We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good if you're on a budget” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dillons Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dillons Hotel
Ranked #232 of 556 London B&B and Inns
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good if you're on a budget”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2009

As other reviews have said, the hotel is in a very nice residential area of London. It's not very close to the areas frequented by tourists, but it's a short underground ride away from the centre and is well worth it for the peace and security you get.

The hotel seems to be well run. I actually didn't encounter anyone who worked here during my stay as I arrived after 6 PM, when the reception closes, so I had to phone the owner to be given the entrance code for the door. Although this was no hassle, it means that other than phoning the owner's mobile number, you don't really have anyone to contact after 6 PM for general information. I would have liked to have been given the code for the WIFI, for instance, but I didn't want to phone the owner's personal number to make such a small request.

My room was fairly spacious and the bed linen/furniture were clean enough, but it did have a rather dusty/old feeling to it. This should be familiar to anyone who visits London frequently as I don't think I've ever stayed in a mid-budget priced hotel in London which wasn't old and dusty. For that reason you can't really expect to be in a new, modern building for the price you pay here and all you can ask is that everything has been cleaned properly (which it was).

Overall I would recommend this for anyone looking for a cheap hotel in London as, though it won't blow you away, it's perfectly acceptable and comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blank_frackis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    29
    17
    8
    7
See reviews for
22
20
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2009

I've stayed at this hotel for a few days each of the last four years. It is a simple hotel, but the rooms are clean, the staff friendly and the location good. Breakfast is continental but adequate. Being a simple hotel they obviously do not cater for client's every whim, but if you want a reasonably priced hotel in a nice street, then this is it.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PRAust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastboune
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2009

The last 2 reviews do not reflect the stay I had at Dillons hotel. I found the staff to be very efficient and friendly, even letting me borrow an ironing board and iron! I has a lovely quaint bedroom at the back of the house which overlooked their garden. The bathroom and room were very clean and we had clean towels every day and the breakfast lady did not mind that we were late down for breakfast...The breakfast was basic: cereal, tea/coffee and toast with a variety of preserves and cheese but it was perfect. The value for money was great, the cheapest and nicest hotel I have stayed in for a long time and in a beautiful part of london. The locals were all very friendly and we had a couple of good nights at the XO bar in the village.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Juliette77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton,alberta
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2008

My daughter and I stayed here on the recommendation of a relative. We found the staff to be very rude! The room was quaint however I ended up with 46 Bedbug bites that I still have scars from!!! It was to say the least miserable.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
Thank JudyEdmonton_alberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2006

We stayed here for 8 nights.

Here are the positives--
1. Easy access to tube stations
2. Safe area --even late at night --and a beautiful area of London. Hampstead is gorgeous. Lots of cafes, a couple of Starbucks- they are everywhere in London, small shops, and a large park with fantastic views of the city. A great place to stay if you don't want to be in the bustle of the city 24/7. We loved Hampstead.
3. Grocery stores nearby
4. Hotel staff is nice.
5. Cheap rates for London
6. Our sheets were clean.
7. The floor was vacuumed most days, which was important since we often ate in our room.
8. The carpets in the lobby, hallways, and our room looked nice.
9. The breakfast room was pretty.
10. Plenty of hot water for showers.

Here are the negatives:
1. Our ensuite room (room 7) really wasn't that clean -- old geasy dirt/dust on top of the toilet (they have those old-fashioned tiolets where the tank is mounted high on the wall above the flush). I noticed it immediately -- significant dirt. It was cleaned when I mentioned it to the staff, but ironically, the bathrooms in the hall had the same type of dirt -- never cleaned while we were there. Not cleaning the tops of spaces was a pattern -- the top of the wardrobe, top of the shower, etc. These are spaces where one would hang a towel to dry or store items. I cleaned them.

2. The shower caulking was black. Ugh. The shower head was broken and floppy.

3. The room had a little dresser with three drawers -- one completely useless as both drawer pulls were missing. The other two drawers only had one pull each. Signficant dust.

4. We had to ask for towels -- we often only got one towel for the two of us. The towels weren't replaced every day --but that was fine with us.

5. We scrounged to get two tiny bars of soap. Bring your own shampoo and wash cloths--neither are provided, but that is typical in Europe (and not a criticism per se.)

6. Breakfast is simple -- cold cereal, toast, juice, tea/coffee. No decaf coffee. We were there for 8 nights-- they ran out of muesli and whole wheat bread during our stay.

7. No air conditioning, although we did ask for a fan and received it promptly. We were there in the spring and the temperature was fine. But in the summer, I would think the room would be beastly hot.

8. The directions they provide to the hotel aren't that great --especially if you arrive at night. It is not far down Belsize Ave, but certainly further than the distance they indicated. Also, the numbers on the houses change as you pass an intersection. So the first time you are expecting to find "21 Belsize", you won't find it-- keep going down the road until you go past a street on your right that leads to a small square with a few shops/stores visible as you pass by. The hotel is just a few doors further.

So, the bottom line is, would we stay there again? Maybe. But if we could afford a little more, I think we would try to find a place that was a bit more comfortable and cleaner. Also, I wouldn't bother with an ensuite room. The bathrooms and showers in the hall were nicer. Certainly, with a little attention to detail, this could be the best deal in London.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2005

We found this hotel - B/B a couple of years ago walking around in the area close to where we live. We have had friends and family staying there on four different occasions and they were all very happy with their time there. Most recently, in May 2005, my sister and her young son were staying there for three nights. I had asked whether they could have a single room and share the bed which they had agreed to but instead they got two beds (with bathroom/shower in the corridor) and I still only had to pay £32.00 a night (breakfast incl)! The rooms and bathrooms are clean and cosy. The breakfast is of the simple continental kind. There is no lift and if you're staying on the top floor it is rather a steep climb to get there. The surroundings are residential and Belisize Park is an affluent, quiet, leafy area of London. It is close to Belsize Park, Swiss Cottage and Finchley Road tube stations and there are several shops and restaurants both on Haverstock Hill (Belsize Park) and Finchley Road. Central London is just a few stops away. My sisters opinion of London was not very good - previously she had only been to Leicester Square and such places but before long she was converted and realized how lovely and pretty London can be. I can strongly recommend Dillons Hotel to anyone who isn't after luxury but who can appreciate excellent accomodation and a friendly atmosphere at a low price (c:a £32.00-55.00/night)

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Bluebell64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2004

This is a find in my opinion: on a quiet tree-lined street, in one of the best areas of London, yet three underground stops are short walks away. The rooms are simple yet very clean, the showers are clean and hot and the towels are fluffy. The breakfast is the continental variety.

This is a good alternative to the Earls Court B&B ghetto.

Helpful?
20 Thank Kim2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Quality Hotel Hampstead
#616 of 1,077 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
The Langorf Hotel
#514 of 1,077 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kings Boutique Hotel
#310 of 556 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Avoca House Hotel
#148 of 556 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
East End / East London
Kadimah Hotel
Kadimah Hotel
#247 of 556 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dillons Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dillons Hotel

Property: Dillons Hotel
Address: 21 Belsize Park | Hampstead, London NW3 4DU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #232 of 556 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dillons Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Dillons Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dillons Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing