We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap but dirty” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Monopole Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in London
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Monopole Hotel
Save
You added Monopole Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #173 of 556 London B&B and Inns
Marion
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cheap but dirty”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2006

If you are looking for a inexpensive place to have a roof over your head, then the Monopole Hotel in England is your place. Located just a few minutes walking distance from a main railroad station, it's easy to get to but hard to forget. After arriving at the hotel we noticed our room had a very strong odor. The odor was coming from a urine stained shower curtain. We also noticed many hairs on the bed sheets. We ask if we could change our sheets (we were willing to do the work). We were told, "We change the sheets once per week and it's not time yet." If you are the lucky person to come on bed sheet changing day you are in luck. If not, well, get ready to share the dirt, etc. of previous travelers. Overall, it was a nightmare for anyone who prefers cleanliness.

Helpful?
2 Thank romaniatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
txdrvr, Owner at Monopole Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2008
Hello, while we respect people's views, there are a few lies about this one. We change the sheets after every departure . The rooms are also cleaned every day. If you want to ask any questions about the hotel feel free to to contact us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    80
    49
    10
    15
See reviews for
30
79
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newmarket, Ontario
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2006

I stayed here July 2006 after the reviews I read here and I wasn't disappointed. This is a very inexpensive hotel with great value. 60 pounds for myself and two kids. We had three beds, shower, etc. The breakfast was not the best, but decent considering the price. I had to stay at another hotel 4 or 5 doors away as I arrived a day earlier than planned. I stayed at the Royal Sussex and while it had basically the same features as the Monopole, it was another 40 pounds per night! As well, the staff at the Mononpole are VERY nice. The hotel is in a safe, clean area. We walked down to the Thames area most days, but bus stops and the underground are very close by (Paddington). The taxi trip back to the airport (Heathrow) from the Monopole cost 26 pounds plus per bag charges. .
One note...I did have to pay by cash at this hotel which managed to help put me over my weekly bank withdrawal limit for a couple of days. That was a pain.

  • Liked — Price, friendly staff, location
  • Disliked — Had to pay by cash, trash under the beds
  • Tips/Secrets — Be prepared to pay for your room with cash
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BillMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2006

My family, firends and I have stayed at The Monopole several times. The location is perfect and the owner and staff are very friendly and helpfull. The rooms are small and the bathrooms are small, but everything is functioning perfect. And - important to me - You don't spent all Your money on sleeping!

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2005

We stayed at the Monopole Hotel in March. The rooms are extremely small. The bathroom is even smaller. The beds could use replacing as they are "well used". The manager is nice and very helpful. The breakfast was good - bacon, eggs and toast. Overall, for 45 pound per night it was worth it. The location was perfect, close to everything. Lots of pubs right around the corner. If you don't mind an older hotel, then this is perfect for you.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank jessie76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
us
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2003

I've stayed at Monopole few years ago with my sister and we've really loved it!The owner is friendly and nice,the Hotel,not fancy,is very very clean.Breakfast is good.I will come back

  • Stayed January 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank cooltweety3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netanya, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2003

After a long search, i have reached the "monopole" Friendly owner to begin with....i had so many questions....

Rooms are VERY small, friendly staff, could use another beds, the BEST is it's location....not to mention it's prices comparing to "usual" prices at the same area AND CITY.

Helpful?
6 Thank Peleds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Comfort Inn Hyde Park
#514 of 1,069 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 477 reviews
Hotel Columbus
#455 of 1,069 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 413 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
BEST WESTERN PLUS Delmere Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Darlington Hyde Park
#195 of 1,069 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 1,933 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Tune Hotel - Paddington
Tune Hotel - Paddington
#283 of 1,069 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 1,734 reviews
Classic Hotel
#756 of 1,069 in London
3.0 of 5 stars 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monopole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monopole Hotel

Property: Monopole Hotel
Address: 98 Sussex Gardens | Paddington, London W2 1UH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #173 of 556 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your visit to London as a tourist will be both an enjoyable and exhausting affair and our family run hotel is the ideal place to recharge. Monopole Hotel is centrally located but distant enough to provide tranquil nights in the 24 hour city. The hotel is within five minutes walk of Paddington Station, which not only gives you access to ‘the tube’ (aka the London Underground) but to the National rail as well which allows you to take day trips outside London to Oxford and Windsor. This station also provides a direct link to Heathrow Airport and for those who prefer to take to London on foot, we are ten minutes walk away from Marble Arch, Oxford Street (which is the main shopping promenade), Hyde Park, and Madame Tussauds. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Monopole Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing