We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly Decent”
Review of Macdonald Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Macdonald Hotel
Ranked #41 of 563 London B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 5, 2010

London is hardly the place to look for value for money accommodation but this place is quite a nice suprise. Not that I would like to spend too much time in the room or the hotel itself - uninspiring smallish rooms and really small bathroom BUT very clean, relatively central, affordable (£70 a night) and with some small nice touches (e.g baggage keeping for free). Also, even though the place is less than 5 minutes walk from Kings Cross - it's fairly quiet which is not something easily found in your typical London hotel. All and all, for a budget hotel this is quite a find.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RhSh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (757)
There are newer reviews for Macdonald Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

408 - 414 of 757 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2010

Loved the location, very close to Kings Cross St Pancras. Good breakfast, but wifi was only in lobby! Not able to get in the room. Shared bathroom was very clean, staff friendly and helpful.
I would stay here again for the price.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pookle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2010

This B&B is good if want value for money. You will most likely climb many stairs to your room that most likely will be small and pokey and the plumbing made some unusual noises during the night but our bed was comfy and clean and in the morning we came down to breakfast for eggs and bacon, tea or coffee ready for the days sightseeing. Guy behind the desk was helpful and just 75 quid a night. If you don't want to spends heaps for London accomodation this hotel might be what you want.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SydneyMountaingoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2010

From the start of our stay at the Macdonald Hotel we were treated warmly by the owners and staff. The rooms are affordable and a good size for London, very clean and with all the usual ammenities. The breakfast is great, you get a few choices including a hot English Breakfast which is above and beyond most other hotels. The hotel is also very close to the Kings Cross tube, but on a quiet street. There are many restaurants, cafes and pubs in this area to keep you entertained. Overall, I was really impressed with the level of service from all staff and I would highly recommend this hotel to my family and friends. Thanks again for making our trip to London even better!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel2010CAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2010

This hotel is owned by a Maltese family and you can see the familial attention to detail. Paul was very welcoming and helpful. The rooms were unsurprisingly small but we were quite happy with the ensuite and we stayed fine with 3 small suitcases. Unfortunately we hit UK on a record hot day which meant that without A/C installed, during the day the room was a sauna...but in the evening it did cool down a bit with the windows open. The breakfast was a bonus and similarly the tea in the room. Will stay here again on my next trip to the UK!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neriku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2010

I have just spent 6 nights over the easter holidays, at this hotel with my wife. We enjoyed our stay. Hotel is very well situated with all transport to the rest of london within easy reach, just 2 mins from hotel.The hotel is very cleanwith towels changed every day and the room is serviced everyday too. The staff were all very nice both the ladies serving breakfast and Saviour, the man at the reception desk. He was very helpful. would not hesitate returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christ-and-Rebecca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2010

Hotel is in a good location, but my goodness it is noisy. Throughout the night there are noises from something or other that seems to be like a compressor or something going off. The heat did not work and the promised Internet also did not exist.

Like many hotels in London they can get away with charging what they do. You would not get $20 a night for this place in Vegas, for example.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank watfordwendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Crestfield Hotel
Crestfield Hotel
#558 of 1,072 in London
924 reviews
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#260 of 1,072 in London
2,013 reviews
Bloomsbury
Princess Hotel
Princess Hotel
#27 of 563 in London
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
St. Athans Hotel
St. Athans Hotel
#39 of 563 in London
603 reviews
Bloomsbury
Fairway Hotel
Fairway Hotel
#79 of 563 in London
570 reviews
Bloomsbury
Apollo Hotel
Apollo Hotel
#62 of 563 in London
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Hotel

Address: 45-46 Argyle Square | Kings Cross St. Pancras, London WC1H 8AL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 563 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range: $80 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Macdonald Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 150 metres from King’s Cross St. Pancras, this bed and breakfast is 5 minutes’ walk from St. Pancras International Rail Station, which offers Eurostar services to Europe. Euston Rail Station is within a 15-minute walk. Oxford Circus, with Oxford’s Street’s shops, is a 5-minute tube journey away. Regent’s Park is just over a 10-minute journey from King’s Cross. Buckingham Palace and its gardens are less than 3 miles away. A full English breakfast is served at the Macdonald Hotel. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout. A TV, tea and coffee facilities and a hairdryer are included in each simply decorated room. Some rooms also have a private bathroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Macdonald Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing