommend this hotel for a city break in London, you wont regret:)

Room Tip: we had room on second floor facing the main road, perhaps for someone else the busy noisy street wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarisNino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

Nothing they did wrong and you get what you pay for. Very small rooms and we were unfortunate enough to have a room next to the lift. The coridoors carry noise and I am a very heavy sleeper, I believe if u are tired u will sleep no matter how loud the noise but from 7am here it gets very bangy and chatty which makes it hard to sleep but it is an old building. Bathrooms are also very small but the staff are friendly enough and the location is fine. It's very clean although somewhat dated. I wouldn't not stay here again but I also wouldn't rush to come back.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westpoint1, Guest Relations Manager at Westpoint Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for leaving a comment. There are slightly different sizes of the rooms, some are bigger and some smaller. This is a Victorian building in Central London and the rooms vary in sizes. We have options with different room sizes and guests can choose to upgrade their accomodation subject to availability. Please enquire for your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I stayed for two nights beginning of January with my boyfriend and on arrival we were greeted fairly well by who i can only assume is the manager. The reception was lovely and modern so we were excited to see the room, though once we got up there we noticed several things. Firstly we were placed directly next to the lift, in fact, the lift was partly built into our room (room 54) so ALL night we were kept awake by people going up and down and having loud chats right outside our room. Second the room was nothing like shown on booking.com. It was tiny, im a small person but couldnt move around in the bathroom without hitting myself on the walls or the sink. The hairdryer didn't work (which i didn't realise until i went to use it in the morning) and this for me was the push i needed to go and say something. After our first night i went to reception and complained (the manager was unavailable) so a young man dealt with me. I asked to be moved rooms which thankfully was done without any quibble. A young woman seemed to think i was lying about the fact my room was next to a lift though and clearly said 'room 54 is nowhere near a lift' right in front of me. Very rude! Our second room (28) was much more modern (although still small) but more what we expected. Im shocked that this hotel would even put people in the type of rooms we were in, and at £184 for 2 nights we expected much more. I also asked for a refund on the first nights stay, to which i was told only the manager could approve. I work at a hotel myself and i know that this is sometimes the case, so i figured id call back another time or send an email. when i got home i sent an email and after 4 days had no reply, so i phoned and asked to speak to the manager who once again was unavailable. I was told to send the email again and that the lady on the phone would be sure to tell the manager it was priority. I sent the email again and a week later i still havent received a reply! The manager of this hotel is arrogant and rude and obviously doesn't care about customer satisfaction so long as the guest has already paid. I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone purely on the fact that if you are unfortunate enough to be given a horrible room, they wont do much to help you. I booked through booking.com and have contacted them and even they have said they havent been able to get a reply from the hotel. It's not often that i feel i need to express all this in a review, im usually very fair, but the lack of customer care from this hotel is dreadful.

Room Tip: 28 is average. NOT 54!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaffatinx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkby on Bain
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Over the weekend I have tried to book 3-4 night periods of stay for the next 6 months whilst I am based in London. You would think that they would be pleased for the business. However, after booking the initial month I received cancellation notices without a reason why. I called the hotel and was told the card has been refused and therefore the bookings had been cancelled and that we should check with our card provider as it was 'wasting your time and ours!'.

We contacted our card provider to be told that £380 had been debited to the card and provided us with the transaction ID. We contacted the Hotel only to be told that 'yes' this booking had been confirmed.

I have tried now on 3 ocassions to contact the hotel only to be told that the General Manager is now not available and this morning remains unavailable until 10am.

I have never had to complain about a hotel in London but this beggars belief. Proceed with caution, if it goes wrong, it goes very wrong !!!! and we haven't even stayed yet.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westpoint1, Guest Relations Manager at Westpoint Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comment. We did notify you and explained that only two bookings were authorised to charge and subsequently confirmed. The remaining reservations were not authorised to charge due to credit card being declined, our staff spoke to you about the situation. Our websites clearly state our cancellation policy, Prepayment: “The total price of the reservation will be charged on the day of booking.”.
We look forward to welcoming you and hope you have an enjoyable stay.

Thank you,
Reservations department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
0.0 mi away
Abbey Court Hotel
Abbey Court Hotel
#756 of 1,072 in London
3.0 of 5 stars 392 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tudor Court Hotel
Tudor Court Hotel
#707 of 1,072 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 562 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rhodes Hotel
Rhodes Hotel
#293 of 1,072 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 1,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Aspen Suites Hyde Park
Aspen Suites Hyde Park
#731 of 1,072 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 45 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cardiff Hotel
Cardiff Hotel
#596 of 1,072 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 661 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Indigo London-Paddington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westpoint Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westpoint Hotel

Property: Westpoint Hotel
Address: 168-172 Sussex Gardens | Hyde Park, London W2 1TP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #735 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Westpoint Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable and convenient Central London Hotel. Location: Our Paddington hotel is situated in the midst of the peaceful tree-lined avenue of Sussex Gardens close to Marble Arch and Kensington Gardens. The budget (do we need to say this at this stage?) hotel is served by the Heathrow Express, with excellent transport links. Paddington underground and Main line stations, Lancaster Gate station and Hyde Park are a 3 minute walk away. We offer 15-minute transit times to Heathrow International Airport by Heathrow Express. Westpoint hotel offers easy access to London’s top tourist attractions and landmarks including the Royal Albert Hall, Buckingham Palace, Kensington Palace, the Houses of Parliament, Madame Tussauds. If you are a shopping fan we offer easy access to Westfield Shopping Centres in West London and Stratford, Oxford Street, Bond Street, boutiques in Carnaby Street and Nottinghill. Enjoy breathtaking skyline views from the London Eye and enjoy the nightlife in Piccadilly and Leicester Square as well London’s west end offering theatre and performance venues. There is always a good time to visit London. With a packed calendar from international concerts, exhibitions, carnivals to sporting events and local attractions including horse riding in Hyde Park. The London Tourist hop-on and hop-off bus is right on our door step offering an excellent opportunity for sight-seeing at your leisure. If you are looking for hotels with easy access to central London, budget hotels in Paddington or hotels near Hyde Park, the Central London Hotel, Westpoint Hotel is your premier choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Westpoint Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westpoint Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing