We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (854)
Filter reviews
854 results
Traveler rating
78
267
258
124
127
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
78
267
258
124
127
Show reviews that mention
All reviews paddington tube station excellent location close to hyde park oxford street tea and coffee pubs
Filter
Updating list...
330 - 335 of 854 reviews
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Over the weekend I have tried to book 3-4 night periods of stay for the next 6 months whilst I am based in London. You would think that they would be pleased for the business. However, after booking the initial month I received cancellation notices without a reason why. I called the hotel and was told the card has been refused and therefore the bookings had been cancelled and that we should check with our card provider as it was 'wasting your time and ours!'.

We contacted our card provider to be told that £380 had been debited to the card and provided us with the transaction ID. We contacted the Hotel only to be told that 'yes' this booking had been confirmed.

I have tried now on 3 ocassions to contact the hotel only to be told that the General Manager is now not available and this morning remains unavailable until 10am.

I have never had to complain about a hotel in London but this beggars belief. Proceed with caution, if it goes wrong, it goes very wrong !!!! and we haven't even stayed yet.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Service
Thank Mandy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westpoint1, Guest Relations Manager at Westpoint Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for your comment. We did notify you and explained that only two bookings were authorised to charge and subsequently confirmed. The remaining reservations were not authorised to charge due to credit card being declined, our staff spoke to you about the situation. Our websites clearly state our cancellation policy, Prepayment: “The total price of the reservation will be charged on the day of booking.”.
We look forward to welcoming you and hope you have an enjoyable stay.

Thank you,
Reservations department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

The location is convenient with Heathrow Express and a 10 min walk. Our room was typical English with broadloom and old fashion style. It was situated in the back of the hotel, half a floor up (it was only our room on that floor) and initially the room was freezing cold (approx 16 degrees). After several compliants did we received a radiator and managed the night. The day afterwards the original radiators started to work and the it suddenly was 28 degrees in the room (it was not possible to reduce the heat). This kept on for the whole stay (four days). Warm - cold.... We had a view of a small inner "garden" (concrete square) with fans and other noicy items in it.
The breakfast was a disaster..... I'm aware that an English breakfast is quite poor, but this was a joke. White beans in tomatosause, sausage, toast, marmelade and cheep juice. The restaurant was really noicy and also undermanned so the table was not cleaned when you arrived and you had a hard time getting a cup of coffee.
I would never recommend this hotel to a friend!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Micasj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westpoint1, Guest Relations Manager at Westpoint Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2012

Thank you for your review. If guests are not satisfied with their rooms we will do our best to move them to another room or they can choose to upgrade their accommodation. You stayed with us nearly a year ago and during that time the hotel has undergone a change in management. Our breakfast offering has improved substantially offering a range of hot and cold items, including freshly baked croissants. We are very proud of our customer service as recognised by our customers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Stayed in a family room,4 girlfriends.A great location for us as we were Xmas shopping and visiting winter wonderland in Hyde Park-a10min walk. Reception looks very grand. Our room was in the basement so no view whatsoever,but we only wanted room for sleeping so no big deal. Positives were size of room, nice comfortable and clean beds.Negatives- Being four girls there was only one small mirror in bathroom,plenty of space for one to be mouthed in the room.The room was boiling on arrival,which we turned heating off,but our window didn't open at all.
Breakfast was ok,continental ith plenty of juice,croissants,meats and cheeses.
If you want a budget hotel as a base then it's ideal.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crazybecca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westpoint1, Guest Relations Manager at Westpoint Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2012

We appreciate your review. Our staff is always willing to help so if there are any problems regarding the room we always try to do our bests to solve the issue. Thank you for your comment regarding the mirrors, the hotel is going through a process of refurbishment and we will take your comments on board. Thank you very much for your suggestions & we look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

My family and I stayed for 4 nights at the hotel. Although the room for the four of us was small it was comfortable and breakfast was included. The location is sensational because it is no more than a 5 minute walk from the Paddington tube and train station. Such a great location. The staff are pleasant and helpfull and a pleasure to deal with. We loved it.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank dulce54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westpoint1, Guest Relations Manager at Westpoint Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2012

Thank you very much for leaving such a positive comment.
We are very proud of our customer service and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We appreciate every single comment, since it help us to improve our service at its best.
We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

This hotel has a fabulous location, just two minutes walk to the tube and really close to Hyde Park.Like a lot of other people I had high expectations and the foyer of the hotel only added to that expectation as it is fabulous. However, the room we were staying in was not as luxurious as we thought it might be. Our room was in the basement and the one window overlooked the laundry room so on the day we arrived and the morning we were leaving we had to close the curtains as there was a cleaner outside the window emptying bags of sheets! The decor was very outdated and the bed was quite low to the ground but it was comfortable and the sheets were clean. The shower was awful, the water was barely luke warm and was not very powerful. The breakfast was lovely and the staff were very friendly. Overall, I would say that the location was the best thing about this hotel and if you're looking for somewhere basic but clean to sleep, without any frills then I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmmaFatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westpoint1, Guest Relations Manager at Westpoint Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2012

We would like to thank you for leaving a comment. We apologise for the problem about the shower, as soon as we were notified the water supply in that room was fixed. If guests are unhappy with their rooms we try to accommodate their requests to move If we have availability and we also have a range of other rooms available at different prices.

We are going through a process of renovation in all bedrooms in order for us to provide you the best of our services and conditions, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. We are very proud of our customer service and are pleased you enjoyed our hospitality.

We appreciate your review as it guides us to serve you better and We will be very pleased to have you staying with us once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews