We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Macdonald Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$259
$183
Doubletree
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$405
$337
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of $428/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$191
$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of $191/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$160
$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$322
$299
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Strand Palace Hotel(London)(Great Value!)
$130
$122
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of $142/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$262
$201
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$271
$263
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of $328/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$172
$128
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$1,505
$1,193
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (783)
Filter reviews
783 results
Traveler rating
184
407
149
31
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
184
407
149
31
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsenglish breakfastkings crossst pancrasshared bathroombudget hotelyogurtbritish libraryno elevatorrooms are smalldecent breakfastbed and breakfastfamily roomstayed here for nightstea and coffeevisit londoneurostarstation
Filter
Updating list...
421 - 426 of 783 reviews
Reviewed July 1, 2010

Loved the location, very close to Kings Cross St Pancras. Good breakfast, but wifi was only in lobby! Not able to get in the room. Shared bathroom was very clean, staff friendly and helpful.
I would stay here again for the price.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pookle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2010

This B&B is good if want value for money. You will most likely climb many stairs to your room that most likely will be small and pokey and the plumbing made some unusual noises during the night but our bed was comfy and clean and in the morning we came down to breakfast for eggs and bacon, tea or coffee ready for the days sightseeing. Guy behind the desk was helpful and just 75 quid a night. If you don't want to spends heaps for London accomodation this hotel might be what you want.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SydneyMountaingoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2010

From the start of our stay at the Macdonald Hotel we were treated warmly by the owners and staff. The rooms are affordable and a good size for London, very clean and with all the usual ammenities. The breakfast is great, you get a few choices including a hot English Breakfast which is above and beyond most other hotels. The hotel is also very close to the Kings Cross tube, but on a quiet street. There are many restaurants, cafes and pubs in this area to keep you entertained. Overall, I was really impressed with the level of service from all staff and I would highly recommend this hotel to my family and friends. Thanks again for making our trip to London even better!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel2010CAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2010

This hotel is owned by a Maltese family and you can see the familial attention to detail. Paul was very welcoming and helpful. The rooms were unsurprisingly small but we were quite happy with the ensuite and we stayed fine with 3 small suitcases. Unfortunately we hit UK on a record hot day which meant that without A/C installed, during the day the room was a sauna...but in the evening it did cool down a bit with the windows open. The breakfast was a bonus and similarly the tea in the room. Will stay here again on my next trip to the UK!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neriku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2010

I have just spent 6 nights over the easter holidays, at this hotel with my wife. We enjoyed our stay. Hotel is very well situated with all transport to the rest of london within easy reach, just 2 mins from hotel.The hotel is very cleanwith towels changed every day and the room is serviced everyday too. The staff were all very nice both the ladies serving breakfast and Saviour, the man at the reception desk. He was very helpful. would not hesitate returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christ-and-Rebecca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews