We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay away from this hotel”
Review of Westpoint Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Westpoint Hotel
Ranked #802 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Stay away from this hotel”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

This is one of the worst hotels I've stayed in in my life.

The day after we arrived, they commenced a full renovation of the room next door to us. That meant that we were breathing in fumes of wet paint and toxic-smelling paint stripping chemicals. We requested to change our room and they informed us that they were fully booked but could give us a "un-renovated room". Since the fumes in our current room were out of control we decided to switch to the "un-renovated room". Turns out that there was something wrong with the plumbing in this new room (which they didn't inform us of in advance). The second night in the new room, the pipes starting smelling like an open sewer. Not only that but the carpets and bed linens had a nasty smell. Even though we had a booking for a full week we decided to leave the hotel 2 nights and move to another hotel next door.

The breakfast was also absolutely awful. There was a big platter of baloney (or spam? not sure?) and some greasy croissants among other things.

In short, stay away from this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank r s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westpoint1, Guest Relations Manager at Westpoint Hotel, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Dear Guest
We are sorry to hear about your dissatisfaction with our Hotel and apologise for all the inconveniences caused.
The Hotel is going under refurbishment at the present moment and the nature of works being carried out involve some noise and paints although we try our best to minimise the inconveniences this cause to our guests it is not possible to completely eradicate them.
Our bedrooms and public areas are cleaned daily and we thoroughly inspect the rooms are in good order to be let out before we do assign it to our guests, any report of incidents are dealt with urgently and we can assure that the pipework in the bedroom in question has been re-checked and approved to be let out. All fittings and furniture in the un-renovated bedrooms are also cleaned and inspected on a daily basis therefore in good working order any unsuitable item is promptly removed and replaced with new one.
It is our duty to provide our guests with best service from the time of reservation to the departure and during the time guest is staying with us we respond to eventual issues as soon as possible helping with best solution at the time and this may involve guests having to be shown or moved to different rooms until satisfaction is achieved.

Our buffet breakfast offers a wide range of hot and cold choices, including eggs, sausages, croissants, cereal, cheese, tea, coffee and fruit juice these items are displayed for self-service and the breakfast manager is always present to ensure that all the food is presented and displayed in excellent manner.

Thank You
The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

746 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    239
    231
    105
    108
See reviews for
220
205
38
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Great location, couldn't get closer to Paddington Station and excellent service from staff. I'd read reviews and was worried about my visit, but I didn't need to worry. Impressed with courtesy and help of reception staff and general cleanliness. Looking forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westpoint1, Guest Relations Manager at Westpoint Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Thank you for writing a comment on tripadvisor!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

This hotel is excellently located - only around 100m from Paddington Station and 5 minutes walk from Hyde Park and Lancaster Gate Underground. From the outside the hotel is an impressive building. The Reception and Lobby are quite swish looking but the guest room we used was small and could have done with a new lick of paint here and there. However, it was cleaned and tidied every day. Breakfast was basic but adequate but you need to go early to avoid queuing. We found the staff polite and helpful. This certainly wasn't the best or cheapest hotel in London but we would probably stay there again.

Room Tip: The ground floor room at the side was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westpoint1, Guest Relations Manager at Westpoint Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you for your positive comment. Looking forward to welcoming you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 7, 2012

This is the one of very bad hotel ever I stay.... rooms are very- small, toilet also too small you can’t move your body.... no service in the room.... room is not cleaning …….. Very stupid and rude staffs working... poor breakfast facilities.... they are just concern with the money without customer satisfaction and service. Truly it’s very bad to the city like LONDON to have such a hotel……..

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alh c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westpoint1, Guest Relations Manager at Westpoint Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you for leaving a comment. There are slightly different sizes of the rooms, some are bigger and some smaller. This is a Victorian building in Central London and the rooms vary in sizes. We have options with different room sizes when making a booking and try to request guests requests whenever possible, please enquire for your next visit.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Chicago, Illinoi
Level Contributor
138 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

I'm really torn between 3 and 4 stars, because the Abbet Westpoint is excellent in several areas. It has a nice lobby. There are two computers in the lobby forgurst use as well as free wifi in the rooms. The staff was very helpful. I didn't expect concierge services, but telling me where I could find a laundromat and that type of thing made my stay more pleasant

The location is perfect, especially for those using Paddington station to get to and from Heathrow and/or areas west of London, such as the Cotswolds. The tube is right there too.

My main complaint was the room and shower size, but that is typical for hotels around Sussex Gardens. The shower, however, was almost unbelievably small. I'm 5'8" and weigh about 145and I just fit. I couldn't put my elbows out and hunch down,, elbows in front, in order to do the job.

But then I know that for most of its life this hotel, like all the others in the area, had shared baths and now that everyone wants en-suite theyve made bathrooms out of the closets. Sigh. Next time maybe I'll have $300 per night to spend on a "real" hotel.

Room Tip: Our room with the teensy shower was 436. If you are a large person, check it out before committing
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharonov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westpoint1, Guest Relations Manager at Westpoint Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Thank you for leaving a comment. There are slightly different sizes of the rooms, some are bigger and some smaller. This is a Victorian building in Central London and the rooms vary in sizes. We have options with different room sizes when making a booking and try to request guests requests whenever possible, please enquire for your next visit.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Level Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

Overly small rooms, no hot water, dirty bed linens and staff that told us they would give us clean sheets, but we would have to make the bed ourselves. We, too, paid in advance and very much regretted it. Would never stay here or recommend. There are much nicer, equally reasonable alternatives, in the Paddington area.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Leza W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westpoint1, Guest Relations Manager at Westpoint Hotel, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Reply to the comment below:

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments, we are sorry you were unhappy during your stay. It is hotel policy that staff check the rooms for arrivals, on this occassion a new member of staff did not follow procedure and we apologise. We do not expect guests to make their own beds. If guests are unhappy about their stay we encourage them to talk to us so that we can correct things immediately. Hot water avaialble and we do have rooms that vary in size, as reflected in the prices.

General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Stayed at hotel for two nights with a friend,wastold it was a special deal!What the deal was room was cheap because it was a single room passed off as a double.The hotel looks great from outside and all the public areas and restaurant aregreat ,its when you get to your room all goes down hill,and it was not just our room ,no 54,as we asked other guests and they agreed.The room was so small we could not even unpack as there was no drawers and the wardrobe was a small cupboaerd with three coathangers.The bed should be condemed as it is dangerous,the bottom end of bed is knee level and both of us wacked ourknees several times getting passed.The bedwas so low and uncomfortable ,which screeched every time you turned over..The shower was so small you had to leave door open if useing the hand basin.If health and safety checked the room they would close it off it is the worst room i have ever had to stay in.Oh and as for breakfast not worth commenting on.

Room Tip: Just dont stay there
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 59John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westpoint1, Guest Relations Manager at Westpoint Hotel, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. Our hotel is located in Victorian buildings and there are restrictions on the sizes for some ot rooms. We encourage our guests to talk to us during your stay so we have a chance to correct things and improve your experience. We have other rooms available of differing sizes, relfected in the prices for accomodation. Our buffet breakfast offers a wide range of hot and cold choices, including eggs, sausages, croissants, cereal, cheese, tea, coffee and fruit juice.

General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
0.0 mi away
Abbey Court Hotel
Abbey Court Hotel
#770 of 1,063 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aspen Suites Hyde Park
Aspen Suites Hyde Park
#773 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tudor Court Hotel
Tudor Court Hotel
#783 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rhodes Hotel
Rhodes Hotel
#307 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,394 reviews
0.1 mi away
Falcon Hotel
Falcon Hotel
#656 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
0.1 mi away
Queensway Hotel
Queensway Hotel
#828 of 1,063 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westpoint Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westpoint Hotel

Property: Westpoint Hotel
Address: 168-172 Sussex Gardens | Hyde Park, London W2 1TP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #802 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Westpoint Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable and convenient Central London Hotel. Location: Our Paddington hotel is situated in the midst of the peaceful tree-lined avenue of Sussex Gardens close to Marble Arch and Kensington Gardens. The budget (do we need to say this at this stage?) hotel is served by the Heathrow Express, with excellent transport links. Paddington underground and Main line stations, Lancaster Gate station and Hyde Park are a 3 minute walk away. We offer 15-minute transit times to Heathrow International Airport by Heathrow Express. Westpoint hotel offers easy access to London’s top tourist attractions and landmarks including the Royal Albert Hall, Buckingham Palace, Kensington Palace, the Houses of Parliament, Madame Tussauds. If you are a shopping fan we offer easy access to Westfield Shopping Centres in West London and Stratford, Oxford Street, Bond Street, boutiques in Carnaby Street and Nottinghill. Enjoy breathtaking skyline views from the London Eye and enjoy the nightlife in Piccadilly and Leicester Square as well London’s west end offering theatre and performance venues. There is always a good time to visit London. With a packed calendar from international concerts, exhibitions, carnivals to sporting events and local attractions including horse riding in Hyde Park. The London Tourist hop-on and hop-off bus is right on our door step offering an excellent opportunity for sight-seeing at your leisure. If you are looking for hotels with easy access to central London, budget hotels in Paddington or hotels near Hyde Park, the Central London Hotel, Westpoint Hotel is your premier choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Westpoint Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westpoint Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing